Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#210355 04/27/2001 3:21 AM
Power User
Power User
Assuming my server environment supports both - which version (Perl or PHP) would you recommend I go for? The Forums will be a new feature for my site so it's difficult to predict usage. Site traffic is currently around 25,000 visitors a week. I'm a novice when it comes to any scripting language, so ease of installation/administration is an important consideration. Implementation schedule is flexible, so if a later version is on the horizon I'd like to know so I can choose whether or not to wait a while.
I've spent a bit of time evaluating which Message Board system to select. Seems to me WWWThreads is different class! Congratulations on an absolutely first-rate product!!

Sponsored Links
Celtic Mad #210356 04/27/2001 7:38 AM
Coder
Coder
this is a common question, and many have their own opinions that may be different than mine. If you do a search through the various forums (in the search screen there's an option for "all forums") you'll find a lot of discussion on this.

The perl version running under mod_perl is roughly equivalent to speed as the regular php version. The perl version does run a bit slower, but it's hardly noticeable on most sites. If you expect 25,000 users a week to your site, then it might matter to you to go with the php version for speed.

As far as setup, php would probably be easier just for the sheer fact that there's less to install. A very important exception is the cron tasks. By cron tasks I mean anything that you set up to be automatically sent at times you specify. Examples of this would be subscriptions to your forums that your users sign up to get (provided you allow this). Erm, Poil talked about php allowing cron tasks via lynx, I believe... you'd want to get with him or someone in the know to get more info on that though, I'm not as knowledgable yet on php as I'd like to be.