Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
P
Philipp Offline OP
Power User
OP Offline
Power User
P
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
Just updated my AIM/ICQ status hack for UBB 6.0 gold


click here

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
hey, installed but the ICQ icon doesn't light up green/red.. it'll only stay that gray color. is that because of cache?


Nice ezboard... for me to poop on!
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 156
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 156
i have the same problem NOW, a few minutes before it worked flawless. confused

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 26
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 26
I'm not totally sure about this, but doesn't the ICQ flower show up gray if the user has disabled his "online presence"?

Anyway, I think it's a great mod! Great work! smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
working great now, maybe it was a temporary ICQ glitch.

[ March 18, 2001: Message edited by: Jedi Thrawn ]


Nice ezboard... for me to poop on!
Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 12
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 12
Hmmm flower stays grey for me to???
Is this tested as working?

[ March 18, 2001: Message edited by: ascully ]

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 12
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 12
yes, this wont work due to cache. for instance, if user FOO is online and sombody creates a new thread , user FOO's flower will show green. now untill sombody makes a new thread in that forumn that flower will remain green because everybody is being served the cached page, user FOO could have logged off hours ago.

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
P
Philipp Offline OP
Power User
OP Offline
Power User
P
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
I don't think that the ICQ flower is cached because the graphic comes directly from the ICQ server.

Code
code:

[ March 19, 2001: Message edited by: Philipp ]

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 3
E
Eli Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
E
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 3
One issue that has never really been addressed is:
links like
aim:goim?screenname=$this_aim&message=Hi.+Are+you+there?
do not work on AIM Screen Names with spaces in them.
Instead they attempt to send an IM to the first word of the ScreenName.

Someone needs to add a little Perl routine that will get rid of spaces within the Screen Name if there are any.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 26
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 26
So which is it?
  • It works despite the cache?
  • The cache screws it all up?

smile

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 825
D
Member / CodeFixer
Offline
Member / CodeFixer
D
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 825
Beat me if I am wrong here but I think that it works but it doesn't

When the page is added to the cache it calls up the image from ICQ's servers then it saves the end result to the cache then when someone else calls it from the cache it does not re query the ICQ server because the info is already there leaving it open for error unless the person is online 24/7

I have known to be wrong smile

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Basically, the cached ICQ icon (NOT from UBB cache but rather browser cache) is the culprit. If you do a "Forced Refresh" the problem should go away.

Just one of those browser quirks.

qasic

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
P
Philipp Offline OP
Power User
OP Offline
Power User
P
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
Quote
quote:
The UBB cache is for HTML pages only

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
Just a little info
If you the page to load in a new window just add
Code
code:
to it

Or for those you want people to send instant messages you can change the link to
Code
code:


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10
I got serious problem after installed this hack.....
the problem is : software error when deleting a topic.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 68
U
Member
Offline
Member
U
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 68
Quote
quote:

I got the same problem, is this bug being addressed or what's goin on here with this bug?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 10
I hope someone can reply me soon.

eek

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 106
E
Member
Offline
Member
E
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 106
you probly messed up installing the hack or uploaded i bynaru insted of aschii

Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
I have this hack installed at my ubb and seems to work just fine. If you would like to view it here's my url:
http://forums.ultanime.net


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
Has anyone tried it under v6.01, I assume it'd work due to the tiny code, however the file needing to be edited did change for 6.01 - just asking before I try.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
Ive never had this had this hack working, im on 6.01 the hack is so easy to install, that its impossibe not to do it proper, now is someone holding something back?

It shows up blackout image, but you can click on it to send message ect, but what use is that when it doesnt glow... lol

Cause i know 4 people who havent got it working on there boards, so this hack definately needs reviewing.... mad

[ March 25, 2001: Message edited by: decimator ]

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
P
Philipp Offline OP
Power User
OP Offline
Power User
P
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
mark99:
Yes, this hack works also with 6.01

decimator:
Did you upload the aim.gif to your noncgi directory?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
Yeh i did, and i know that the aim link just gives a black error screen with everyone, its the icq that dosnt glow

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
I too can confirm that it works under 6.01. I have had it installed since he released it and didn't really have any problems with it. Just the icq and cache thingy where it doesn't let the icq update...but that is not really a problem with the hack.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
Il try it one last time
And then thats it... frown

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 37
has the issue of it not working with members with a space in their name been addressed?


Nice ezboard... for me to poop on!
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
Nope still dosnt work and i set up a test board with a clean install, nobody could mess up on this cause it is the easist of all hacks to install, has the issue with freedom servers been addressed, cause i dont think it works on them....

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
M
MHB Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
M
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
This hack is great....if it worked...

I mean, The AIM one is pointless, cos when you click it, you just get an error page and the ICQ is pointless because of the cache...

So, shouldnt this be moved to Beta seeing as it is kinda screwed?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
Quote
quote:
Yeah the aim thingy is weird, but I don't get an error..I just get asked to sign onto my aim first. The icq cache thing is weird too...up until last night I was in the same boat, it would not be updated because of the cache, but after I installed the news fader hack, I found that the icq thing is always uptodate. I log off, refresh the forum page and the flower is red...I log on, refresh and the flower is green. Same for when I asked my gf to test it with her icq. confused

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
P
Philipp Offline OP
Power User
OP Offline
Power User
P
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 91
Quote
quote:
I didn't know that AIM names with spaces exist shocked

The fix is simple:

my $this_icq = $user_profile[13];
my $this_aim = $user_profile[22];
chomp ($this_aim);
$this_aim =~ s/ /+/sg;

Quote
quote:
The AIM Hack requires that your have AIM installed and are logged in.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 75
Thats a very silly reply!#

Of course i have icq installed and im online, all the members do and it does not work, niether does it on 4 other boards, and yeh of course its installed proper...

Maybe someone else shoul re-do this hack... mad

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
the ICQ staus icon just stays grey...

i thought it was beacause i was invisable, BUT when i came out, and refreshed the page it was still like this.

i'm not sure why, have you guys had the same probelm?

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,285
Old Hand
Offline
Old Hand
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,285
The ICQ part of the hack is working fine for me.

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 41
Quote
quote:
Did you make sure that when you clicked on the grey flower and the icq page came up it said online? When you install icq, it asks you if you would like people to be able to see you online or not through the icq webpage, if you answered no, then it will come up as grey.

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 226
A
Member
Offline
Member
A
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 226
The gray flower means that you told icq not to publish your online status on the web. I just installed only the icq portion of the hack, and it works just fine.

Amy

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 14
K
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
K
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 14
thanks for this hack

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2
The link for the hack is dead. Please supply an updated link so we can use this fine hack.

Thanks!

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 35
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 35
Yeah The link is busted and Id really like this hack! laugh

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
L
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
L
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
http://members.nbci.com/lkubb/aimubb6.zip

If I'm not allowed to put it there, please notify me and I'll remove it immediately.

[ May 04, 2001 01:50 AM: Message edited by: LK ]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
badfrog
badfrog
somewhere on the coast of Maine
Posts: 94
Joined: March 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,557
Posts293,856
Members13,847
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2021 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20210915)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.051s Queries: 95 (0.029s) Memory: 0.9881 MB (Peak: 1.1846 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-12-06 14:37:15 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS