UBB.Dev
Posted By: kenhk problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/06/2003 12:57 PM
I am now trying to set up a web server (for funny), I have already installed apache, active perl, php & mysql (all windows nt version) and all work

now, after i installed the phpmyadmin, i loaded the index.php file and got the following error:

-----------------------------------------------

Welcome to phpMyAdmin 2.5.4

phpMyAdmin tried to connect to the MySQL server, and the server rejected the connection. You should check the host, username and password in config.inc.php and make sure that they correspond to the information given by the administrator of the MySQL server.

Error

MySQL said:

#1130 - Host 'kenkk' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server
-----------------------------------------------

I double check the host, username(use "root") and password(root password) and all correct

Can I know how to solve??
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/07/2003 5:06 AM
The user ID kenkk does not have the proper rights. Most of the time the server called is localhost and the ID should be root.
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/07/2003 6:42 AM
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
The user ID kenkk does not have the proper rights. Most of the time the server called is localhost and the ID should be root.
So, how can I fix it??
I am newbie, can you tell me step by step
Thanks!!
If this is a local machine, you should be using root to get to MySQL...
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/08/2003 3:11 AM
Yes, I already use the "root" to get to Mysql but still failed with the error code 1130
Are you trying to connect to "localhost"/"127.0.0.1", or to your machine's hostname?
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/08/2003 1:49 PM
i tried "localhost" and my ip address but both failed with error 1130
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 8:10 AM
Can you login to mysql at the command line?

./mysql
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 9:56 AM
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
Can you login to mysql at the command line?

./mysql
yes, I can login by using root
what about root-beer? Ok that wasn't helpful. Sorry.
btw I'm following this with interest as I plan to make my machine a web server too for testing stuff. All the same stuff as yours.
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 5:03 PM
Ok so you can login to MySQL as root. Lets now confirm you have permission to create a database via the command line.

mysql> create database SomedbName;

It should return:
Query OK, 1 row affected (0.23 sec)

Now lets select and change to this database.

mysql> use SomedbName;

Now lets make sure you can view the database.

mysql> show tables;

There should be no tables to view and MySQL will tell you this. As long as these work then MySQL should be fine.

Instaed of removing the database (mysql> drop SomedbName;) lets leave it so we have something to look at in phpMyAdmin

Next we will need to take a look at config.inc.php Have you modified this file once you untar'd the files and placed them in your web root?
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 5:53 PM
Thanks for your prompt response!!

I got this error when I typed: create database SomedbName in command line
[Linked Image]

same result with: create database SomedbName;
Posted By: Burak Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 7:39 PM
Try to run E:mysqlbin>mysql

And enter the commands when you drop to the mysql prompt. Like

mysql> create ...
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 8:30 PM
Thanks!!

Now I got this error:
[Linked Image]
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 8:41 PM
Ack, a windos box eek

My background is MySQL under Linux (RedHat) Hmmm... I guess the commands will be the same I will just need to figure out how the command lines differ in the executable.

What version of Windows server is this btw?

Have you run winmysqladmin? The first time you are asked to create one user that is admin/root.

Lets go back and check permissions...

restart MySql server with --skip-grant-tables
Login to mysql --user=root
select * from mysql.user
check that 'admin' is there with a correct password set AND FOR Host='localhost'
if yes, then you mistyped your 'admin' password. Change it.

if not, then change the 'admin' entry:

update mysql.user set Host='localhost',Password=PASSWORD('youradminpassword') WHERE User='admin';
flush privileges;
exit;

Now try restarting MySql server normally. Let us know how this goes...
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/09/2003 8:46 PM
I have another idea cool

Try editing your hosts file with

127..0.1 localhost

You can also try to specify the IP address of the server as the host:

mysql -h your.ip.address.here

Also take a look at:
http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Default_privileges.html

Hope something here helps smile
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/12/2003 6:41 PM
1QuickSI

I missed your message as the post is turned to Pg.2
I am using Windows XP
I will try try and give result to you tomorrow

Thanks
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/14/2003 4:19 AM
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
restart MySql server with --skip-grant-tables
Login to mysql --user=root
select * from mysql.user
check that 'admin' is there with a correct password set AND FOR Host='localhost'
if yes, then you mistyped your 'admin' password. Change it."

- Can I know where should I key the above commands, in command line?
mysql> --user=root
or
e:mysqlbin> --user=root
or
e:mysqlbin> mysqld-nt --user=root
-------------------------------------------------
quote:
[qb]Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
update mysql.user set Host='localhost',Password=PASSWORD('youradminpassword') WHERE User='admin';
flush privileges;
exit;
[/qb]
I input the commands and the error 1044: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'mysql'
-------------------------------------------------
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
Try editing your hosts file with

127..0.1 localhost

- which file should I edit?
-------------------------------------------------
quote:
[qb]Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
mysql -h your.ip.address.here[/qb]
- after enter the command---1130 - Host 'kenkk' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server


I follow the following link to install MySql only
http://www.mattjacob.org/server/page4.html
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/16/2003 6:54 PM
When I make mention of typing a command line it should be assumed that it is within the MySQL program at the prompt MySQL> As you need to be within it to execute the commands.

Now when you try to conenct to MySQL are you on the same box as the install or from your workstation?
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/19/2003 2:55 AM
1QuickSI

Thanks for your reply.

Quote
quote:
Originally posted by kenhk:
[QUOTE]Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
[qb]restart MySql server with --skip-grant-tables
Login to mysql --user=root
select * from mysql.user
check that 'admin' is there with a correct password set AND FOR Host='localhost'
if yes, then you mistyped your 'admin' password. Change it."

[Linked Image]
-------------------------------------------------
quote:
[qb]Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
update mysql.user set Host='localhost',Password=PASSWORD('youradminpassword') WHERE User='admin';
flush privileges;
exit;
[/qb]
I input the commands and the error 1044: Access denied for user: '@localhost' to database 'mysql'
-------------------------------------------------
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
Try editing your hosts file with

127..0.1 localhost

- which file should I edit?
-------------------------------------------------
quote:
[qb]Originally posted by 1QuickSI:
mysql -h your.ip.address.here[/qb]
- after enter the command---1130 - Host 'kenkk' is not allowed to connect to this MySQL server

I tried on the same box as the install and from my workstation
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 11/26/2003 11:39 PM
anyone can help?
Posted By: kenhk Re: problem in set up phpmyadmin with mysql - 12/09/2003 8:52 PM
I am still unable to fix this problem. Hope anyone can help me!
xp - there's your problem, I do not know of anyone who's successfully gotten a website running on it - it's a desktop OS and MS wrote permissions to be exactly that. You might search for some info on the phpmyadmin site for an xp install... good luck smile
© UBB.Developers