Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
L
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
L
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
There should be if you modified correctly. Re-install Mod Wordlets @ www.qasic.net . If it still doesn't work, re-hack (remod?) vars_wordlets_mods.cgi, and make sure you update it to its correct dir (usually cgi-bin) and chmod correctly (usually 777).

Sponsored Links
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 34
B
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
B
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 34
there were 2 instances of a piece of code that had to change in public_forum_page.pl

The line I changed was commented out.

I hadn't noticed that before.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
C
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
C
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
Nope, JCTemplates don't rely upon normal templates to function, as far as I'm aware. :

Try rehacking ubb_lib_posting.cgi (it contains the HTML to display the button), and clear your cache... Does that work?

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 34
B
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
B
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 34
sorry, I edited my post before I saw that last one. I hope it doesn't confuse anyone reading wink

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 2
I installed the new wordlets_mods for 6.3.1 and then did the stickies 1.7 to no avail - I can't get it to work w/6.3.1 - I re-did everything twice thinking I goofed somewhere along the way and still - nothing.

I see that the stickies are working here - What might I be doing wrong? confused

Thanks,

-Dave

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
I took the latest sticky and turned it into a Multihack for 6.3.1. I updated 1.7 to work with 6.3.1 and it runs through the install process in Multihack. Here is my multihack file

I get a wierd message when I try to top a topic. I can get to the temp/permanetly screen, but when I select the top topic button I get:

An error has occurred:

Can't localize lexical variable @topic_file at CGIPath/ubb_topic_maint.cgi line 241.

Please inform the board administration of this error so that they may fix the problem. Thank you!


Any ideas?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
Ok I noticed a few instruction annomalise under the newer v6.3.1 release:

--|
1)|
--|

########===================
######## in ubb_forum.cgi :
########===================

########after:

$subject = $this_topic_data[3];

NO - in v6.3.1 you actually need to find this:

$subject = &PipeFixer($this_topic_data[3]);

----------------------------------------
2)|
--|

########===================
######## in cp_vars_style_core.pl (Template):
########===================

########after:

&RegField(qq!Delete Topic (Admin) Icon


!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");

NO - In v6.3.1 YOU ACTUALLY NEED TO FIND THIS NOW:

&RegField(qq!$vars_wordlets_cp{vars_stylecore_graphic_admin_delete}

!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by mark99:
Ok I noticed a few instruction annomalise under the newer v6.3.1 release:

--|
1)|
--|

########===================
######## in ubb_forum.cgi :
########===================

########after:

$subject = $this_topic_data[3];

NO - in v6.3.1 you actually need to find this:

$subject = &PipeFixer($this_topic_data[3]);

----------------------------------------
2)|
--|

########===================
######## in cp_vars_style_core.pl (Template):
########===================

########after:

&RegField(qq!Delete Topic (Admin) Icon


!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");

NO - In v6.3.1 YOU ACTUALLY NEED TO FIND THIS NOW:

&RegField(qq!$vars_wordlets_cp{vars_stylecore_graphic_admin_delete}

!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");
Yea, take a look at my MHK, your suggestions (although not totally correct) have already been made and I get the wierd error mentioned above.

You are welcome to try it for yourself at:
http://hack.turboford.org/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
Caroth,

It's not for you, it's just an update to the original instructions.

v1.7 works fine on my forum, which has a ton of over hacks.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 214
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 214
Caroth : I tried your Multihack and came with same errors, I rehacked ubb_topic_maint.cgi and it worked. So check there..

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 58
Ok, I fixed the error in the Multihack file, it can be downloaded here . It works with my 6.3.1 without JCTemplates.

Be sure to rebuild stats and Search after you install the hack.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
Anyone have this successfully working with 6.3.1 ?

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 326
Yes, works fine.

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 18
D
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 18
the hack woks fine an 6.3.0

tomorrow, i'll test it in 6.3.1


i was X-tend, but i lost my mail and password frown
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
I just installed it on 6.3.1 and it's working great. smile

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
D
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
I got it installed on 6.3.1 got it to work cept one thing.. when you top a topic or detop one, the page for toping or detoping, theres no text, just two radio buttons and a blank submit button. it all works cept no text is visable.... ?

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
R
Member
Offline
Member
R
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 239
I think you forgot about the modification wordlets?

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
D
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
D
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 37
nope, i added it, unless I did something wrong with the wordlet file, the text for it, its there!

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 26
C
Chu Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 26
WOW! this is the firstlarge-scale hack thati have edited into my UBB. and may i compliment you, not only was it beautifuly easy to use, easy to install, and wonderfuly worded, but it looks GREAT! thank you so much, and please, keep up the great work!!!

-Chu, Webmistress of Digital

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 26
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 26
On my UBB 6.3.0.1 Works GREAT.


Thanks guys!

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 213
L
Member
Offline
Member
L
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 213
This hack works perfectly on our 6.3.1.1 board - thank you!

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 111
M
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 111
Just installed on 6.3.1 and using JCTemplates. Works Fine. Thanks. cool


Mr. Bill
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 28
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 28
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by DigiMaster:
nope, i added it, unless I did something wrong with the wordlet file, the text for it, its there!
I am having that problem too, did the wordlet's format change recently? As all the wordlets that come with 6.3.1.1 are marked with q! and ! to signify quotes, or variable breakpoints?

I can't get any mods in 6.3.1.1 to work because the wordlets are not being put into the HTML of each page. Anyone have any ideas on this?

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 28
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 28
Nevermind, I got it fixed, I didn't see the wordlet's multihack file, once I did that everything works awesome.

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 50
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 50
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by mark99:

&RegField(qq!$vars_wordlets_cp{vars_stylecore_graphic_admin_delete}

!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");
Mark99 - I thought that this was what the document was refering too, however what is the correct code you add after? I think I could guess but I don't know if it should be vars_style_graphic_admin_top_topic or something else.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 151
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 151
Installed this on my v6.3.1.1 test board - no problems at all!!!

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
R
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
R
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 28
I got this working too! Just a question, is anyway of hiding the Top-Topic from users?

UBB VERSION 6.3.1.1

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 151
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 151
Not liking the word Sticky but not being able to think of anything I asked the members of my board for ideas.

No one came up with anythign worthwhile until one member said she likes Sticky because it reminds her of those Post-It notes....

Which gave me an idea... shown below....

[Linked Image]

In the Wordlets for the MOD I simply use html coding to display the picture with the addition of align=middle to make the text in the cell line up properly.

You can see it "in action" by clicking this link:
http://iambornagainru.org/cgi-bin/babtest/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum;f=1

Of course different colors might be better for different boards. Let me know if you want one in a different color (email me at [email protected]) and I'll get it to you ASAP!

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
B
Moderator / Code Fixer
Offline
Moderator / Code Fixer
B
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Is there any way to only allow admins/mods to Perm bump a topic, I've noticed that anyone can perm bump a topic.

Thanks!


I can't afford a good signature editor frown
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
J
jordo Offline OP
Moderator / Developer
OP Offline
Moderator / Developer
J
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
Quote
quote:
Originally posted by BassTeQ:
Is there any way to only allow admins/mods to Perm bump a topic, I've noticed that anyone can perm bump a topic.

Thanks!
Admins and mods should be the only ones allowed to bump topics...

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
B
Moderator / Code Fixer
Offline
Moderator / Code Fixer
B
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 743
Yep, thats fine, my bad smile Must have bene logged in as the wrong user when testing!
Thanks Jordo!


I can't afford a good signature editor frown
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
F
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
F
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Jordo, I have a small problem on my 6.3.1.

Once I click on PostUp button, on the new window I cant see any graphics except for two radio buttons! The only thing I could think of is:

In the cp_vars_style_core.pl I was supposed to insert:

&RegField(qq!Top thread (Admin) Icon


!, "top_thread", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{top_thread}");

&RegField(qq!DeTop thread (Admin) Icon


!, "detop_thread", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{detop_thread}");

after this:

&RegField(qq!Delete Topic (Admin) Icon


!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");

Well, I couldnt find that line, I dont have it. all that I could come close to is this:

&RegField(qq!$vars_wordlets_cp{vars_stylecore_graphic_admin_delete}

!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");

This is where I inserted those two lines, was it right? What should I do? Any solutions for me?

I dont use any JC Templates or any other graphic or design mods.

Thank you very much.
Felix

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
J
jordo Offline OP
Moderator / Developer
OP Offline
Moderator / Developer
J
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
Felix 10 - Make sure you have the Modifications Wordlets mod installed.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
F
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
F
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
I have them Jordo.
So tell me, is it okay what I did? inserting those two lines after this?

Quote
quote:
&RegField(qq!$vars_wordlets_cp{vars_stylecore_graphic_admin_delete}

!, "delete_topic", "yes", "30", "60", "", "$vars_style{delete_topic}");
Thank you

Felix

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
J
jordo Offline OP
Moderator / Developer
OP Offline
Moderator / Developer
J
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
Yes that is fine to add it after that code.

Does all the wording on the top topic page show correctly? What url are the graphics trying to show (right click on the red x and click properties)?

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
F
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
F
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
The dont try to show anything! Just blank, I dont even know what was supposed to show.
Here, I uploaded a copy of it for you, have a look: www.romanianational.com/View

Thanks Jordo

Felix

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
J
jordo Offline OP
Moderator / Developer
OP Offline
Moderator / Developer
J
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
You don't have Modification Wordlets installed, or it is not installed properly. Please check qasic.com for the latest version and make sure ultimatebb.cgi in particular is correctly modified. If you do have it all installed and in order, make sure you made the additions to vars_wordlets_mods.cgi that this mod calls for.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
F
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
F
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Jordo, help me out big brother! help

I did everything all over again, with care. Same thing. Cant see those lines and no Submit button, just like in the link I showed you.

Thanks, Felix

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
J
jordo Offline OP
Moderator / Developer
OP Offline
Moderator / Developer
J
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 874
Again, the reason you don't see them is that vars_wordlets_mods is not being loaded, since all of those things are in the wordlets_mods.
Do you have other mods installed that use modification wordlets?

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
F
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
F
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
No, nothings, this is the the only one that is using the vars_wordlets_mods

here, this is all that is in that file:

sticky_threads_bumped => "Topic Bumped",
sticky_threads_title => "Sticky",
sticky_threads_detop => "Your topic has been de-topped.",
sticky_threads_top => "Your topic has been topped.",
sticky_threads_top_thread => "Top Topic",
sticky_threads_detop_thread => "De-Top Topic",
sticky_threads_top_perm => "Permanetly (until de-topped) top topic.",
sticky_threads_top_temp => "Temporarily (until next post) top topic.",
sticky_threads_explained => "You may either top the topic Permanently, in which case it will be marked as a topped thread and remain at the top of the forum listing until it is de-topped. Or you may top it Temporarily, in which case it will act as if someone just replied to it and be bumped to the top of the forum listing only until the next post is made (note: the date on the thread will not change).",

Should there be anything else?

Thanks

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,558
Posts293,857
Members13,848
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2022 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20220106)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.070s Queries: 95 (0.038s) Memory: 0.9959 MB (Peak: 1.1918 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2022-01-21 08:45:00 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS