Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#91419 03/03/2001 2:48 PM
We have two people at least who haven't had trouble with CWI, but I have had plenty, so in the spirit of this thread which I think is really useful for getting across your experiences at different hosts, here is mine, reposted from a reply to another thread.

CWI Hosting is GARBAGE. They gave me a full month of ****ty service and have not replied to my e-mails to billing or the CEO to request a refund. I was plagued with 29 days of services failing, and several downtimes in the first few DAYS of hosting (They have a 100% uptime gaurentee, f-ing propeganda, they were up for maybe 80%, which is intolerable). Lets see, the website stat program doesn't update on any apparent schedual...averages about once every 4 days, they BROKE their compiler, and when I TOLD them how to fix it they replied with "We don't see any errors on our end that would cause this problem" well I program for a living and when the libraries fail, it's their fault. (they didn't even TRY to compile a program to reproduce the errors I was getting - they probably don't know how to compile in the first place). Not only that, but their system fails to parse SSI when it gets loaded, never had that problem anywhere else, CGI failed for the 3 days before I finally called it quits, (for these as well the support message was always "We don't see anything wrong on our end" well, news for them is that when someone leaves a website running and doesn't update it for two days, during which SSI and CGI fail repeatedly, it's THEIR problem). Their server also went down so many times it makes me sick (they keep their own site www.cwihosting.com on a cobalt RaQ which I only saw crash once the whole time, but the server I was on was flakey as hell), and they contest EVERY downtime trying to blame it on routers and anything else that will get them out of refunding money (again, I'm not stupid, a simple tracert revealed every time that there w