UBB.Dev
Hi All,
For a few years I run UBBThreads and a MySql database on a computer at home.
I now desided to move it to an official Webhoster.
I did a fresh install on the website and everything works well.
But...how do I put the content of the forum into the new install?
I also tried to make a dump of the old database ans recover that on the new one.
It all gives errors.
Anyhow..The question is: how can I completly move the forum to the new place with all the content????
Problem is...I am a newbie at databases!!!
Yeah, moving the forum files doesn't move any data - for that you need to dump the database (backup) from the old server and import it into MySQL on the new server.

You can do this with command line access (best). Intructions here:
http://www.ubbcentral.com/support/docs/ubbthreads/UBBthreads_backup_transfer.html

Or use something like phpMyAdmin on each server to export the database and import it on your new server.

On the new server, if you did a fresh install, that'll probably confuse things, you'll probably need to drop the tables in the database you created for the new install.... so it's an empty database ready for your old data.
[]JoshPet said:

Or use something like phpMyAdmin on each server to export the database and import it on your new server.

On the new server, if you did a fresh install, that'll probably confuse things, you'll probably need to drop the tables in the database you created for the new install.... so it's an empty database ready for your old data. [/]

That's what I did.
When I do a fresh install it also makes a new database structuur next to the structuur I restored.

When I remove all what is in the database and than I restore the backup all I get is errors.
[]
When I remove all what is in the database and than I restore the backup all I get is errors. [/]

The specifics of that is what will probably give the best clues.