Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
C
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
C
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
I didn't write that sorry !! laugh

It was Chaos (page 6)

[ March 19, 2001: Message edited by: Chuck ]


Do you believe in love at first sight,
or should I walk by again?
Sponsored Links
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Oooops ... it's too early in the morning for me. Sorry Chuck, je m'excuse.

Chaos, your name is in the install doc! Obviously you haven't read it because you were too lazy tipsy j/k wink

qasic

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
C
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
C
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
In the french section you can see the wordlets I use for your hack


Do you believe in love at first sight,
or should I walk by again?
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 29
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 29
qasic - it works! EXCELLENT!

[ March 19, 2001: Message edited by: SinatraEatsBeatles ]

#131357 03/19/2001 11:48 AM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
Okay, I'm gonna try this hack out and see if it works, but I have a rather silly question:

"Create an avatar directory and a custom avatar directory"

Where do I create these folders? I am assuming inside the NONCGI folder but I just wanna make sure confused

Thanks in advance...

Sponsored Links
#131358 03/19/2001 11:48 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Has anyone used this hack in conjunction with ModPerl and/or PerlEx?

TIA!

#131359 03/19/2001 12:13 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
D
DD Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
OK, here's a problem I am having.
after entering the correct path in the avatar path and custom avatar path fields and click update, It changes the path to the following the next time I go in....

The paths I am entering are:
C:Inetpubwwwrootubbavatars
and
C:Inetpubwwwrootubbavatarscust_avatars

[Linked Image]
Also in the manage avatars cp, It shows this all the time.
[Linked Image]
Is there a problem with the coding or do I have permissions set wrong?
Also, like Canis Lupus says above, What would be the best folder to place the avatar and custom avatar folders in? CGI or non CGI?
Thank you...

[ March 19, 2001: Message edited by: DD ]

#131360 03/19/2001 12:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
Q
Member
Offline
Member
Q
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
Quote
quote:

which line did it replace?

#131361 03/19/2001 12:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
For your paths, you have to enter them UNIX style.

So enter them in as:

c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/ubb/avatars
and c:/Inetput/wwwroot/ubb/cust_avatars

That should solve your problem!

q_ware, it replaces this line:

if (($filename eq "$templine[1].gif") || ($filename eq "templine[1].jpg")

I missed the $ and it messed the .jpg detection!

qasic

#131362 03/19/2001 12:29 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Oh yeah, it seems to be standard to put avatars under the NonCGI directory and the custom avatar directory under your avatar directory but the script will work if you put them somewhere else as long as you set the settings correctly.

qasic

Sponsored Links
#131363 03/19/2001 12:29 PM
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 26
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 26
whoops, sorry 'bout that qasic, didnt even see my name there, but thats what i get for being really sick laugh

#131364 03/19/2001 12:58 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
Okay, finished installing it, and it seems to be working great! Dunno bout the Netscape bug tho, since I am yet to install Netscape on this computer, but in IE it looks flawless wink

Good job...

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
D
DD Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Thanks qasic, It works wonderful...
Now I just need to find some avatar images laugh

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 90
Okay, the hacks works pretty good, but I see some sort of bug.

When those people I specified a custom avatar for tries to choose "CUSTOM" they get my admin avatar displayed instead, not theirs.

It usually fixes itself after I cleared the cache, but it still showed the wrong avatar when they first posted a message after changing it. I had to reply to the thread for it to change back.

Anyone else encounter this bug, or is it just me? TIA smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
Q
Member
Offline
Member
Q
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
I have the same problem and I know know how to fix it.

Ask your users to update their profile twice (the 2nd time should choose CUSTOM)

This is because the script called the member's data file line 23, which means [Profile last editted by whom]

Therefore, if u editted their profiles, they will use your pic instead of theirs. By asking them to update their own profiles twice, it will be solved.

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Yeah, q_ware notified me of that bug. I'll be fixing that tonight ASAP. I got some ideas as to how to fix it wink

q_ware .. you won't mind if I used your server as a guinea pig right?

qasic

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
Q
Member
Offline
Member
Q
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 117
go ahead, but please make sure you don't mess up other hacks that I made into the scripts.

#131370 03/19/2001 10:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Ok folks, here's the bugfix release:

Name: Avatar Hack
Version: v0.0005 (v0.0003 - v0.0004 upgrade instructions included); highly recommended upgraded
Bugfixes:

  • Custom Avatars *BUGFIX* (uses correct number via memberlist)
  • 3 new Wordlets - select_none, select_custom, close_window (courtesy of Chuck)
  • /Font Size fixed (in cp_manage_avatars.pl)
  • Single Page *BUGFIX* in avatarlist.cgi


Download: http://www.qasic.com/ubbhacks.html

Note: If you've feel that you've contributed to this hack and have not been credited, please LMK.

Furthermore: I'm still waiting on feedback from mod_perl and/or PerlEx users. Any problmes?

qasic

[ March 19, 2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

#131371 03/19/2001 11:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 9
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 9
Damn! You are just busting them out! I just got 4 in there! Darn....

