Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
I have no idea what you are talking about. The template only attempts to connect to three IRC servers:

irc.dal.net
liberty.nj.us.dal.net
typhoon.va.us.dal.net

If it is trying to connect to any other IRC server it's because you've added it to the script. If it's only attempting to connect to one server then you've modified the script incorrectly. Go to the Jpilot home page and follow the instructions for adding additional IRC servers closely...

Sponsored Links
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
There is a failure in your template

<param name="ServerName1" value="irc.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName2" value="liberty.nj.us.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName3" value="typhoon.va.us.dal.net">

must be
<param name="ServerName1" value="irc.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName2" value="liberty.nj.us.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName3" value="typhoon.va.us.dal.net">

Joined: Aug 1999
Posts: 184
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 1999
Posts: 184
Some servers do not allow [ type characters and some do not allow multiple connects. JPilot might see them as from the same source, I forgot if it really does.


Silly ricer.. Wings are for airplanes!
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
I've fixed the template, but what did the error have to do with you connecting to irc.blackened.com?

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Jpilot is just a client side IRC program (like Mirc) and it does not control what options you have available once you connect to an IRC server. Most IRC servers will not allow multiple logins by the same nickname.

IRC servers will also not allow spaces in a nickname, but the jchat.php script converts spaces to underscores in user names automaticly.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
[]Dalantech said:
I've fixed the template, but what did the error have to do with you connecting to irc.blackened.com? [/]

The parameters from the template are not send to the jchat and then it is using a default server (irc.black.....)
After removing the " and making a " out of it the template worked correct for me. I am sure that this will also solve it for the others which had the same problem.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
OK, cool

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Wow, that was a hard way *hehe*
Was it my english that you did not understand what I tried to say?

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
It's the way you explained it. I had know idea what you meant.

The escaped quotes in the template were there from me cutting and pasting from another chat.php script that didn't use a template (that's why the quotes were escaped). I don't use the default IRC server, so I had to have something to put in the chat template for the mod here. The only problem was that I forgot to remove the back slashes -doh!

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 442
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 442
[]This mod uses a template, and only allows registered users to chat[/]
Would this also work by user group?

Sponsored Links
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
It could, with a few modifications. Currently it only checks to see if someone is registered.

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Back to the top

I have purchased the User License and have it all installed, Click Here to check it out.

I keep getting an error "***dachat Cannot join channel (This channel has been closed by DALnet)"

What did I do wrong, how can I fix it?

Thanks,

Bobby

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Okay seems you have dachat somewhere in the template. Save the following code as jchat.tmpl and place in the template directory. Remember to change the name of the chat room you want to where it says so in the room name variable. I have it listed in CAPITALS.

