Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#179913 11/23/2002 10:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
I did a page to host the ShoutBox with FrontPage.
How do I make that page to be a small (say 500x300 pixels) pop up window just like those pop-up comercials that you get all over the place instead of a whole page that opens in the same browser window?

It must be a setting somewhere but I just gave up looking for it confused

Sponsored Links
#179914 11/24/2002 6:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
smile

Add this to your UBB header:

Quote
code:
Code
<script language="JavaScript"> 
function PopupWindow(win) {
PopupWin=window.open(win,"PopupWin","toolbar=no,directories=no,status=no,scrollbars=no,menubar=no,width=300,height=500"); PopupWin.window.focus()
}
</script>

Then add this anywhere on your UBB to link to a popup Shoutbox:

code:
[qb]
Code
<a href="javascript:PopupWindow('/path/to/ubb_shoutbox.cgi?s=iframe')">Shoutbox - Click here</a>
[/qb]
smile

#179915 11/24/2002 1:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Thank you very much for replying.

I wanted to put a link in the Forum header besides:
my profile | register | search | faq | active topics | forum home | calendar

Would you know where is that file so I can add thins link up?

Thanks again.

#179916 11/24/2002 2:04 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Is not working.. frown

I get the loink done and I get the popup window but not the shoutbox.
Any ideas?

#179917 11/24/2002 2:37 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
1) public_common.pl, sub MainButtonOptions smile
2) Did you remember to edit '/path/to/ubb_shoutbox.cgi?s=iframe' to your ubb_shoutbox.cgi path? wink

Sponsored Links
#179918 11/24/2002 2:53 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Forgot http:// before www. !
what a door knob!
Thanks Cris!

#179919 11/24/2002 9:11 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
CMT, I cant make that link in the Main Buttons row. would I have to edit anything in the vars as well?

Would you have a script for that?

Thanks in advance.

#179920 11/25/2002 1:01 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
Okay, here's some slightly easier-to-understand instructions wink

public_common.pl, find:

Quote
code:
Code
	push(@items, qq(<a href="$ULTIMATEBB" title="$vars_wordlets{forum_acronym}">$vars_wordlets{forum_home_link}</a>));

Add before:

code:
[qb]
Code
	# Shoutbox
push(@items, qq(<a href="$vars_config{CGIURL}/ubb_shoutbox.cgi" title="Shoutbox">Shoutbox</a>));
[/qb]
smile

#179921 11/25/2002 2:05 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Perfect! This is what I call instructions for dummies. THANK YOU!

Could I ask more? LK must be sick of me now...:
Dont even blame him...

I want to place a Refresh function in the Reset button. I know how to change the name on the button but not the rest. Can you help?

Thank you.

#179922 11/26/2002 12:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 672
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 672
Edited

Sponsored Links
#179923 11/26/2002 12:25 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
Okay... Is the link text or an image?

If it's text, use this general rule:

Code
	# Short comment describing what the link is
push(@items, qq(<a href="URL to page" title="What you want to appear when the mouse is moved over the link">What you want to appear on the page</a>));
If it's an image... Reply, and I'll give you the code I use for my version of cosmetic links. smile

#179924 11/26/2002 3:48 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 394
CMT,

I just cant get the link on that button, I am so close, but still not there. Please have a look URL
If you click on Chat you will see what I mean.

By the way, how do I reduce the refresh interval to lets say 20-30 sec?

I apreciate your help.
Thank you

#179925 11/29/2002 12:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
CTM Offline
Moderator / Da Masta
Moderator / Da Masta
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,704
That would require editing of the Shoutbox code, I would suggest asking in LK's Shoutbox thread for that. smile


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Posts: 70
Joined: January 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240506)