Anyway, I want to say this thing freaking ROCKS! Allowing admin's a web-based interface for avatars is just KICK @$$!

okay, now for a possible NS4 fix..



See if that may help. I know it helped me awhile back.

#131372 03/19/2001 11:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Disman,

Thx for the suggestion. Unfortunately it didn't work frown

qasic

#131373 03/20/2001 12:41 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
D
DD Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Could somebody please translate this for me?
1.
Voici tous les peintures disponsible dans notre UBB. Vous pouvez choisir seulement UNE peinture pour vous-même.
2.
Cliquez pour vour tous les avatars disponsible.
-----------------
thank you...

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
D
DD Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
When I click on the Avatar List link in the profile, it gives me this error:
Code
code:

All my permissions are correct and that file does exist in that path...

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
Quote
quote:
sure here goes laugh

1.
Voici tous les peintures disponsible dans notre UBB. Vous pouvez choisir seulement UNE peinture pour vous-même.

Here is all the avatars available on our UBB.You can choose only one avatar for yourself

2.
Cliquez pour *vour*(typo here should read VOIR not VOUR) tous les avatars disponsible.

Click here to see all the avatars available

here you go cool

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: Abyss ]

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
D
DD Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15
Thank you Abyss

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 29
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 29
Why is it in French anyway? confused

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
C
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
C
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,667
My bad , everything works fine smile

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: Chuck ]


Do you believe in love at first sight,
or should I walk by again?
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 12
woops....
i read someone post,thought he said "is it in french"

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: Abyss ]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Frech because - forces you to change your wordlets and read the documentation. smile

Chuck - okey dokey

DD - is it in your UBB CGI directory?

q

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 30
V
Member
Offline
Member
V
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 30
Hello the hack is a awsome kewl addition smile

i need help though @@

the hack works via the cp pannel as it should but when i try to wiew the custom one
i cant see it frown

i have cleared the catche all the hack installed perfectly!! i dont get eny errors
only custom pics dont work frown

plz help !

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
A
Member
Offline
Member
A
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 344
This installed and worked FLAWLESSLY for me, qasic!

VERY nice work. laugh


Administrator / WTF.com / IWantMy80s.com
http://www.wtf.com
http://www.iwantmy80s.com
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
V2k

Ummm .. unless I have a URL to your board I can only guess what the problem is (send it via PM if you need to):

1) Custom Directory not CHMOD correctly?
2) Custom graphics should be membernumber.gif or membernumber.jpg?

qasic

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2
M
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2
all working correct laugh laugh laugh
tanx 4all laugh

[ March 24, 2001: Message edited by: mad ]

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Uhh .. mad,
http://prostoya.hypermart.net/ubb/avatar/custom/

There's no custom icons there! That's why there's no custom avatars available!

q

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

#131386 03/20/2001 11:02 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 54
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 54
This is the hack my visitors have been anxiously waiting for.

The hack is doing something strange though. I renamed a custom hack to the user number and when I go into that user's profile it recognizes there is a custom avatar available. But when I select custom in the control panel, it returns a broken image.

All other avatars are showing up fine; it's just the custom avatars that are showing up as broken images.

Here's a link to one of the custom avatars. This link shows the graphic is there
http://www.twinstuff.com/ubb/avatars/custom/Aussie_Dee.gif

But again, when I rename that file to that user number and then save it in the same custom directory with that number, it recognizes that a custom avatar exists, but when I click on it, it returns a broken graphic.

Here's the broken graphic, just after I re-copied that graphic into the same directory, saving it as 1313.gif
http://www.twinstuff.com/ubb/avatars/custom/1313.gif

I see the file in my FTP directory and it's there, but it's a broken graphic in the control panel and as a URL link.

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: twinspin ]

#131387 03/20/2001 11:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
http://www.twinstuff.com/ubb/avatars/custom/ ... does not show that the custom avatar is there (the numbered one at least).

Try this ... upload an image of 1111.gif into your avatar (not custom) directory. Is this displayed on the normal avatar list (and does the picture show up (i.e., preview?)?

qasic

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

[ March 20, 2001: Message edited by: qasic ]

#131388 03/21/2001 12:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
Umm my contol panel upload does not work. When I try to upload I get a white page with the following on it.
Quote
quote:
The rest of the hack works fine so I have no idea whats causing it. I'm on a windows server.

#131389 03/21/2001 12:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Q
Developer
Offline
Developer
Q
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,940
Avatar/Custom Avatar Directory must have RWXD permissions in NT. Check to make sure that's correct. Check your permissions too.

qasic

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
umm how do I check that? I use ws_ftp le as my ftp program.

Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 82
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 82
Quote
quote:
CHMOD to 755 or 777. Try 755 if that doesn't work try 777

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 22
Umm how do I do that? laugh

Page 5 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Bill B
Bill B
Issaquah, WA
Posts: 87
Joined: December 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,558
Posts293,857
Members13,848
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2022 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20220120)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.049s Queries: 95 (0.028s) Memory: 0.9955 MB (Peak: 1.1868 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2022-01-27 05:06:10 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS