Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#206091 11/12/2000 9:59 AM
A few months ago I was helping Scream with some wordings for stuff (I'm a professional writer). I realize this kind of stuff is self-configurable, but still I'm interested in seeing the release version looking as good as possible. So here are some ideas for ironing out a few of the remaining points of possible confusion. I'm anticipating that quite a few of you will argue that the following are NOT confusing...because 1. you're smarter than newbie users, and 2. you've been staring at these W3T phrasings for a very long time and it's all become second nature to you. But I really think they can be improved.

1. after you post, and you're told you'll automatically be returned to the board, it's confusing to be offered a "return to board" option to click! User reaction will be "Wait....just below this you're telling me I'll go there automatically!" I'd suggest calling it "return to board even faster!" or "return to board right away!" That ironic exclamation point makes clear that we're aware of the redundancy (and it sort of echoes the "click here if you're not automatically transfered to our new web page" message users are used to seeing).

2. something that's always bothered me is the term "main index". Non-technically adept users have trouble with hierarchies. And while I like to keep names for stuff as terse as possible, "main index" is ambiguous to newbies. I'd suggest "index of all boards" or "all-board index". Or maybe "master index", though that's not quite as clear.