Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#134683 05/15/2001 10:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
NOW BETTER INSTRUCTIONS!

i need some help! this hack is confilicing with the news fader hack! can someone help me fix that problem?

this will add a ticking clock according to what time your computer says

[Linked Image]

#### DOWNLOAD HERE!!!


REPORT ANY PROBLEMS HERE! smile

[ May 17, 2001 01:33 AM: Message edited by: Mr.Clean ]

Sponsored Links
#134684 05/16/2001 1:48 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Firstly, I really like the idea of this hack Mr Clean. Nothing fancy, but useful...

Hmm... i might be the first user to try this out. Just one problem I noticed whilst installing, the files needed to be hacked are actually: vars_wordlets.cgi and public_forum_summary.pl

public_forum_summary.pl was incorrectly stated as ubb_forum_summary.pl in the docs.

Having said all that, I haven't been able to get it to work yet, I get "The current time is:" and then no actual time is displayed... Can some1 help me out.... btw, I have [email protected]'s viewpm hack and who's online hack installed....

Oh!, and I'm using ubb 6.04b

[ May 16, 2001 02:56 AM: Message edited by: fungpi ]


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134685 05/16/2001 2:02 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Nope, still not working for me frown

My board's here if you wanna take a look.

My Board


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134686 05/16/2001 9:17 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 237
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 237
lokks great Mr.Clean

but it is possible to have the choice to use AM/PM format or 24 hours format?

also i would have the clock displaying the server time... i mean the same time that the ubb use when i made a post. it is possible?

that way it will more interesting for me... because like that, this clock is not very usefull because everybody have a clock in their windows taskbar... smile


so, i think the server time will be MORE usefull.

thanks


Sorry for my english... i speak french.

email:[email protected]
#134687 05/16/2001 1:57 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
i've got the same problem...it's displayed curent time is and then ... no time!
What is goin' on? Please help me!

Sponsored Links
#134688 05/16/2001 2:04 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
H
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
I experienced the same issue with the clock not displaying the time, just the clock label.

#134689 05/16/2001 2:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 61
M
MJB Offline
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 61
The clock is great, thanx. Got a couple of Q's for you though:

1. Is the clock relevant to the server time or does every visitor see their time zone?

2. Can you change the colour of the numbers to match Login & Register?

Thanx again. wink

#134690 05/16/2001 2:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
you did what it said there and it worked?
Why isn't working for me!
Please send me a sms at +4092312217 (with the solution) cos' i'm going to a friend and i'm gonna try do do it from there!
please do this for me! i will apreciate!
(you can send from www.freesms.net - it's free)
thank you in advance!

#134691 05/16/2001 5:16 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
ok i will rewrite the hack! sorry guys i though the way i wrote it would be eisier but let me rewrite it! sorry will be here in few min

#134692 05/16/2001 9:31 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 237
T
Member
Offline
Member
T
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 237
take your time! laugh


Sorry for my english... i speak french.

email:[email protected]
Sponsored Links
#134693 05/16/2001 9:37 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
new version posted! look in first post for the link

#134694 05/16/2001 9:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
I still can't get this thing to work!!

Have a look here .

The "Current Time Is" line is completely missing. A problem I encountered upon installation is that the docs said to find this:

»
$show_logout


But I could only find this:

»
$show_logout2


(Note the "2" infront of the $show_logout)

Do I have to make any other changes because of this?


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134695 05/16/2001 9:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
what version you using?

#134696 05/16/2001 9:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
what version you using?

#134697 05/16/2001 10:00 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
H
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
I still can't see the time..just the clock label.

I'm using 6.04d.

#134698 05/16/2001 10:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
shoot! my fault! ok direction are now fixed correct!

tipsy

sorry!

#134699 05/16/2001 10:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3
Y
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
Y
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 3
Quote
quote:
The "Current Time Is" line is completely missing for me yet.

#134700 05/16/2001 10:31 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
H
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
vars_wordlets.cgi
***************

##### FIND:

%vars_wordlets = (

##### ADD BELOW:

cgi_Clock => "Replace With Clock Script",

Notice the line that says cgi_Clock? Well...shouldn't it be cgi_clock? Just curious.

Also as of 11pm MDT, I still can't see the physical time. frown

[ May 16, 2001 11:40 PM: Message edited by: HalfBreed ]

#134701 05/16/2001 10:50 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
ok, i'm using v6.04b..

I think Mr Clean updated the zip file so I'll try it out now....


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134702 05/16/2001 11:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
nope, still no luck.... but now I DO get the "Current time is" label back, which is good i guess.... but still no actual time.... anyone know what's wrong? btw, my board has a black background.. so i changed the "black" into "white"... should that work okay?


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134703 05/16/2001 11:24 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
H
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
It should fungpi, but I too am not getting the time. frown

#134704 05/16/2001 11:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
are you guys using the news fader hack? if soo for some reason it conflics with it! i dont know why i am working on that now.

#134705 05/17/2001 12:25 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 65
OH no wonder!!! I am using the newsfader hack...!!


Promote your UBB @ UBBDIRECTORY.COM
#134706 05/17/2001 12:46 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
H
Member
Offline
Member
H
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 65
same here..I am using the newsfader hack as well. =)

#134707 05/17/2001 12:56 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
Darn! I'm using the news fader to! *.!.*

#134708 05/17/2001 12:59 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
i am pretty sure that the script for the news fader is conflicting with the script for the clock in public_forum_summary.pl

someone please help! eek

#134709 05/17/2001 10:14 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,271
Kahuna
Offline
Kahuna
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,271
heya mr. clean. i definitely dig the clock idea. but, i agree with some of the earlier posts in this thread... is it possible to have the clock display the server time, as opposed to your own browser's time? (that way, there's always a constant clock running, that better corresponds with the times posts are listed as being made).

i posted on a thread that questioned this a few weeks ago in the mod questions forum, as well as the script hacking forum (a few people were looking into running server side scripts, in order to come up with a way to display that time)

regardless, a cool idea.

#134710 05/17/2001 2:20 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
is there anybody that answers the questions?
Please asist us...we need help!
Thank you again!

#134711 05/18/2001 10:22 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 100
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 100
There's no way of doing it.. Just like I bet you won't find anyone with a top navigation like the one on this site, with a newsfader as well.. Newsfader's script interfers with somewhat flash type scripts.. Someone needs to rewrite the newsfader or something..

#134712 07/04/2001 11:15 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 32
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 32
I remember on an old board, we had a news fader and i believe the same menu dropdown they have here on this site. In order to get them both working, we had to do a workaround that the script author had written. I cant remember where it is off hand but it is indeed possible (at least in that case). Ill see if i cant find the documentation someone where on my HD, im a packrat and dont delete anything so it should be here somewhere. Ill get back to you guys on this.


EDIT:
if memory serves me right, it was somewhere on this site on how to do it...

http://www.webreference.com/dhtml/hiermenus/


I got an idea how to use the javascript clock & pull a switcharoo and make it show the server time... its works in my head but i havent tried it out yet, ill post it if it works the way i think it will...

[ July 04, 2001 03:10 PM: Message edited by: Section ]


[Linked Image from gringo14.virtualave.net]
#134713 07/05/2001 8:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 32
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 32
The method i was thinking works fine, but only until the hour changes...

i dont know much about javascript at all and cant seem to repass in a variable when it recalls the function that shows the time. Maybe someone can help... here's where the problem is...

setTimeout("show2(thisvariable)",1000)


when i try passing the variable "thisvariable" to the function again, it locks it... if i put the variable in within "", it locks it. If i put the variable within '' it obviously doesnt show the content of the variable but the variable name itself. If someone can show me how to repass through the variable i will post the finished product right away. This is the only thing holding me back but i dont have time to run and learn js to do it.


[Linked Image from gringo14.virtualave.net]
#134714 07/07/2001 1:18 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
L
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
L
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
The problem, the same as my MSN Center's one, is because of "on*load" ("window.on*load=show2").

In my MSN hack, it was
#134715 07/09/2001 6:18 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 71
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 71
first off having that clock script in the wordlet file is rediculous


put it in its own file or change it from being a wordlet att all thats the most silliest thing i have seen

ill see what i can throw together maybe post it tonight ormaybe tomarrow


[insert irony here]
#134716 07/13/2001 6:56 PM
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 57
E
Member
Offline
Member
E
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 57
Has there been any further development on this hack? and is it possible to integrate a Good morning, Good Afternoon, Good evening...(username) with it?

#134717 07/22/2001 5:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
I know how to get this to work with news fader I believe. I'll add the newsfader hack right now and post what I changed around to make it work if anyone is interested? Otherwise I'll just use it myself.


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
#134718 07/22/2001 8:39 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
M
Member
OP Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 318
cool smile

#134719 07/23/2001 9:47 AM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 837
Y
Member
Offline
Member
Y
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 837
that sounds cool to me to. i tried useing this to but could not get it to work cuz of news fader.

#134720 07/23/2001 2:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Jun 2000
Posts: 536
I don't have the exact coding right now b/c I dind't have time yet, but the only way I have found it to work is if you move the ticking clock coding to a different place besides under the
>> Hello, [ logout ]
to maybe down at the bottom in a new table or something or maybe somewhere else at the top.


//i wanna scream, show the world i have an inside.
i wanna bleed, let the blood flow, that keeps me alive.
#134721 07/24/2001 11:17 AM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 93
F
Member
Offline
Member
F
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 93
Quote
quote:

no, its acrually a damn good idea, there are many clock scripts, some with many more features, if you wanted to use a better one, you would simply go to the Cp and replace it instead of rehacking the files. and if it gets annoyying you can easily remove the wordlet without having to hack it out.

BTW, great hack, i was actually going to do this but wasnt sure how. laugh

#134722 07/25/2001 4:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 837
Y
Member
Offline
Member
Y
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 837
well M_E_W i tried what you said to do and put it in it's own table but that did not work.
the clock worked just find but then the news fader stop working all togther.

this is the code i used to try it with.

Code
code:

[ July 25, 2001 05:24 PM: Message edited by: ClanKiller ]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
badfrog
badfrog
somewhere on the coast of Maine
Posts: 94
Joined: March 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,557
Posts293,856
Members13,847
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2021 VNC Web Services

 
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.050s Queries: 95 (0.029s) Memory: 0.9907 MB (Peak: 1.1847 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-12-06 15:16:08 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS