I see your points and agree... to me here would be the best option:
The 'delete this post' feature would be for admins and moderators ONLY...
When a post gets deleted, it really isn't deleted but rather moved to a deleted folder in the admin section. The way I do this now is with an admin-only 'deleted' forum... so I can keep a copy of everything deleted for future reference.
The problem with deleting individual messages is there... I think that has something to do with there being replies to that post, because if you delete a message that has no replies, it is GONE. Yes, that I like.
So what I would say is that when a post gets deleted, it should be moved to a deleted folder and completely removed from the public forum.
And yes, editing by admins shouldn't mark on the post, I don't think. I have edited messages that were posted incorrectly (i.e. they didn't let their text flow in the body box when posting) and then get accused of 'censoring content', etc.
I hope I didn't jumble my words... I still don't type as fast as the thoughts come. []/w3timages/icons/wink.gif[/]
Muhammad Chishti
Creative dIRECTOR
[:white]
http://www.imcuniverse.com