UBB.Dev
Posted By: svr Question regarding transparent images ... - 10/12/2001 5:00 AM
Hi all, I am not a web expert but... wink I have Photoshop 6 and I don't have the slightest clue how to make transparent images! I used to have Photoshop 5 and it had a nice gif89a plugin that made transparencies a breeze... now comes along Pshop 6 and for some weird reason Adobe has really messed up.

Can anyone please tell me how to use Pshop 6 to create transparent images, or if there is a better tool (windows) around to do just this?

Thanks in advance.

(Hopefully this is the right forum!)
Open Photoshop.

Create a new document.

Before clicking ok, make sure to change the contents to "transparent".

Make the image makeing sure the part you want transparent has a grey and white box in that area.

When finished, go to save for web.

Save as gif, and check transparent.

You should now have a transparent gif.

laugh laugh
Posted By: svr Re: Question regarding transparent images ... - 10/12/2001 6:46 AM
Thanks, the above looks like the steps to make a new image.

What if, say I have an image that's in a blackbackground. It used to be I could just put an eyedrop tool in the black background and select transparent... and that is it.

Now I don't know how to create transparent images out of PREEXISTING images in Pshop 6. Also, there are some pre-set actions in the web now that make the buttons etc. but don't have transparency set. So a colored button will have a white background. With transparency tools I should be able to say "select white as the transparent color" and then the image becomes transparent completely.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Posted By: wildcat Re: Question regarding transparent images ... - 10/12/2001 9:15 AM