Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#217586 05/31/2002 11:19 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
As soon as my computer is delivered (and I'm getting impatient over this but I guess it's only been a week since the order has been placed) I would like to set up a dual boot WinXP/Linux install. I know SuSe states that it can and does provide the tools (FAT file format only) to accomplish this task. Does RedHat allow for this also? Most I ever hear about is RedHat so I figure this is more main stream as far as Linux goes and I would rather stick to that for now.

Sponsored Links
sjsaunders #217587 06/01/2002 8:38 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,223
Veteran
Veteran
Offline
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,223
Redhat can as well using either Lilo or Grub. Personally I have not managed to make Grub boot into a FAT32 system but I only tried once, weakly at that. I do have a couple of dual boot Rh7.3/Win2k sytems that use NTFS and had no problem getting Grub to work right. Ont he one that didn't work one of the drives was IDE, the other SCSI. That might have been my problem. Dunno. Didn't really spend any time thinking about it until now.

Install the Windows O/S first, then RedHat. I find it a lot easier that way. Usually lilo figures it out on it's own. I had to tinker with the grub.conf a lil. One small change and it was working fine.

[edited] Opps. forgot to answer this... never used SuSe.

Last edited by navaho; 06/01/2002 8:39 PM.

Picture perfect penmanship here.
zerind #217588 06/02/2002 2:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Thanks for the information. I'm going to be setting up a dual boot so I can get my feet wet with Linux. The computer I ordered is a dual Duron system with raid. I'm not sure how easy it will be to get both OS's using the raid 0 settings. Guess I will find out though... lol

sjsaunders #217589 06/05/2002 7:08 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 69
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 69
I have XP dual booting with Mandrake, and XP is using NTFS. lilo, grub..etc only writes info to the MBR, so it shouldn't matter whether or not your using fat or ntfs.

Granted, you won't be able to read your XP partition from linux using NTFS

Neo11223 #217590 06/05/2002 11:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Do think it's preferable to use NTFS for XP, in a dual boot situation like that?

I know that are certain advantages to NTFS over FAT. I was wondering if they outweigh the convenience of being able to read one partition when booted in the other partition.

Sponsored Links
joeuser #217591 06/05/2002 2:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I think there is some advantage with NTFS especialy when the computer is a shared one as the directories and files can be better protected. For me I intend on using FAT so I can read and write to both partitions from either OS. If NTFS will allow from both OS's then I'll be going that route then.

I have an old 200mhz machine that I have thought about setting up as a local webserver to test things on using Linux. This all is to get a feel for the OS before I go and set up a machine to colocate somewhere. (and to be able to test scripts locally too)

sjsaunders #217592 06/07/2002 8:02 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 69
Power User
Power User
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 69
My thoughts too...If you're not worried about the added security of ntfs, I'd go with fat as to be able to read from both OSs.

Another alternative would be to set aside a small 2-3gig fat32 partition just for sharing between the OSs. (probably what I'm going to do in the next few days)

Neo11223 #217593 06/07/2002 8:24 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Thanks. Another decision to make

What are the actual advantages of NTFS over FAT32?

I don't plan on using my PC as a server, so I'm the only one who can access it. It's possible that I might hook it up an a LAN, but I would be the only one with access to the LAN.

joeuser #217594 06/07/2002 8:41 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
These are some advantages of NTFS over FAT32 as far as I have heard mentioned:

NTFS scales to larger drives.
NTFS is more secure in a shared invironment.
NTFS is more efficient in disk space usage.
NTFS allows quicker access to the data.

This is only what I have heard. I haven't found anything documentation wise that supports these statements but I haven't looked for any either.

sjsaunders #217595 06/07/2002 2:47 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
Guru
Guru
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
You might want to take a look at Debian for your Linux installation as well. I used to be a die-hard Redhat fanatic but after using Debian I wouldn't go back. No need to worry about dependencies when doing RPM installs. New version of PHP out, apt-get install php4. Or what I do is I just periodically run apt-get update and apt-get upgrade and it goes out and grabs all new versions of packages I am running and upgrades them. Makes maintaining my server soooo much easier.


UBB.threads Developer
Sponsored Links
Sally #217596 06/07/2002 3:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Ooooo I like the sound of that... automatic updating. Ok I'm sold.

Wednesday I had to call the company that I ordered my custom pc from and they said they couldn't ship it because the motherboard/cpu makers no longer support the dual Duron setup. I thought this was kind of odd since they stated they had the parts on their shelves so a change as such should not have mattered. Oh well... after much conversation on what they could substitute to make me happy (they didn't want to credit the credit card, of course) I ended up with a better computer than I had ordered. (Dual Athlon MP 1500+ instead of Dual Duron 1.2) but lost the raid ability. Oh well... more cpu power can't hurt. Now if it would just get here!!! LoL kinda like waiting for Christmass day... arrrgggg...

sjsaunders #217597 10/07/2002 9:39 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
Lurker
Lurker
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 4
If i were in the same situation, I would use gentoo linux with vmware workstation.

VMware alows you to run windows over your linux desktop.

