Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#44835 01/31/2001 7:01 AM
OK. I've been beta testing UBB6, it's nice, and I'm sure there will be a lot of good hacks for it before the month (Feb.) is over.

But there is 1 hack *I* need:

I need my HTML pages back! No #$%^ cache, just the static HTML.

This would be the only reason that I would get UBB6.

Without this hack, I'm not going to upgrade.

Let me explain. I've been submitting my UBB pages to search engines for around 2 years. Every other day I submit (I use WebPosition Gold). Last December I got 40,000 hits from the search engines (23% of my UBB's traffic), this month I will end with over 50,000 hits.

There is NO way on earth I'm going to sacrafise these hits. Search engines don't spider beyond query strings (only one I heard is Google???), so that would cut my traffic by around 25%.

I am not interested in the "speed gains" by the new caching system. Heck, if my UBB get slow, I have a good reason to upgrade my server!

OK, I'll better stop now!

Thanks for all the lovely hacks, I have a few installed on my 5.47 UBB.

Last edited by Gizmo; 08/17/2016 2:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
Ell Offline
It's possible to disable the cache, but that doesn't affect individual threads; they're all dynamically generated no matter what you do.

Shouldn't be difficult at all to get the system to spit the HTML generated when you get a topic into a file instead of to the browser. It would only need a few lines of alteration in total (and one to make the forum display link to the HTML files instead)

Sounds good... I don't have any perl experiance to do it myself, so I'll wait and see if some body want's to step in here.

You can also contact me privately....

Last edited by Gizmo; 08/17/2016 2:06 PM.
Admin Emeritus
Admin Emeritus
This could be relatively easy to do.

SSI. Just have the UBB create a simple little file where it would have created a thread. It would just be a matter of mapping .html to be parsed for SSI tags...