Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
How about a PHP poker table or blackjack table that is incorporated with the forums?

You would get so many 'credits' per post and be able to play against other visitors to the forum. Maybe invite them into the game if they are online. Of course a chat would be nice, but not really necessary.

The forums already tracks total posts, so the initial credits would be easy. The modified credits would be a little harder unless you change the string to a different one for each person.

Yes, I used to be an old SysOp for a local BBS around 10 years ago.

Silly ricer.. Wings are for airplanes!
Sponsored Links
Addict
Addict
I would guess that there are a lot of poker scripts on the net, so it would probably only need to be an integration of a script.

I do like the idea of having some BBS-like extra fun, I ran a BBS too a long time ago. Don't know if I'd use a poker script, but some other small scripts would definitely be fun.

I don't quite get what you mean by the modified credits needing a different string for each person? Wouldn't it be possible to just add another field to w3t_Users called U_Credit or something, which would be used in the poker game and shown on the profile. It could even use one of the extras.

I've been thinking of adding a credit system which is based on more things than just the number of posts. Number of logins, having filled out the profile, voting in polls etc, would all give credits. It should also be possible to add extra points for people that have sponsored the site and stuff like that.
A lot of people were crazy about the credits on the bbs:es I visited (and my own) and the post count surely is important for a lot of people on my current board. So it would probably be a good way to increase activity, even though I don't really understand why the "credit hunt" is so important.