UBB.Dev
Posted By: oceanwest How to implement PHPAdsNew - 08/29/2002 10:39 PM
Ok I've got PHPAdsNew installed and ready to go. Now what?

Does this rotate banners every so many seconds when a user is on a screen
or does it only rotate banners as the page loads.
Posted By: JoshPet Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 08/29/2002 10:42 PM
Sorry, I'm not familiar with it, but am going to be seeking a better solution for banner ads myself.
Posted By: Astaran Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/01/2002 8:32 PM
It does rotate Banners when the page loads. We use it on our main site. Very powerfull programm, even for large sites.
The newest release has a great user-guide that explains options and features.
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/04/2002 9:14 PM
Depends on how you set it up with your board. You can have it rotate every so many seconds, you can use zones so that it pulls with a page load and still have the option of every so many seconds, etc.

It is a pretty powerful program and I have not upgraded to the latest development build yet which has fixed many things and is even better. If you are using it on your own server then it can actually keep pace with the board.
Posted By: oceanwest Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/04/2002 9:17 PM
Thanks I have it installed but I am a little confused
what code do I place in my forum headers?

If I understand the program correctly

You create accounts or users
then your users can upload banners.

Then you need some code to place in
the forums for display

The banners can change with out the need to
modify the header's footers each time?

Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/04/2002 9:40 PM
You should probably be using zones or keywords. With zones you generate one set of code for the headers then any banner that is active for that zone would be pulled based on your weighting, etc.

You will need to make sure that the banners are pretty much the same size or it could create a problem for you. Maybe initially it would be better for you to do the uploading of the banners instead of the advertisers until you get used to it some.
Posted By: oceanwest Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/04/2002 11:21 PM
It's not possible to have the banners rotate while you are on a page, say every x seconds?
Posted By: JustDave Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/04/2002 11:24 PM
If placed in an <iframe> on a different page it would. Most, if not all, ad companies out there will give you grief for doing this. (if they catch you that is) lol
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/06/2002 4:32 PM
Sure it is, in the iframe call you have the option to choose how often you want to rotate the banner. I am not positive about the js call and it is probably not possible with the straight html call.

The Iframe call works well, the js call slows things down just a little, but then it depends on where you are running adsnew from. If you are running on your own server then it may not be a problem. The iframe call works well with internet explorer and the newer versions of netscape.
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/06/2002 4:33 PM
If you are running nothing but the banners from the ad companies then not sure why you need adsnew in the first place?
Posted By: oceanwest Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/06/2002 5:34 PM
I am offering banner advertisement on my site for members who may have related services & solutions or products. With AdsNew I can offer them with statistics and reports as to views and click thrus.

I am hoping with this extra data would be more insentive for an member to become a paid advertiser. vs. just some banner without any supporting data.
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/10/2002 11:28 PM
No that is the way to go, but having the statistical information really will not be what makes the sale. And if you are going to be dealing with small businesses, then you are going to have to end up creating the banners and everything for them more than likely. And of course you have the payment collections to deal with and the renewals.

Take it from me, this is no small task that you are starting. But you will do better in the long run, but it will take a while to get it going is all. And the stats will not make the renewal, especially on bb's since the numbers will be so bad as far as percentages go, you will have to do a little more than just sending out the stats to get them to renew on a regular basis.
Posted By: JoshPet Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/28/2002 6:59 PM
OK -

I'm getting close on this one.

The new PHPAdsNew offers an option for Local delivery using a template. (Apparently it didn't work before with templated sites.

It generates this:

code:

<?php
require('/home/measurection/htdocs/bannerads/phpadsnew.inc.php');
if (!isset($phpAds_context)) $phpAds_context = array();
$phpAds_raw = view_raw ('', 3, '_blank', '', '0', $phpAds_context);
$phpAds_context[] = array('!=' => $phpAds_raw['bannerid']);

// Assign the $phpAds_raw['html'] variable to your template
// echo $phpAds_raw['html'];
?>



I have tried putting this bit of code into the ubbt.inc.php file....
which should define that $phpAds_raw['html'] variable site wide.... right?

Then put $phpAds_raw['html'] into my header or footer template..... but it doesnt work.

Any ideas?

Am I on the right track?

Any help is appreciated.
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 09/30/2002 4:59 PM
Does it work with the remote invocation?

I have never fooled around with the template stuff.
Posted By: ksanuk Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 11/13/2002 2:55 PM
Hi,

Did anybody ever get this working?

