Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#101384 10/02/2000 11:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
Hello all,

I'm reading in a variable called $Notice.

$Notice = q(Hello $Name);

Once $Notice has been set, how can I get that string interpolated so that the string will be "Hello Billy"?

Thanks

------------------
Billy Bandit
Bandit Boys

Sponsored Links
#101385 10/02/2000 11:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 755
P.I.T.A. / Programmer
P.I.T.A. / Programmer
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 755
Change the q to qq

--mark


"Annnnnnnndd now, opening for Iron Maiden...... WYLD STALLYNS!!!" --Bill S. Preston, Esquire and Ted "Theodore " Logan
#101386 10/03/2000 12:07 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
I would but I can't do anything about that line. It has to remain as

$Notice = q(Hello $Name);

Can I somehow go through each character in $Notice and copy it to a new string and then interpolate the new string?

Or can I say print $Notice and redirect the output to a new string?

Any tips on the syntax to do this?


------------------
Billy Bandit
Bandit Boys

#101387 10/03/2000 1:17 AM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 755
P.I.T.A. / Programmer
P.I.T.A. / Programmer
Offline
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 755
Why can't that line be changed?

--mark


"Annnnnnnndd now, opening for Iron Maiden...... WYLD STALLYNS!!!" --Bill S. Preston, Esquire and Ted "Theodore " Logan
#101388 10/03/2000 1:51 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 25
I'm trying to add another field into the General Settings. Everything in that textarea gets assigned to the string $YourNotice. This information is stored into the UltBB.setup file as
Code
code:

UltBB.setup is one of the required files for Ultimate.cgi

I *believe* that $YourNotice gets interpolated (if it is within qq) at the point of the require statement in Ultimate.cgi. At this point, $TableColorStrip and $TheColSpan don't have values so $YourNotice is interpolated with blanks instead of values. Then when I try to print $YourNotice later on in Ultimate.cgi, I get a string that has blanks.

If I specify $YourNotice to be within a single q in UltBB.setup, there is no interpolation at the require line in Ultimate.cgi. But then I want it to be interpolated later on when I've defined $TableColorStrip and $TheColSpan.

I hope this makes sense. Let me know if I'm thinking about it correctly.

Thanks!

------------------
Billy Bandit
Bandit Boys

Sponsored Links
#101389 10/03/2000 5:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,590
Moderator
Moderator
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,590
Why not just set the $Notice variable after the values are set properly?

------------------
Da Wannabe Cannuck


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
isaac
isaac
California
Posts: 1,157
Joined: July 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,575
Posts293,931
Members13,823
Most Online6,139
Sep 21st, 2024
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,834
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Gizmo 1
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2025 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.1
(Snapshot build 20240918)