Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#269182 02/11/2004 9:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
How can I reset this? I played around with the "time" setting on the who's online page, but would like to "reset" the number as I changed the time period back to 10 minutes.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Oh, forgot...6.4

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
DELETE FROM w3t_Cache

will dump all that cached data so it can start fresh.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Many thanks, as usual!

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Ok, now it's constantly clearing the cache, as the "Max Users Online" now reflects the number of users currently onlline.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
Just running "DELETE FROM w3t_Cache" would only reset it one time, so there is no way that could constantly reset it.

You might be getting a new "MAX" users online every so often now instead of having a maxxed amount showing.

Linkage to the site?

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,025
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,025
The link to his board is:
http://www.yenko.net/ubbthreads/ubbthreads.php?Cat=
I have observed this behaviour by following the link in his profile. Example below.

There are 18 registered and 21 anonymous users online.
Max users online was 39 @ 02/12/04 04:45 PM
There are 17 registered and 21 anonymous users online.
Max users online was 38 @ 02/12/04 04:46 PM

Unfortunately, this thread is beyond me.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
I had 80 and 90 users online last night AFTER I ran that SQL command, and if you watch the counter, it constantly resets itself. I'm pretty certain it's not in my mind!

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
Did you place the SQL command into the code? Or did you just run it from your Admin Panel ONE time?

If it is inserted into one of your PHP or .tmpl pages, remove it...

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
No, just ran it from the admin panel...

Sponsored Links
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
My bad - after we dump the cache - I guess we need an empty record there to update.

So we'd also need to do this:

Code
<br />     INSERT INTO w3t_Cache<br />     (C_Users)<br />     VALUES<br />     ('0')<br />


Chevy, I did this on your site for you - so it should get back on track.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 180
Josh to the rescue...AGAIN!

Thanks all!

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
Guru
Guru
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
Bad Josh. /me slaps Josh's hand. No No No, don't DELETE * FROM w3t_Cache. If you do that the Cache table will never get updated because it doesn't it's never INSERTed into, only UPDATED. /me smacks Josh one more time for good measure

You'll need to do this to reinsert a row into your cache table:

INSERT INTO w3t_Cache
(C_Users)
VALUES
('0')

For future reference you can reset your max online by running the following

UPDATE w3t_Cache SET C_MaxOnline='', C_Maxonline_timestamp=''


And for an FYI, 6.5 will have a tool to reset the cache.


UBB.threads Developer
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
Guru
Guru
Offline
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 3,039
Doh, you can't correct yourself before I get a chance to reprimand you. Bad Josh! /me beats the living tar outta Josh!


UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
LOL

Yeah, I figured that out once I looked at it and realized it didn't recreate the entry automatically. Guess I was confusing it with IIP's cache where you can nuke it and it comes back on it's own.

Good news on a reset Cache option in 6.5.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
That should be "beats the living .tar.gz outta Josh". LOL

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 528
LOL I didn't even catch the fact EVERYTHING was deleted either. Too much goofing with nuke.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Gizmo
Gizmo
Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 5,833
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)