#43924
01/14/2002 7:25 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
Im creating a hack that will allow me to limit the number of lines in a persons sig. Now in cpanel2.cgi Ive added the line
&InputTextRow("#dedfdf", "
Maximum Lines in Sig", " This will limit the number of lines allowed in a persons sig. (This does not apply to Administrators or Moderators)", "MaxSig", "5", "250");
Which works just fine, then if I check the UltBB.setup file my variable is listed in there $MaxSig = qq(10);
But the one problem is once I submit the changes and this new variable gets added to the .setup file my thread listings disappear. So when I go into a forum I see no threads.
So Id like to know if there is something else I may need to change when elsewhere that Ive missed. Any ideas?
Cheers
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43925
01/14/2002 11:52 PM
|
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708
Member
|
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708 |
Maybe you need to add the variable somewhere else too by the sounds if it. I'm not sure though.
|
|
|
#43926
01/14/2002 11:53 PM
|
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 194
Member
|
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 194 |
Hi Bassteq isnt' there a hack that limits the CHARS in a sig?
|
|
|
#43927
01/14/2002 11:54 PM
|
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708
Member
|
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708 |
I don't think there is, Just one to limit a image in a sig but not a limit.
|
|
|
#43928
01/15/2002 12:43 AM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
Yeah there is one around somewhere to limit the chars, ive seen it but I cant find it now. Anyhow my hack just limits the number of actual lines in the sig, not the chars.
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43929
01/15/2002 6:25 AM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290
Member
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290 |
Bass...keep working on this my friend!!!!
|
|
|
#43930
01/15/2002 5:03 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
Cheers Viper, Thats very similar to my hack, except that I spilt up the sig into an array via n (new line character), then if it exceeds the limit it displays a message. Im also adding a sig check when a user posts, so that users with current sigs are forced to change their sig to comply with the new rules before they can post again
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43931
01/15/2002 6:33 PM
|
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708
Member
|
Member
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 6,708 |
Thanks for that Viper.
|
|
|
#43932
01/15/2002 7:26 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290
Member
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290 |
quote: Originally posted by BassTeQ: Cheers Viper, Thats very similar to my hack, except that I spilt up the sig into an array via n (new line character), then if it exceeds the limit it displays a message. Im also adding a sig check when a user posts, so that users with current sigs are forced to change their sig to comply with the new rules before they can post again I need something like that but haven't had the tiime to sit down and do it!!!
|
|
|
#43933
01/15/2002 8:59 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
Viper mate you owe me a beer Its all working fine now!! Want me to doco it ?
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43934
01/16/2002 3:19 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290
Member
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290 |
Why....that would be just ducky!! I anxiously await this hack!
|
|
|
#43935
01/16/2002 7:06 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
I tried to post it here, but the darn UBB doesnt allow my code (even between the [code] tags) Where can I post the .txt file for this hack? Can someone host it for me please?
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43937
01/16/2002 9:23 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
Cheers Viper, Ill drop you an email now!
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43938
01/16/2002 10:48 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290
Member
|
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 290 |
BassTeQ, Here is the link: http://www.red-viper-gts.net/hacks/Sig_Lines_Hack.txt I'll let you start your own thread with that, so we can keep it all together (if you wish). My plan is to try this...and also wait for feedback from others....then I'll add it to the database. Sound good!?!?!
|
|
|
#43939
01/17/2002 12:21 AM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
#43940
01/19/2002 7:30 AM
|
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 7
Junior Member
|
Junior Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 7 |
But the one problem is once I submit the changes and this new variable gets added to the .setup file my thread listings disappear. So when I go into a forum I see no threads.
So Id like to know if there is something else I may need to change when elsewhere that Ive missed. Any ideas?
Might you need to also add the new variable to forumdisplay.cgi?
Dave
|
|
|
#43941
01/20/2002 5:14 PM
|
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Moderator / Code Fixer
|
Moderator / Code Fixer
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743 |
No you dont need to do that because in forumdisplay.cgi it says require "UltBB.setup"; what that means is the script can read variables from that file as if they were local variables.
I can't afford a good signature editor
|
|
|
Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.
Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
|
|
Posts: 69
Joined: January 2001
|
|
Forums63
Topics37,575
Posts293,927
Members13,823
|
Most Online6,139 Sep 21st, 2024
|
|
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
|
|
|
|