<?
echo <<<template

$tbopen
<tr>
<td class="cleartable">
<br />
<center>
<applet name="jchat" archive="jirc_nss.zip" code="Chat.class" width="600" height="350" vspace="0">
<param name="CABBASE" value="jirc_mss.cab" />
<param name="ServerPort" value="6667" />
<param name="ListTextColor" value="blue" />
<param name="ServerCmdColor" value="127,127,127" />
<param name="BorderVsp" value="5" />
<param name="NoConfig" value="true" />
<param name="AcceptCommands" value="true" />
<param name="TotalChannelsAllow" value="1" />
<param name="TextColor" value="black" />
<param name="AllowIdentd" value="true" />
<param name="AllowPrivateChatWindow" value="true" />
<param name="DirectStart" value="true" />
<param name="nickname" value="$irc_nick" />
<param name="LogoBgColor" value="white" />
<param name="BorderHsp" value="5" />
<param name="IgnoreServerMsg" value="false" />
<param name="BackgroundColor" value="99,132,181" />
<param name="ListScreenColor" value="234,233,209" />
<param name="NickNameColor" value="-1" />
<param name="ServerName1" value="irc.dal.net" />
<param name="ServerName2" value="irc.dal.net" />
<param name="ServerName3" value="irc.dal.net" />
<param name="ServerName4" value="jade.va.dal.net" />
<param name="ServerName5" value="jade.va.dal.net" />
<param name="ActionColor" value="red" />
<param name="IgnoreChannelChangeMsg" value="false" />
<param name="isLimitedChannel" value="true" />
<param name="isLimitedServers" value="false" />
<param name="FGColor" value="black" />
<param name="DisplaySoundControl" value="true" />
<param name="DisplayAbout" value="true" />
<param name="TotalServersAllow" value="3" />
<param name="InputScreenColor" value="white" />
<param name="AllowURL" value="true" />
<param name="DisplayColorControl" value="true" />
<param name="DisplayConfigChannel" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigChannelPass" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigMisc" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigNick" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigPort" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigRealName" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigServer" value="false" />
<param name="DisplayConfigServerPass" value="false" />
<param name="LogoHeight" value="90" />
<param name="Channel1" value="SCP_Chat" />
<param name="ServerErrorColor" value="red" />
<param name="TextScreenColor" value="white" />
<param name="TitleForegroundColor" value="white" />
<param name="BorderSpacing" value="0" />
<param name="RefreshColorCode" value="true" />
<param name="InputTextColor" value="black" />
<param name="TitleBackgroundColor" value="black" />
<param name="AllowSound" value="true" />
<param name="IgnoreModeChange" value="false" />
<param name="IgnoreMOTD" value="false" />
<param name="TextFontName" value="Helvetica" />
<param name="TextFontSize" value="12" />
<param name="WelcomeMessage" value="Welcome to South California Powerstrokes Chat!" />
<param name="UserCmdColor" value="blue" />
<param name="LogoWidth" value="52" />
</applet>
</center>
</td>
</tr>
$tbclose


template;
?>


Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Thank you VERY much for you help, but I am now getting this error:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_SL, expecting ',' or ';' in /home/socapsn/public_html/ubbthreads/templates/default/jchat.tmpl on line 2

Once again, I am very new to this. Have I skipped a step?

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
I attached it as a file on the post here. Download it and rename it to jchat.tmpl and upload it.
Attachments
78205-jchat.txt (0 Bytes, 71 downloads)

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
OK, I am so sorry that I am making this difficult! I am sure that you wish you had never replied to my post

I have done what you have stated to do, atleast I think I have and now I have a greyed out box where the chat window should be. To me, it seems like it's not connecting to the chat server


Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Ah ha, I figured it out. In the file you sent I had to have it point to the chat/ folder to find the files

Thanks again,

Bobby

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
That's an odd error. I just checked the zip file and there are no references to my chat page in any of the files. Where did you get the files that you used for this mod?

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
[]Dalantech said:
That's an odd error. I just checked the zip file and there are no references to my chat page in any of the files. Where did you get the files that you used for this mod? [/]
Great job putting this together !!!

The error was caused by this:

Was:

<applet name="jchat" archive="jirc_nss.zip" code="Chat.class" width="600" height="350" vspace="0">

Should have been:

<applet name="jchat" archive="chat/jirc_nss.zip" code="chat/Chat.class" width="600" height="350" vspace="0">

It was my fault. I think I got into a big hurry and jumped the gun.


I do have another question

I changed the online.php file to include the "In Chat Room" status, but it is still showing "Private". Any ideas?

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I think that's because you have the chat in a "chat" directory. It shows "private" for any script outside of the threads directory.

if the chat scripts were in the threads directory, then the online language file would work.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
This is the part that caught my attention:

[] dachat Cannot join channel (This channel has been closed by DALnet)" [/]


dachat is the name of the chat channel that I use on a private IRC server, so it looks like you used wget (or some other program) to pull the chat files from my web server instead of using the files included in the attachment on the first post of this thread...

