UBB.Dev
Posted By: Tech-Ni-Kal PHP Help - 11/11/2001 7:27 AM
I made a script to make the news on my site and now I am working on an editing script. But I can't get it update it right:

Robs Post thingy


$db = @mysql_connect("localhost","Rob","fdsafd");
mysql_select_db(stonecrick);


if ($post){
// WE dont need timestamp since its already in db
// UPDATE statement, it checks and sees if new thing submitted is diff, if so it updates it in same row

$sql="UPDATE data SET title=".addslashes($title)." author=$author, email=$email, body=$body, WHERE ID=$newsid ";
if (@mysql_query($sql)) {
echo("success");
}else{
echo ("error" .$sql);
}
}else{
// Selects info from dat from row where id = userid
// Thus they have to go to the page like so: edit.php?newsid=1
$usr = @mysql_query("SELECT * FROM data WHERE ID=$newsid");
// Then put all info into a form, this form puts the info already in text boxes and stuff
// That way when person goes here theey dont have to retype they just edit

while($row=mysql_fetch_array($usr)){ ?>





>
Author : >

Email: >

Title: >

Body:



} }
?>




I get the eror:

errorUPDATE data SET title=Title author=12345, email=09, body=12345, WHERE ID=1


Thanks in advance!
Posted By: Bob Re: PHP Help - 11/11/2001 2:18 PM
Lol, this is simple ..

change:
Code
code:

to:
Code
code:

basically, remove the , after the body=$body tag. that , is telling the script to wait for more input .. but it isn't getting any.

btw. its bob from se7enet here smile

[ 11-11-2001: Message edited by: Bob Burke ]
Posted By: Tech-Ni-Kal Re: PHP Help - 11/11/2001 4:14 PM
Thanks man! That's what happens when you try and code at 3 in the morning. smile

It's rob from there, but I think you knew that.. laugh

[I guess it didn't work, I thought it did for a minte but it didn't. Same error.]

[ 11-11-2001: Message edited by: Tech-Ni-Kal ]
Posted By: Tech-Ni-Kal Re: PHP Help - 11/11/2001 4:17 PM
Now, I have a few more questions..

I have the posting script and edit. But the way they are set up, right when you open the script it recognizes that. I wanted to change it so I could go like cp.php?func=editnews or cp.php?func=postnews.

But I am not sure. Cause the way I wrote them weren't for that. And I couldn't figre it out.. smile


Posting:
Robs Post thingy


$db = @mysql_connect("localhost","Rob","koqmd1");
mysql_select_db(stonecrick);

if ($post){
$timestamp = date("Y-m-d G:i:s");

$sql = "INSERT INTO data (Author,Email,Title,Body,Timestamp) VALUES ('$author','$email','$title','$body','$timestamp')";

if (@mysql_query($sql)) {
echo("success");
}else{
echo ("error");
}
}else{ ?>



Author :

Email:

Title:

Body:



}
?>

Edit:


$db = @mysql_connect("localhost","Rob","koqmd1");
mysql_select_db(stonecrick);


if ($post){
// WE dont need timestamp since its already in db
// UPDATE statement, it checks and sees if new thing submitted is diff, if so it updates it in same row

$sql="UPDATE data SET title=".addslashes($title)." author=$author, email=$email, body=$body WHERE ID=$newsid ";
if (@mysql_query($sql)) {
echo("success");
}else{
echo ("error" .$sql);
}
}else{
// Selects info from dat from row where id = userid
// Thus they have to go to the page like so: edit.php?newsid=1
$usr = @mysql_query("SELECT * FROM data WHERE ID=$newsid");
// Then put all info into a form, this form puts the info already in text boxes and stuff
// That way when person goes here theey dont have to retype they just edit

while($row=mysql_fetch_array($usr)){ ?>





>
Author : >

Email: >

Title: >

Body:



} }
?>

Posted By: Tech-Ni-Kal Re: PHP Help - 11/11/2001 4:22 PM
BTW, it didn't work. I still get the same error. frown

It doesn't show the ID anymore when I get the error message. frown

[ 11-11-2001: Message edited by: Tech-Ni-Kal ]
Posted By: Bob Re: PHP Help - 11/14/2001 12:02 AM
It is tedious using forums to support PHP, I have added you to my ICQ contact list and I will help you whenever you come online.
© UBB.Developers