Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Lurker
Lurker
And apache, I suppose. My Ubb thread forum has relatively high traffic, this is our season. I just got another dedicated server for the site. We put mySQL on that server, keeping the other one for just HTML (I'm a newbie to this kind o stuff

We are not crashing so often now (the too many connection devil!) But we're still going down with alarming frequency.

During peak times, we have 600-700 souls on the board (250 concurrent connections to Apache.)

Is there anything I can do to these servers to tweak them for this kind of traffic?

As for Threads, should I use persistent connections or no?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Addict
Addict
Turning on persistent connections is a bad idea if you've problems with "too many connections".

Tuning MySQL (and using MySQL 4.x) will surely increase your peformance. How this can be done depends on your server hardware etc.

You can use Jeremy's advices as a start.

Addict
Addict
Correct, persistent connections is probably a bad idea with that many users online. And like Astaran mentioned, if you can tune MySQL a bit better, that will help as well. The faster a user can execute a open a connection, make a query, and close the connection, the more connections you can process in the same amount of time.

I did check out your site, and right now even with 300 users online, it was loading quite fast. Impressive

Lurker
Lurker
the usual danger zone. ack!

Thanks so for the MySql instructions. We'll implement that today.

Veteran
Veteran
*IF* the server only does the .threads board and nothing else then I would balance the number of available apache processes and the number of MySQL connections and use persistent connections.

It the server is *not* just doing the .threads board I would not us persistent connections.

Picture perfect penmanship here.
Sponsored Links
Lurker
Lurker
(as yes, server 2 is dedicated to MySql, Apache isn't even running on it)