Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 5 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 10 11
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Tovok, good call I will do that, and I forgot to credit you and I meant to do that damn it! Updating my zips. smile

CN - Change all the font tags from this part:

Code
code:

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
okies wink

thanks again laugh

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Amazing you totally ignored what i posted thanks

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Phase, let's see there are 7 friggin' pages of posts and I have gotten no less than 50 emails on this hack, so give me a break if I miss a post. :rolleyes:

Your code is in the right place, are you sure you put the code for the $newslinefader in and did you turn it on?

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Ok i got it up but now i'm getting a script error. On line 204 i remember this from the other one i'm missing something am i not? And sorry a little stressed from a programming project!

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Line 204 of which script?

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
A
Member
Offline
Member
A
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
2.0: I'm not getting any total posts or topics working on front page no matter what option I select in the control panel.

It seems to be always off, even though showing 'both' is selected.

Can anyone else confirm, or is it just me and I should go play with my code some more?


Administrator / WTF.com / IWantMy80s.com
http://www.wtf.com
http://www.iwantmy80s.com
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 42
I
Member
Offline
Member
I
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 42
Quote
quote:
Same problem on my board


Igor
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Same here.

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Let me look at my directions guys, you all did upload Tovok's Total Posts/Total Topics hack that is included in 2.0 right?

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Guys I found the problem, I am a MORON sorry, forgot the key part there.

In public_forum_summary.pl:

Look for:
Code
code:

Underneath that add:
Code
code:

I apologize!! Updating zip right now.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Don't worry, humans make mistakes laugh
Keep up the good work! Looking forward to see more hacks from you smile

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 807
its all good dont worry~ laugh

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
A
Member
Offline
Member
A
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
Trying that fix now! Thanks, Slurp! laugh

...edit: Worked perfectly! Woo!


Administrator / WTF.com / IWantMy80s.com
http://www.wtf.com
http://www.iwantmy80s.com
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
All ok. Thx.


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Its says line 2o4 char 3 error class not registered. I left the page up if you want to see it. http://gamenexus2k.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
I'm getting a bunch of script errors on your site Phase, looks like you didn't upload some files in ASCII.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Ok do they all go in ascii from your hack? I'm almost thier i took down the whose online so i knew whats causing what

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Phase, just got on your board, the News Fader is working just fine. Sure you got javascript enabled on your browser, I checked on IE and Netscape, it's working.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Ok uploaded it all in ascii same error.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
ok i'll look

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Edited: Fixed


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
P
Member
Offline
Member
P
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 52
Nope sorry the fader words don't work and i still get a error

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Why Doesn't the download work? Anyone care to email me the addon?


Update: Van Helen was down. Back up again!

smile


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Phase, I just looked again and it's working, what browser are you using? Someone else go to his site and tell me I'm not crazy. I'm out for the night fellas, catch ya tomorrow.

Sorry my server was down for a few. BTW, it's Van "Halen," not Van Helen. smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
L
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
L
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Good job smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Slurp,,,,


I need your wisdom. I have your thangy installed and I must say "IMPRESSIVE"!

I however need to know how I can change the color of the...well... I guess the pic fader background color to match the table color.

Here: GimmeTech
So you might see what I'm saying.
____________________________________________

Secondly, How do I get the text to be in the middle of the table. In other words, centered as is horizontally and vertical middle?
_____________________________________________

Thirdly, How would I go about having the
News Fader Greeting have a font color of the numerals (redish) in the Board Stats Display?
_____________________________________________

How do I do this master? Grasshopper seek wisdom. Where to change in the code would be a real asset. laugh


GimmeTech


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 46
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 46
Quote
quote:
Even if this wouldn´t be an appropriate evidence to proof that, Slurpee [Linked Image]

@ Phase,

I tried to register on this site to check it - after regestering I always get this:
[Linked Image]

After clearing my browser-cache and changing the whole browser to netscape it remains...

Any ideas?


ICQ# 11307124.
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 40
The Fader doesn't run on Microsoft IE5.5 or newer! That's the reason for the Failure on line 204 in ultimatebb.cgi !

And please, why I cant make them 95 percent wide? Only with pixels... that's not so good!

