Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#106246 05/01/2001 3:33 PM
I am having some trouble with banner rotation on my UBB - I was wondering how many of the other webmasters use banners on their forums. I am having some trouble with one of the FREE CGI banner rotaters. I placed the code according to the instructions in my FOOTER (ubb6) along with the rest of my code

Code
code:

but of course when I bring up my ubb and refresh it the ad banner doesnt appear. I am kinda new to this so I am not sure if this type of "Call" (if that is what this is) works with UBB. I know the program works since I can go to the URL in that execute statement and the ad banner works great.

Is there something on the server side or issue with UBB, and if issue with UBB what banner programs do any of you suggest?

Thanks to anyone for trying

[ May 01, 2001 03:36 PM: Message edited by: smoke_svx ]

Sponsored Links
Moderator / Template Diva
Moderator / Template Diva
I've never been able to get SSI to work in UBB. I've been told that it does work, but I've never done it. frown

I can only suggest using a javascript rotator or something. It is much more bulky and not quite as elegant, but it can get the job done when SSI won't work.

---Skorpion

Don't put that signature in your mouth! You don't know where it's been!
I've had some JAVA script banner ads running before but now that I have a lot of banners I cant just insert a large amount of code into the BODY part of the templates. (That would make the site drag too bad frown ) I am not sure what else to do except maybe the code needs to be inserted into the UBB .CGI files themselves. I am not too good at modifying version 6 (still learning and have no idea what file does what anymore laugh ) but I just dont know what else to do except the Java ads.

thanks for the advice. I might post up in V6 mod suggestions on someone making a rotator.

hmmm ... silly thought ...