UBB.Dev
Posted By: Klyspoogan 5.46 Help - 10/29/2003 10:08 PM
Hi guys, I am fairly new to the UBB scene and have done a lot of reading on this site. My question is, the General Settings tab on the board I have isnt working. when I click on it, it gives me an internal server error saying page not found. is there a way I can restore the General Settings or replace it? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, not sure if the Show Signature option is in the general settings since I cannot access it, but is there a way in 5.46 to make the Show Signature always on?

Kly
Posted By: Charles Capps Re: 5.46 Help - 10/29/2003 11:50 PM
What's the URL to your board, please?
Posted By: Klyspoogan Re: 5.46 Help - 10/30/2003 12:02 AM
longhornfanzone.com
Posted By: AllenAyres Re: 5.46 Help - 10/30/2003 12:27 AM
you sent me an email?
Posted By: Charles Capps Re: 5.46 Help - 10/30/2003 12:30 AM
Here I was about to begin flaming you to a crisp for a new install of a 3+ year old version, when it looks like the board really has been around that long... Oops. smile

Take a peek in the server error log - it might provide more information about the 500 error that you get in the control panel.

Twiddling the signature checkbox shouldn't be too hard... IIRC, all the new topic/reply form HTML is in postings.cgi - finding all the checkboxes inside should be easy. The signature ones should be plainly marked (as name="Signature", probably).

You should really, really consider moving from the 5-series to the 6-series, or perhaps to UBB.threads. That's three year old code that you're running. There are many known security and stability issues that you certainly don't want to get bitten by.
Posted By: Deb Re: 5.46 Help - 10/30/2003 12:37 AM
Also, please check your PMs. smile
Posted By: Klyspoogan Re: 5.46 Help - 10/30/2003 1:35 AM