UBB.Dev
Posted By: LK [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 12/27/2003 3:30 PM
Modification Name: Shoutbox

Author(s): LK

Description: This addon lets your users chat with each other, or leave a comment about your site, in a Shoutbox. It can be used in 3 different ways: iframe, ssi and javascript. Please refer to the script file for more information. NO FILES MODIFIED smile

Demo: https://ubbdev.com

Requirements: UBB.classic 6.7.0 Beta Release 1.0

Download Link: https://www.ubbdev.com/lk/download/ubb_shoutbox67.txt

Credits: JustDave, Allen, Chris, Dave2, Chuck

Instructions / Other Info: My second standalone "addon" smile
To use, simply rename to "ubb_shoutbox.cgi", upload to your UBB CGI folder and CHMOD correctly. Should immediately work smile

Number of Downloads: [img]https://www.ubbdev.com/lk/num.php?s=ubb_shoutbox67.txt[/img]
Posted By: Charles Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 12/27/2003 5:00 PM
thanks smile
Posted By: AllenAyres Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 12/27/2003 8:49 PM
thanks LK thumbsup
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/17/2004 1:41 AM
LK, just one small fix. "Shoud added" smile
Posted By: Mrs.B Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/20/2004 3:58 PM
LK, is there an option to prevent the members from adding notes - in case they got the URL of the shout box (mine is hidden in a private forum)?

by the way, any moderator can delete any note, so what shall we do to cut their hands from doing this wink ?
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/20/2004 4:44 PM
Do you mean you want to have a shoutbox for only some users? nice idea.. try to set "$viewunreg" to 0, then find:
Code
sub StandardHTML {
add above: (untseted)
Code
if ($user_number ne '00000001' && $user_number ne '00000002' && .....) { &StandardHTML("how did you get in... anyway get out!"); }
then replace 00000001 with the first member that you want to have access to the shoutbox's membernumber, replace 00000002 with the second number of the member you wish to have access to the shoutbox's membernumber, and instead of ...... add $user_number ne 'XXXXXXXX' for each other member (make sure they're separated by "&&" if you add more than one)
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/20/2004 4:45 PM
Oh, and about the moderator thing, that's very easy: set "$allowmods" to "0" tipsy
Posted By: Mrs.B Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/20/2004 5:06 PM
aha, i`ll try them and let you know wink
Posted By: Mrs.B Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 01/20/2004 8:19 PM
LK, Don't you think it would be easier if there is an option to let only moderators?

rather than adding their numbers like what you just gave me?

i can't imagine my self changing the numbers all the time once i have a new moderator shocked
Posted By: Valkyrie Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/08/2004 2:43 AM
A little problem here with a shout box.

I have been trying to put the shout box in the left sidebar of my forum. I created a table for the left sidebar about 8 cells tall. The top 4 cells have links to other pages on my site. The fifth cell has a content island displaying "newest members" in HTML-JS format. In the sixth cell I put the shout box. When I add the shout box (using the frame script) the content island for newest member disappears. If I remove the shout box the content island is back. I figure I have to be doing something wrong. What do you think?
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/08/2004 9:21 AM
Mrs.B, I missed your post...
Try:
Code
my @profile = &OpenProfile($user_number);
if ($profile ne 'Moderator' && $profile ne 'Administrator') { &StandardHTML("get out"); }
Valkyrie.. I have no idea, are you sure you're also closing the iframe?
notice that it has to be
Code
<iframe src="http://..."></iframe>
Posted By: Valkyrie Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/08/2004 7:49 PM
Yes I am sure because the shout box appears but the content island does not. I have try it about 8 times on my board and test board.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/08/2004 7:56 PM
I need a URL to the page where you see this problem... If it's a registered users-only UBB I need a test login/password
Posted By: Valkyrie Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/08/2004 8:35 PM
I don't have it set up anymore.
Posted By: tazzie Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/11/2004 3:04 AM
Hello, I just recently upgraded to 6.6 and I just put on the shoutbox. Awesome!!! However, and sorry if I missed it somewhere else but everyone is shown as 'unregistered' I am logged in and it says that I'm logged in at the top. Has anyone ever heard of this before. Also, is there a faster auto refresh?

thank you
Posted By: ADWOFF Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/24/2004 5:33 AM
I kinda like/see the value of the shoutbox, but I'm not so sure I want to allow "unregistered" people to "shout." Is there an easy way to make it so that only registered users can play with it?

