Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Name: Jimbo's Custom Status/Ranks Hack 1.1

Requirements: UBB 6.1 PB 1 or higher

Purpose:

* unlimited ranks
* unlimited custom titles

Improvements Over 6.0X Functionality

* accesses database files ONCE per topic creation page
* uses binary search tree to find titles & custom ranks (much, much faster speed)
* automatic sort when saving ranks/titles
* killed the beleagured bug finally

Why Better in 6.1 Built-In Functionality?

* unlimited ranks
* more control based on # of posts for rank

Download: http://www.qasic.net

As always, bugs reports always appreciated here.

[ August 22, 2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708
L
Member
Offline
Member
L
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708
Great hack Qasic, I'll install it as soon as I do a few other hacks...

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2,798
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 2,798
Thank You, Thank You!

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
Well, i have installed this hack and it seems to work fine, but when i update the ranks, i got an error message in cp_custom_status.cgi line 172
&StandardHTML(qq(Custom Status/Ranks Succesfully Set

Heading back to Custom Status/Ranks in 5 seconds ... );

[ August 25, 2001: Message edited by: [HF]Phoenix ]

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
When i click on "Sort Custom Titles", I got this error message:
You do not have permission to access this area.
/homepages/38/d19856222/htdocs/map-central/cgi-bin/ubb-cgi/cp.cgi, 853
ยป Use your browser's back button to return.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
HFPhoenix,

I suspect you didn't upload the new template that comes with this hack. The sort is now done automatically and you shouldn't see that option at all. Re-upload cp_manage_custom_status.pl to your Templates directory and please report back.

qasic

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
Well, i got the newest version of this hack, deleted the old template files from my webserver and re-upload the new ones. But there is no change. The "Sort Custom Titles" Link is still availble. And the error messages are the same too as before

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Okay. Time for further debugging.

1) What's the URL to your UBB so I may check out the problem (your profile eventually links to a vB).

2) What is the e-mail you used to register @ Qasic.NET? (PM me with this privately if you don't want it to be known to th public).

qasic

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
http://www.planetboards.de

[email protected]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Hi,

It looks as if I'll need to examine your board privately to fix this. Can I get the FTP info to your board and an administrator's account there? You can either PM me or e-mail me the info. Thanks.

qasic

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Problem solved (wrong files in the ZIP were the cause).

Problem 1:

Quote
quote:
This message will be gone by the time UBB 6.1 final rows around (it's debugging code put in by Infopop). It has no effect on the actual hack.

Problem 2:

Quote
quote:
Wrong template in the ZIP was the cause. ZIP files now have been uploaded.

Thanks to Phoenix to letting me snoop around his FTP to find these problems and allow me to solve them.

qasic

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
P
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 33
Thx man =)

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Hey qasic, I have a problem with Custom Status.

I am using it in UBB 6.1 PB 1.4 and when I activate it, it doesn't allow anyone to view topics, topics get forever to load and they finally return a server error.

I hacked it correctly, I have experienced this problem with 2 different UBBs.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
I removed the hack and now the forum work perfectly so I am quite sure that the problem is the hack.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
Works great on mine.

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Hypersonic, I suspect you installed this hack incorrectly. Not hacking this hack correctly can lead to very, very bad effects (i.e., infinite loops).

qasic

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Yeah, it is quite weird, but it isn't the first time this happen to me, as I said before, it happened in two different UBBs (both were PB1.4). In the first one, it just got corrupted some day but this time it caused troubles since I installed it.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
I will try installing it once again, but I am quite sure that I installed it correctly.

Could there be a conflict with the other hacks?

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Thanks for replying Qasic.

Your hack is great, I used it in UBB6.04 too and it worked great. I really like it, so that is why I really want to get it to work.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
This hacks requires me to modify 4 files:

ubb_lib_posting.cgi
cp.cgi
cp_common.pl
public_topic_page.pl

The problem should be in the first one because the control panel hacking shouldn't cause troubles into the topics and the public topic page is just a matter of adding an extra line.

As soon as I add the modified ubb_lib_posting and clear cache, most of my topics stop working. And then I am required to upload a clean ubb lib posting from the UBB zip to get everything to work again.

