Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#48163 06/13/2001 2:25 AM
i am working on a project to put news on my main page. i've seen the Ubbnews and slashbb and all those hacks, but i want a custom job.

What I want to do is:
1) have an admin/moderator be able to post news in a forum. (just like slashbb)

2) when the admin/moderator submits the form, all i want to do is have it go in to my index.html file and look for a comment like
//and add the appropriate javascript function there. The javascript function would look something like this:
createPopup(stuff from the form goes here);

3) I dont want this to just be an output of some CGI script, I want this in my index.html

Basically I want the CGI script to read the news forum(like slashbb) and just add some text to my index.html file.

I am not a CGI programmer so thats why im asking for some help here. I assume(probably falsely) that this is much like slashbb or ubbnews or something.

Any help is much appreciated. My email is: [email protected]

-Brian

Sponsored Links
#48164 06/13/2001 10:59 AM
If you want to make a news-script without the use of CGI, you should try ASP. (for info try www.LearnASP.com ).
This requires your server to support ASP-script. If you are planning to make a web server at home, you should use Microsoft IIS.
If not, there is also a lot of good and reliable web hosting services that support ASP (see www.FreeWebSpace.net )

Hope I answered your question laugh

- SpECTre

#48165 06/13/2001 12:23 PM
I thought about that too, but I was not sure that it would work with UBB.

After reading my post, I realized that I need to be clearer on what I want.