Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
I'm thinking of hosting my own web-site(s) by setting up a server at my home. I'm tired of dealing with host services. I'll build the box, and probably use Windows 2003 server, but I don't know about the rest.

Currently our house has DSL (1.5mb downstream / 256 kb upstream). It currently has swapping IPs, but I can get a static IP. My worry is that I don't know if 256 kbps is fast enough. What's the thought on this? Is that enough?

Also what's with 2003 and multiple licenses? Do I need the standard 5 client license package? Or do I just need 1 license? That part I don't understand yet as I've never done this before. Any help and advice that you guys can offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Mark Schonfeld

Sponsored Links
Spotlight Winner
Spotlight Winner
First of all the upstream is not enough for even one active site. The licensing for 2003 Server as far as IIS is concerned is a non-issue. You can have all the anonymous connections that you want. The standard edition with 5 cals would be plenty. Some of the things you might have to consider are other services people might need. SQL or Access require licensing. MySQL is a fantastic alernative but adds a lot of overhead to the server if it's being hit consistently. SSL is another consideration. A shared certificate is one option but per site certs (purchased by site owner) are important if you want to host an e-commerce.

What about back-ups? What about intrusion detection and guaranteed uptime? If you want to charge people for these sites then you need to define the SLA (service level agreement) that you give them. Uptime is controlled by things like power, connectivity, reboots, patches, maintenance etc. etc. etc.