UBB.Dev
Posted By: APN SSI in CGI? - 03/05/2001 2:51 AM
How the heck do u add ssi in a cgi file?
Posted By: Chip Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/05/2001 5:39 AM
I'm with ya brother. I'm trying to do a left side SSI menu. Putting in the header doesn't do diddly.

Some guru please help the newbies!
Posted By: Mark Badolato Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/05/2001 5:58 AM
CGI scripts are not parsed, so you cannot call others via traditional SSI tags.

You will need to either include the code you want to execute in your script, or you will need to require the script you wish to use, and call the appropriate sub routines

--mark
Posted By: Greg Hard Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/05/2001 6:55 AM
You could use the Apache::SSI module
Posted By: APN Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/06/2001 4:48 PM
thanks anways
Posted By: Ghoste Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/20/2001 10:24 AM
I also ran into this problem when trying to install WebTrends Live using they're ssi code. It didnt work , now I know why!

Thanks!

-Ghoste
Posted By: J.C. Re: SSI in CGI? - 03/22/2001 12:28 AM
A round about way is by adding a require line..

require '/aaa/bbb/ccc/domain_name/dir/file.txt';

the create a file (file.txt, or whatever you want to call it) and add your stuff to be pulled in. In your new file you will have:

$value='

content you want pulled in

';

1;

The $value can be whatever you wish. Then in the cgi file you place the tag $value where you want the code pulled in. It *usually* works fine. Code the file 666 and you're ready to try it. Upload it in ascii.

Make backups of everything before playing!

[ March 21, 2001: Message edited by: DCF ]

[ March 21, 2001: Message edited by: DCF ]
© UBB.Developers