Thanks.
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/24/2004 5:44 AM
Code
$unregpost  = 1;   # allow unregistered users to post? (0 = no, 1 = yes)
$viewunreg = 1; # allow unregistered users to view? (0 = no, 1 = yes)
first is to shout, second it to even see the contents.
Posted By: ADWOFF Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/24/2004 6:54 AM
Oops! I guess it'd help if I looked at the guts of the code, eh? Thanks, Ian. smile
Posted By: PrimeTime Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 04/26/2004 7:49 AM
Instead of using vars_misc.cgi is there a way in which I can set the character string limit independently? Currently, while URLs are fine whenever someone posts long text without breaks inside the Shoutbox it causes a horizontal scrollbar (I'm using iframe).
smash
Posted By: GATOR420 Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 2:32 PM
I think my Shoutbox may be broken... frown

When I submit a shout, it doesn't take me back to the main page. It just sits there as if I went to ubb_shoutbox.cgi by itself except its framed in the UBB style. I'm sure it's gotta be something easy for some, but for me, I'm clueless... Help please? smile

Also if anyone can direct me to where the width settings are as well as how I can set a number of messages before I get that fancy scroll bar like ubbdev has I would be most appreciative! Thanks in advance...
Posted By: Gizmo Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 3:06 PM
all the settings are in the file itself.
Posted By: GATOR420 Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 3:08 PM
Right I looked through the file and I didn't see any place where it says "width", and I see the place to set how many messages before old one's get overwritten, maybe I just haven't put in enough messages yet...

However, any ideas on the bigger issue of it not taking me back to the forum home when a shout is posted? Test it out for yourself... Unregistered users are allowed to shout.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 3:14 PM
Width settings? That's on the iframe tag itself
Posted By: Gizmo Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 3:20 PM
Use an IFRAME, an include is telling it to reload the page (the page being the one shoutbox links to)
Posted By: CTM Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/24/2004 6:10 PM
And are you sure it's not working because you're using the iframe version of the shoutbox for a JS include on the page, right?
Posted By: GATOR420 Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/25/2004 2:16 AM
OK... Pardon my ignorance on this stuff, I have no idea what I'm doing. I just follow directions and sometimes I don't even do that well. I wasn't sure how to use the iframe stuff, so rather than break it, I stuck with what I knew.

So I fixed how I was calling it, which was via Jscript, and now I am using the iframe as suggested. This is great as it gives me everything I was asking for. Now I just have one more question...

When I called it from Jscript, it just loaded the shoutbox and nothing else. Now, by calling it via iframe, it also loads the header. How can I get my header out of my footer? smile

Also if anyone has any idea how to center the menu and shoutbox I would again be most appreciative...
Posted By: BigMrC Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/29/2004 9:59 PM
LK, I have board version 6.6.1 - which shoutbox version should I install and where do I get it if not this one?
Thanks
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 05/29/2004 10:03 PM
https://www.ubbdev.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php/topic/33/1.html#000000
Posted By: ALeXo_JeSMe Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/10/2004 4:22 AM
does this work with css to???
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/10/2004 4:54 AM
no it doesn't. those of us who use css have had to modify it ourselves. I'd give you mine, but I've edited it too much.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/10/2004 12:06 PM
It's very simple to modify it to work with CSS... Do a search for "$vars_style", every time you found it it means there is something unCSS'd. But you have to know what to replace everything to.
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/19/2004 5:42 PM
Where is the text (file?) for this wicked mod stored?

Been looking through the code and even grep'd for phrases - but I can't find it....

I'm.. just... not.... very..... clever...... frown help
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/19/2004 5:47 PM
You mean the instructions to modify the UBB code? (if you mean the ubb_shoutbox.cgi file, it's on http://mods.lkworld.com/ubb_shoutbox67.txt )

The thing which makes this mod wicked is that you don't have to modify anything, just plug'n'play smile

In the beginning of the ubb_shoutbox file, you'll see instructions in how to add it to a site, right after "You can call it the following ways:".
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/19/2004 10:02 PM
Hi LK thanks for the answer.
I'm sorry that I didn't make myself very clear.
I actually meant the 'shouts' themselves.
Cheers,
d.
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/19/2004 10:09 PM
I believe it's called shoutbox.cgi in the Members directory
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/19/2004 10:14 PM
Ah yes, that's it.
Cheers Ian smile
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/20/2004 4:38 PM
Hi
I've had some feedback that my page (using shoutbox) is causing 'debug' problems.

So far, that's all I know (I've asked for more info - but not yet received responses).

However, I've noticed using Internet Explorer (v 6.0) that when the page finishes loading, I get...

DONE - but with errors on page.

Double clicking on this alert gives multiple reports of

'tfrm' is undefined.

Anyone experienced this previously?
Thanks for any feedback.
d.
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 3:00 PM
('tfrm' is undefined.)

Nobody encountered this previously?

I know that removing the iframe that calls the shoutbox, removes the problem, so it has to be ubb_shoutbox.

???
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 3:03 PM
You got UBB 6.7?
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 5:50 PM
Hi LKK
Yes I have 6.7.1
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 8:27 PM
I visited your "homepage" yahoo.com and couldn't find any shoutbox wink
Can you give me the URL of your site?
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 9:51 PM
Ho ho ho laugh
Link on its way.
Thanks.
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 9:56 PM
a test account would be nice also, as your shoutbox requires us to be logged in
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 9:57 PM
Replied wink

You got a nice site btw smile
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 11:29 PM
Hi again,
Unregistered users now allowed.

Damn mouse batteries failed in the middle of this post.....

thanks again guys smile
H.
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/26/2004 11:44 PM
odd, please post the contents of your vars_time.cgi file
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/27/2004 12:07 AM
Hi Ian, here it is...

