Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hi.

Could someone please help me. I have two computers in different rooms of my house not too far apart and Id like to network them. Im no expert, so I thought maybe one of you guys would help me - whats the easiest way of doing this? what equipment would I need to buy and how would I go about networking the two computers?

I heard theres a way of doing it through telephone lines - this would be pretty good if I could do it, anyone know how? Otherwise what are the other methods.

Expense isn't really a problem but I dont want to go overboard. is it possible to keep down to $200 or so of equipment and stuff or is that being too ambitous?

Thanks in advance. smile

Sponsored Links
LK Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
I'm connecting 4 computers in 3 different rooms through LAN, using a switch hub and cat5 lines (connected to network adapters). It works well, pretty slower than 100mbps but still fine. Ofcourse you have to open a hole in each wall, but since I have a gypsum wall, it didn't really matter to me wink

I use to connect two computers in my house using a single network lead (now have 3 so use a hub).

What you need to do is get a network card for both computers, and then get a network lead (standard network lead), and you need to twist one of the wires in the lead, and then connect it to both computers.

Works fine.

Go to your local computer shop, ask them about linking two computers together with out a hub and that you need to twist a wire on the lead, and they should be able to do it for you.

Unless you speak to the local idiot who has no clue, but it saves a lot of money because you don't need a hub.

Veteran
Veteran