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
BWillams,

Yes Josh is right if you have the chat directory under Threads you would not have needed to edit the template to do chat/jirc.php either. That Template I posted for you I modified for a MOCK room name for you and a MOCK title. It works fine under the scheme it is suppose to be. All chat files go in the chat subdirectory and then the template file in the template/default directory.

threads/chat

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
Member
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 159
[]Dalantech said:
This is the part that caught my attention:

[] dachat Cannot join channel (This channel has been closed by DALnet)" [/]


dachat is the name of the chat channel that I use on a private IRC server, so it looks like you used wget (or some other program) to pull the chat files from my web server instead of using the files included in the attachment on the first post of this thread...
[/]
Here is the code:

<param name="ServerName1" value="irc.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName2" value="liberty.nj.us.dal.net">
<param name="ServerName3" value="typhoon.va.us.dal.net">

I removed the "irc.dal.net" and used another that was given to me and I do not get that error anymore.


Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
How bout trying dachat.net

JUST KIDDING. Glad you got it working. Although I do not see personally why irc.dal.net does not work that is their base server which will load any one of those other channels that are open at the time.

if you type irc.dal.net in a chat program you may end up somewhere like munich.de.dal.net

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Is there any software that can be integrated with this hack (in lieu of JPilot) that is able to connect through a firewall?

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
It would have to use a port that your firewall can proxy. Since port 80 is used for HTTP (web surfing) you might try searching for chat scripts that use it (all firewalls proxy port 80).

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Thought I would post this: I modified my jchat.php to change special characters in usernames.. I might not have gotten them, all, but did get the common ones my users have..

paste this into jchat.php

Code
<br />//Replace certain characters<br />  $irc_nick = str_replace('©', '(c)', $Username);<br />  $irc_nick = str_replace('@', '(a)', $Username);<br />  $irc_nick = str_replace('®', '(r)', $Username);<br />  $irc_nick = str_replace('™', '(TM)', $Username);<br />

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Oh very good idea. Had that problem with spaces as well.

I think I'll use this but add =

$irc_nick = str_replace(' ', '_', $Username);


Thanks!

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 56
Yep, the space correction is right above the special characters one

Jason

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
I've already got space conversion in the script

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
!

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Ah - I think I was using mine and never switched to yours - had the space issue very recently.

Good work.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
I think Dave_L gave me the script line to convert spaces to underscores. I wrote the jpilot chat script when I was first learning php. Now the more books I have the fewer questions I ask...

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
There is one problem with the way you wrote it: The value of $irc_nick will be the last line ( $irc_nick = str_replace('â„¢', '(TM)', $Username); ), all the others will be over written. Try changing it to this:

Code
 <br />$irc_nick = str_replace('©', '(c)', $irc_nick); <br />$irc_nick = str_replace('@', '(a)', $irc_nick); <br />$irc_nick = str_replace('®', '(r)', $irc_nick); <br />$irc_nick = str_replace('™', '(TM)', $irc_nick); <br />


That should work

Edit: Remember to keep the first string replace line!

$irc_nick = str_replace(' ', '_', $Username);


Last edited by Dalantech; 05/19/2003 1:14 AM.
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
OOh - a new Eagle Eye.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
LOL!

I'm trying to get there, but I have a lot of catching up to do when compaired to the rest of the mods here!

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
User
User
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
Hmm. Okay, this didn't do what I thought it would do. It logs users on with their board username, etc., but then they get renamed to guest because those nicks are already in use on dalnet or whatever. Is that what's supposed to happen or did I do something wrong? I'm not sure I get the point of using the board nicknames in that case, since virtually all of them are in use.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Yes that's supposed to happen. Otherwise they wouldn't be able to log onto the chat server. You'll need to install and run your own IRCd and services (if you want to offer control of the nicknames on the chat server) and have your jpilot applet connect to it so that this will not happen.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
User
User
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 26
Ah, okay. So this hack is really not going to work if you aren't doing that. That might be worth mentioning in the documentation.

Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Gizmo
Gizmo
Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 5,833
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)