But if you are new to linux, i would suggest debian linux

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I went with Mandrake 9.0 since I feel they have done the most effort to bring linux to the desktop market not to mention that I believe they have the widest range of drivers to support my hardware. Redhat 8.0 is my second choice as they to have started some in-roads to the desktop market with this version. Graphical User Interfaces are key to many users that are used to the Windows environment. These two versions seem to be at the forefront as far as linux goes. I still think I may try SuSe in the future as I am saving my pennies for a x86-64 Opteron based server sometime next year. As of this time I have not heared anything definative about Redhat and Mandrake supporting this processor but I'm sure they will eventually.

Since I only have a dial up connection it wasn't an option to download the ISO's for Mandrake so I purchased copies of the CD's from UnixCD.com for about 15.00 dollars. They are redistributing linux in accordance with the Gnu Public License (GPL) which is great. There are other sites doing the same too. They are bringing linux to the masses at an affordable price.

My disks should arrive in 1 to 2 weeks but I'm sure they will get here sooner. I'll post back how things go. I'm looking forward to moving away from windows.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
You're going to love 9.0! I have 8.2 on my one machine now, and like it a lot. Saw a friend of mine using 9.0 and its even better. I seriously found it easier to install mandrake than most windows installations, and all of my hardware worked right after the install.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That's good to hear. It's also nice to know someone else is using Mandrake too.

The only thing I know I'm going to miss about windows is dreamweaver. There isn't anything comparably close for linux that I can find.

But, I can always boot to windows and use it when needed.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
The only thing I know I'm going to miss about windows is dreamweaver. There isn't anything comparably close for linux that I can find.

Why not just use vi or pico? You don't need no stinkin' WYSIWYG HTML editor.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Because I can design templated layouts (which are visual) so much quicker than otherwise.

pico is how I normally do editing at the telnet prompt but honestly it's DULL. lol

I played with vi also but am more used to pico.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
The only thing that keeps me from going completely linux is the lack of high-end software. ie. dreamweaver, photoshop, autocad, arcview GIS, microstation.... etc. I need to use these on almost a daily basis, so its tough to be constantly switching OS on boot or have two computers

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I plan on framiliarizing myself with the GIMP? as it looks to be all that I really need for graphics. As far as I can see my email/web browsing tasks are covered too. Since I do more coding than designing these days I wont need a WYSIWYG editor that often. Was Corel Draw ever released for linux? I used to have it for windows a few years back. It's not adobe photoshop but it's not chopped liver either... lol

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
Just use more than one box with a switchbox. That's what I do with my old machines instead of selling them off for pennies on the dollar for what I paid for them.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I don't care to have that much equipment laying around in my living room though. I had thought about setting up multiple boxes with a kvm switch before. I think the dual boot method will suit me best. That or a cable selected hard drive setup. One of my main reasons though for switching to linux is that I plan on colocating a server at some point and want to know as much as possible about linux before doing so.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Here is my setup right now. My monitor has a front second input.. so my linux box is on top and just plugs into that. I push a button and it switches. I also have the linux box keyboard under the black one on the slideout keyboard tray.

The only problem is the second monitor isn't long enough to reach when on the floor, which is why it is sitting up on top

[]http://www.michiganjeepers.com/photopost/data/3004/2ghetto1.jpg[/]

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
msula, what software are you using to interface with that lavalamp peripheral?

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
haha, I am using some custom software that constantly monitors the temp of the lava, and can be programmed to form differently depending on how bright the light is turned on. I used C++

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Way to much effort for mood lighting... I'd prefer the "Plug-N-Forget" type... LoL

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Dave.....
Can we expect a LavaPal for IIP 6.0 ? LOL

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
LoL well... using XML I think it's possible to control x-modules for an on/off setting of appliances...

LoL but I will have to research that as I read about it some where some time ago about such a use with XML.

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
OK, I got a Lava Lamp Pal beta running at my test site.

msula, I sure could use that software to interface it with.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,759
lol, sorry I was joking about the software I had... but that lava lamp is sweet!! I could stare at it for hours.

Well.... at least bout 5 seconds before I get bored

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
LoL looks good. Now how about some ultraviolet lights for my neon posters?

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 375
I know you was joking, hehe

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
LOL

Thanks for the chuckle.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
LoL yeah I think nobody took you serious.. (about the lava lamp)

Although the XML control for x-modules is real I believe. I read to many things in to many places to remember where it was that I seen that though. LoL

sjsaunders #217619 10/12/2002 7:38 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 176
Well I have suse 7.3 pro , I have got to say it's sweet.
as for Mandrake well I had 8.x installed & well did not like it compaired to suse so I went back to suse & installed 8.0 very nice easy setup everything works great.

interforos #217620 10/12/2002 8:37 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I'm looking forward to AMD's 36x64 bit processors and to SuSe's support for them. This is good news as I believe I'll be using SuSe somewhere down the road myself.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Ruben Rocha
Ruben Rocha
Lutz,FL,USA
Posts: 253
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,570
Posts293,915
Members13,848
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,829
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 81
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2022 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221129)