I know it is a quite weird problem but I am pretty sure that you are right about the infinite loop because when you click in any topic, it just stays like if it were loading and after a long time, it returns a server error.

Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 4,625
G
Member
Offline
Member
G
Joined: Feb 2000
Posts: 4,625
Post your server configuration and perl version and url here for review. I'd like to review this problem internally.

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Server information

Redhat Linux 6.2
Perl 5.00503

http://forums.oneminuteleft.com/ultimatebb.cgi

I am now using a clean version of ubb lib posting so my board can work correctly.

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Tell you what. I'll do a free install for you of this hack and see if my manual instructions are causing the problems. Sound good?

E-mail/PM me the FTP and UBB info if you'll like me to install it for you (free of charge of course smile )

qasic

[ 09-17-2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Alright wink Thanks a lot qasic wink I hope you will be able to find the problem wink

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Alright, I just emailed you to [email protected]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Hypersonic's problems resovled. Most likely culprit was bad install.

qasic

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
Thanks a lot for fixing the problem qasic, you are great!

can you tell me what happened? I know I installed it right, i tried reinstalling many times...

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 13
So that was the problem. I guess you should add that to the readme so other people won't experience the same problem. Thanks for your support.

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
ZIP file updated. Thx to HyperSonic for allowing me to use his server as a test bunch. Just re-uplaod ubb_custom_status.cgi for the bug fix.

qasic

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
Qasic- I had the same situation as hypersonic- I managed to isolate it down to if I had more than 9 custom names for users it locked up during thread views (18% cpu utilization for one call on a thread- and I am the sole user of a 1Ghz T-bird)...
I'm going to redownload your update- double check my coding and see if the situation resolves itself...
I'll get back to you asap...

[ 09-20-2001: Message edited by: jlaine ]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Please do let me know how it goes. That custom names part was a coding error .. I attempted to optimize the code by removing too brackets thinking Perl's precedence operators would be from left to right but it looks as if some versions of Perl have direct algebraic logic so I put back those two brackets and everything should be fine now smile

qasic

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
I just overwrote the core files included- and it eliminated the situation- I have some 37 titles in there and it works perfectly so far-- I still have that odd error at the FYI screen where it forwards (/home/user.../cp_custom_status.cgi, 172) , but never states what the error actually is- it isn't buried in a table on that screen or in a matching font color is it?

Anyway-- on the mark of it stalling threads out--
you nailed that one without hassle... smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
L
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
L
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Actually that means it worked just fine smile This FYI is the window when it successes, and it tells you the path because that's how this window works on beta versions of UBB (to debug)

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 67
Quote
quote:
wahooo.. smile I knew the FYI was the forwarding window- I didn't realize it was pulling variables as a standard thing... smile

Everything works flawlessly on this end so far then... smile

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
V
Member
Offline
Member
V
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
Hey Qasic, I keep having a problem with the zip file itself. I download it, and try to unzip it, but it says there is 1 byte missing. Not sure if you could fix this, or what, but I thought you would like to know.

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
1-byte error now fixed.

FYI, this hack IS compatible with UBB 6.1 Beta Release 2.1.

qasic

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
V
Member
Offline
Member
V
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
Qasic, great hack...AGAIN! I am, however having a small problem.

I had another custom rank hack installed, and removed it completely, so I don't think this would be the problem.

Moderators and Admins aren't showing up with ANY ranks. Not even the custom ones I set them as.

Thoughts?

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
V
Member
Offline
Member
V
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
I take that back. The only ones that ARE working for the admins and mods, are the admin/mods override titles. The standard ones are NOT working. Neither are the custom user titles. Could this be something to do with the admin/mod overrides? Even though their blank could they be overriding the others?

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
V
Member
Offline
Member
V
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 189
More information:

When I try to completly remove the admin/mod override text, it gives me an error saying their not filled out completly, and they need to be.
Code
code:

Just trying to help withe the final product smile

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
qasic Offline OP
Developer
OP Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
I think your ubb_lib_posting.cgi is casuing errors, as well public_topic_page.pl was not hacked correctly too I think.

qasic

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,569
Posts293,914
Members13,847
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,829
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 81
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2022 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20220917)