Have been trying myself, but no luck what so ever

Sanuk!
Posted By: 3DSHROOM_dup1 Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 11/13/2002 4:38 PM
I've been running phpAdsNew on our site, http://www.shroomery.org/forums/ubbthreads.php, for quite a while now. I don't exactly do it "by the book" but it works great.

For instance on ubbthreads.php

// Require the library
require ("main.inc.php");
require ("languages/${$config['cookieprefix']."w3t_language"}/ubbthreads.php");
///// ADS INCLUDE ///////
require("../ads/phpadsnew.inc.php");

~
~
~

// ------------------
// Send a html header
$html = new html;
$html -> send_header($config['title'],$Cat,0,$user);
/////////////////////////// SHOW BANNER ///////////////////////////////////
view("rotate", "_blank");



This would pull a random banner than has the "rotate" keyword and open in a new window when clicked on.

If you are wanting to show the banner of a certain advertiser you just use the banner ID #, like so:

view(3, "_blank");

Hope this helps a little
Posted By: JoshPet Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 11/15/2002 12:34 AM
Thanks!

I've yet to get back to trying to figure this out.... so I will give this a try.
Posted By: ksanuk Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 11/21/2002 3:41 AM
Hi,

There is actually an easier way which I found out about on SourceForge. Rather than using the local method of invoking the banner, use 'Remote invocation with JavaScript'.

Copied and pasted the generated code into the template and it worked like a charm.

Sanuk!
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 12/20/2002 6:55 PM
The Iframe method works fine also and it does not slow down the board like the java invocation does.
Posted By: 1QuickSI Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 01/16/2003 8:02 PM
I have been running this exclusively on my UBB system and can say it is the only game in town if you want to serve up banners to your users. It takes a bit to get used to and understand but once you do changing your banners will take no time at all.

Now has anyone played with GeoTargeting???
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 01/20/2003 5:17 PM
Have not tried the goetargeting, does not really apply in my situation at all.
Posted By: oceanwest Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 02/24/2003 9:53 PM
Josh have you figured this one out yet?

Posted By: JoshPet Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 02/25/2003 1:58 AM
No I gave up and wrote and posted my own random banner thing... it's in beta mods.
Posted By: Astaran Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 02/25/2003 11:36 PM
It's very easy to use PhpAdsNew with .threads if you use remote invocation.
What kind of problem do you have?
Posted By: ehill Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 02/26/2003 12:28 AM
Just use the remote invocation. Unless you have phpads in the same directory you would have to use the remote anyway?
Posted By: shortbus Hey guys.......... - 02/26/2003 11:10 AM
I've been running this on my site for at least six months now. It works great for me. just FYI.

Posted By: ehill Re: Hey guys.......... - 02/28/2003 12:06 AM
Which the phpads or the joshpet banner rotator?

I have had phpads working for quite a while with the remote invocation and it has not been a problem. The simple banner rotator would not come close to doing what I need it to do on our site.
Posted By: JoshPet Re: Hey guys.......... - 02/28/2003 4:22 AM
The simple thing I wrote is new. So I think he's been using phpAdsNew.

I was trying to set it up so that an admin with no technical knowledge can handle it, and it's working for him. But phpAdsNew will give you far more features.
Posted By: ehill Re: Hey guys.......... - 02/28/2003 5:47 PM
Ok -- a simple rotating banner script is what I even started with but my requirements got a whole lot bigger. Phpads has been working fine and it is keeping up with the speed of the board. Of course I have it running on a dedicated server also now. As a result remote invocation is my only option regardless but with it being on its own server then it can handle the pace of the board. They are not that far from releasing a new version from what I can tell. I am still using one that is around a year old and plan on upgrading it once I get one of my old servers rebuilt.

Am in the middle of our high season so the forums are going bananas and that has been keeping me busy enough the way it is. One of these days I will get around to upgrading the forum software.
Posted By: shortbus Re: Hey guys.......... - 03/02/2003 4:31 AM
Phpadsnew works great. Although I only use it to run ads on one site, I am about to expand it to run the same banners on several sites.
Posted By: so01 Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 03/07/2003 2:23 PM
I do like this.

In ubbt.inc.php add this line
require(getenv('DOCUMENT_ROOT').'ads/phpadsnew.inc.php');


In your header add something like this
<?
view ("some_keyword", '_blank');
?>

Use local invocation with the banners stored localy for best speed.

/S
Posted By: Kel Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 03/11/2003 5:45 AM
Where I can I find this modification? Phpadsnew?
Posted By: JoshPet Re: How to implement PHPAdsNew - 03/11/2003 5:47 AM
phpadsnew is a separate software program for banner ads. I believe it is free.

http://www.phpadsnew.com
© UBB.Developers