Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Example;
You have 10 categories, each category has 5 forums, and this makes a total of 50 forums.
You dont want all those 50 forums to be loaded on the forum summary page, there you only want 5 categories to be shown with their related forums.

The other 5 categories with their related forums you want to make available to the users thrue your menusystem, topbar menu or slide in menu etc.

Anyone able to make such a hack, or tell us how to do this?

[ July 28, 2001: Message edited by: kaukagaul ]

Sponsored Links
[ July 28, 2001: Message edited by: kaukagaul ]

Ummm, didn't you already post this?

quote:
I see that, but that thread header does not tell anybody what the issue is about, so no one could have known that without actally reading the whole thread.

[ July 29, 2001: Message edited by: kaukagaul ]

Sponsored Links
I have started working on this on my own.
I am NOT A CODER, and dont understand perl, but I SHALL have this function in the board before it goes online.
Actually, I have gotten this to almost work, but not quite yet.

I started by looking what files that made calls to read or write to categories.file in NonCGI dir. Then I looked for those files that made calls to the first files(that are making calls to categories.file
Something like this;
FilegroupC make call to FilegroupB
FilegroupB make call to FilegroupA
FilegroupA make call to categories.file

Then I duplicated all those files related to these calls, and named them with a fileending like ultimatebb2a.cgi, cp_vars_forums2a.cgi and so forth.
Inside those files, I changed the calls to the original files, so all the calls where made to the new created *cgi and *pl files instead.
This included a duplicate categories.file that I named categories2a.file.

After this process done, I ended up with two control panels, the original, and the one called via cp2a.cgi