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
theangel - yeah IE 5.5 has a problem with faders, not just this one. It's the script, not my code. You can't use percentages on the fader, if you could that would solve that problem in a snap, and I wouldn't have included the variable. You have to use pixel width on the fader unfortunately.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
i'm using IE 5.5 and it works fine for me...

Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Gimme Tech

1. Well if I'm reading you right, it should be the same already. The fader image has the same background tag as the fader itself.

2. If you want it centered horizontally, go into the News Fader control panel and choose "center" alignment, and make sure that the fader width is correct, you might have to experiment a bit with that. For vertical alignment, in public_forum_summary.pl, change this line in the $newslinefader from:
Code
code:
to:
Code
code:

3. For the greeting, add the font color tags in this line from the public_forum_summary.pl:
Code
code:

DON'T USE "" IN THE FONT TAG IN THERE OR THE GREETING WON'T DISPLAY. USE ' OR NOTHING AT ALL.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 41
Wots the Board Stats Display because nothing seems to happen if I swith this option on or off!

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Slurp,

Thanks for responding to me. Will you check the link up there so you can see what I am saying about the color of the table? It isn't the same color for some reason. I do have 2 table colors though. One lighter one and one darker one. I'd appreciate it if you could click on my link and let me know what I am doing wrong.

Also on changing the font tag. Could you post what it would look like with being changed to the red color you used for the Board Stats Display?

You'll have to forgive me, but I worked rather hard at getting this to work and I don't want to mess it up!
wink

Thanks for the other info too, getting ready to work on it. Again, very impressive hack.

Thank You,
GimmeTech


PS..... I use IE 5.5 with no problems with the fader. Just leave the parenthases"" that was in the default txt file and change the wording. That fixed the error problems for me. If you don't you will get the errors.


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
For the background, try changing these variavbles in public_forum_summary.pl.

FDRborCol = "$vars_style{AltColumnColor1}";
FDRbackCol = "$vars_style{AltColumnColor1}";

Change them to:
FDRborCol = "$vars_style{AltColumnColor2}";
FDRbackCol = "$vars_style{AltColumnColor2}";

See if that does it. Here's how the link for the Board Stats looks, use the same format for the greeting.

$NewsStats = qq~"Current Forum Stats: $AllTopics Topics","",~;

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 24
B
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 24
tiny bug Slu..


Quote
quote:
don't put % for width else you will get errors

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Slurp,

Your knowledge has improved my page!

All colors are correct and I have the tables set to where I want them.

Still one problem with the text being centered vertically. I tried valighn="center" and valighn="middle".
Neither have been able to get my text centered vertically. I even pulled the text out of the .pl and took a look at it in Dreamweaver as a full table and it looks correct there. It is still hanging at the top though.

Here is the updated look. GimmeTech Forums

I'm close, move me closer please laugh

Thank You
Slurp.

GimmeTech


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Bafai - I tell you in the control panel to use pixels, not percentages. It's not a bug.

Gimme - You did spell it "valign" right??? If you didn't that could be the problem. Also, try removing that height=43 tag in there along with adding the valign=center text and see what happens.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 119
Slurp,

Yes it was spelled correctly. I don't think we are on the same page though.

There are 3 items displayed in the text box.
They are:

Board Stats Display:
News Fader Greeting:
Add/Edit News Headlines

Just changing the news text will not vertically align the items. All 3 needs aligned "middle". This is what I am trying to figure out.
GTForums

You do not have to log in now to access the forums. Sorry about that.

Thanks Slurp.
GimmeTech


Cheers,
hooper
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
S
Slurpee Offline OP
Member
OP Offline
Member
S
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 313
Gimme, try messing with the valigns in the
codes of the $newslinefader code in the public_forum_summary.pl file. I had problems getting it to work too, but I like mine top aligned. You might be on your own on this one. frown
Page 5 of 11 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 10 11

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
JAISP
JAISP
PA
Posts: 449
Joined: February 2008
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,557
Posts293,854
Members13,845
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,817
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Gizmo 3
Tusk 2
JAISP 1
Morgan 1
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 15
Brett 7
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
Gizmo 2
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2021 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20210624)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.20 Page Time: 0.038s Queries: 95 (0.014s) Memory: 1.0006 MB (Peak: 1.1971 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-08-01 12:49:26 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS