Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#306756 08/15/2003 2:36 AM
hello everyone, before i begin with my post i just want to let everyone know right off that i'm a noob with this stuff so thanks for your patience. i am learning...slowly
I am looking at setting up a forum for my new website. As far as forum software is concerned i was thinking of using UBB Threads by Infopop. I have been playing with the demo software and I enjoy it alot. However i recently came across a security article that outlines how this software can be easily taken advantage of by the use of SQL hacking. Now i know the version of the software they review is outdated compared to the current version, but my question is...is it still possible to do something like the article outlines with the current UBBthreads software? the last thing i would want on my new forum is some mystery administrator or to have my database dumped . Anyways, thanks

Sponsored Links
Addict
Addict
That article talks about the perl version of wwwthreads and not about the current ubb.threads version. Security has been much improved during the years.
There's no known way to exploit ubb.threads at the moment. There has been some security fixes during but Infopop reacts very quickly if necessary.

I don't understand your last question, sorry.

I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
I think it's very secure.

Yeah, that's not really an issue anymore.... First of all it's no longer written in Perl. And all the globals are registed at the top of every script... so you can't add variables into the URL of a script - as the top of every script goes through every variable that it uses right at the very top.

For example

// Get the input
$Cat = get_input("Cat","get");
$Baord = get_input("Board","get");
$Whatever = get_input("Whatever","post");
$FooMoo = get_input("FooMoo","both");