Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Okay, I am still new at this. What is PHPMYADMIN, and how is it connecteed to SQL server, and how is threads connected to it etc etc. YOu see how confused I am.

I need to know the above, so atleast in future, if anything goes wrong with my forum, I can trouble shoot the problem myself. At the momeny, I am totally confused, as I dont know how the entire process works??

Can someone please enlighten me, pleaseeeeeeee ?

Sponsored Links
Journeyman
Journeyman
I to am new, but the link you are looking for is actually a script. It is a stand alone interface to mysql. I have this script on my home server (came with the package), and I use a Pearl version from Gossamer-Threads on my web site. Both of these scripts will allow you to do dumps query and numerous other functions on your database. You can find these type of scripts at http://hotscripts.com The one you are looking for would be in the PHP section.

You should be able to drop PHPMYADMIN into your web directory and adjust a few config settings and go to work. Your Host might have offered this as a preconfigured option as well.

Good Luck
Dale

Kahuna
Kahuna
Setting up phpMyAdmin is extremely easy

Download the package from www.phpmyadmin.net (the one that suits your server NT/Unix etc.)

Unzip it in one folder on your computer.
Change the config.inc.php file to map to your target installation. This will be the target folder on your site so if you have www.mysite.com and you want to install it on www.mysite.com/phpmyadmin you set that in the first configuration variable.
You change the access to cookies and save the file
Upload the whole contents of the folder to your server (in the previous example in the phpmyadmin folder