Code
%vars_time = (
TimeZone => q~GMT~,
TimeZoneOffset => q~0~,
DateFormat => "EuroX",
TimeFormat => "AMPM"
);
1;
Thanks again,
d.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/27/2004 12:22 AM
Fixed, I just had to submit the Date & Time settings..

Just a question, why do you use AMPM on GMT/EuroX? I thought that AMPM is only used in the USA...
Posted By: Ian Spence Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/27/2004 12:45 AM
Quote
Originally posted by LK:

Fixed, I just had to submit the Date & Time settings..

Just a question, why do you use AMPM on GMT/EuroX? I thought that AMPM is only used in the USA...

haha, AMPM isn't even used in the entire US
Posted By: driv Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 07/27/2004 12:45 AM
Perhaps I'm not understanding this properly...?

I was under the impression that the am/pm settings were simply a choice of how the time was displayed?

Either way, I owe you one smile
PM on its way....

Thanks to all.
d.
Posted By: havoq Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/28/2005 5:46 AM
Heres a question:

Is there a way to output the shoutbox to another file called shoutbox_archive. This way you can trace back to a month if you wanted to see a shout, or even a few weeks if need be.

Im sure it would have to do with this section:

Code
	if ($#file > $shouts - 1) {
my $i = 0;
foreach($#file - ($shouts-1)..$#file) {
$file[$i] = $file[$_];
$i++;
}
$#file = $shouts - 1;
}

&WriteFileAsArray("$vars_config{MembersPath}/shoutbox.cgi", @file);
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/28/2005 2:28 PM
Nice idea...
Try that:
First create a copy of shoutbox.cgi as shoutbox_archive.cgi in your Members folder. Make sure its CHMOD is 777.
Then after the code you posted, add:
Code
&AppendFileAsString("$vars_config{MembersPath}/shoutbox_archive.cgi", "n$file[$#file]");
Untested, but should work.
Posted By: havoq Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 03/28/2005 4:16 PM
Oh it works, flawlessly!

Thanks LK, this will come in handy for me tipsy
Posted By: IguanaJoe Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 06/26/2005 4:42 AM
I will probably get flamed for asking this newbie question but what is:

# Upload to cgi, chmod 755 and use!

I realize I need to rename the file and upload it. But upload it where? Just to the ubb/cgi folder?

Thanks.

You ever think of writing a book LK? You da man!
Posted By: IguanaJoe Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 06/26/2005 4:47 AM
Forgot to ask. I love the shoutbox on the main page. I want that style. Is that in a frame? How do I get my board to do frames?

Thanks again.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 06/26/2005 8:28 PM
Joe,

You won't get flamed as long as you hate the Spurs smile

Upload the file to your cgi-bin folder, the one with ultimatebb.cgi and cp.cgi.
Then if your host is on UNIX chmod the file to 755 (if you don't know how to do that, google "chmod").

About the second question, what do you mean? If you mean the ubbdev.com style, it is indeed an iframe. ubb_shoutbox.cgi has the directions on how to use it as an iframe.
Posted By: AshtarRose Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 09/25/2005 5:58 PM
I just added it, but it doesn't appear. What am I doing wrong this time Ian? http://hogwartsbynight.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php

I guess my question is, how do you insert the script to appear on the left of your board as such --->

As in, I am horrible at knowing where to put the iframe so it will appear on the left side.
Posted By: AshtarRose Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 09/26/2005 12:37 AM
Ah..ok I worked on the sidebar all day and I got that working and how I want it in my test forum, but now its saying that the cgi file I uploaded. and moded to 755 can not be found.
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 09/26/2005 4:23 PM
http://hogwartsbynight.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ubb_shoutbox.cgi
It works, it only tells you to upload https://www.ubbdev.com/ubb/delshout.gif into 'http://hogwartsbynight.com/ubb/delshout.gif'.
Posted By: REAMERE Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/13/2006 9:22 AM
Hello!
Here's one for you.
I have the shoutbox running as an Iframe.
Put in a few style tags to the ubb_shoutbox.cgi file which work fine.
However, I am trying to add a gradient background, it gives strange results.
In the 'body_extra' area I added both the style and body style tags.
Both times, it does create a gradient but it is a blue gradient (which I don't want) regardless of what I change the color to.
For the time being I just set a background color.
The webpage is: http://www.technicalblog.org/tech/ultimatebb.cgi
The code I added for the gradient looks like this:
Code
 'body_extra'       => 'body style="filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.Gradient(endColorstr='#555555', startColorstr='#444444', gradientType='0');"'         # body tag extra code     - IFRAME ONLY 
Any ideas???

Thanks in advance. smile
Oh, BTW, Version 6.7.2
Posted By: LK Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/14/2006 10:19 PM
Try:
Code
 'body_extra'       => qq~ style="filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.Gradient(endColorstr='#555555', startColorstr='#444444', gradientType='0');"~         # body tag extra code     - IFRAME ONLY 
Posted By: REAMERE Re: [6.7] [beta] Shoutbox - 02/15/2006 10:00 PM
That did it!
Thanks, you are the code breaker, awesome.

I suppose that type of cide could be applied to the Forum Summary .pl pages as well?

Thanks again! smile
© UBB.Developers