UBB.Dev
On my board, we a toying with the idea of a "special group" that would have enhanced permissions. As part of that, I was wondering how hard it would be to have a special little gif a la the "A" for admin and "M" for moderator.

I am not averse to do a little code hackery, but am a PHP n00b (C* and Java mostly)
Would be great.

One item we would like is a club flag for each member next to their name, depending upon which club their support.

So a very similar idea smile
This is something I'll be looking at for a future version to be in the stock code. The one stumbling block in my thought process on this is how to determine which flag to show if the member belongs to 2 groups and both have an image associated with it.

Say, I'm an admin and I'm also a member of Group A which has a gif associated with it. Do I display the admin gif or the Group A gif? One option is to display both, but that could get messy as some sites have users that belong to a large number of groups.
I guess for full support, you would have to have a way to mark a particular member's group as an "image group" and "there can only be one" (Highlander). Would be a PITA to support that DB constraint in code tho.
Posted By: Gizmo Re: Little gifs next to name for group membership - 03/15/2007 12:23 AM
Rick, I have a sugguestion! Apply a weight field to the user groups, then if they overlap it'll take whichever has a higher weight for the icon...

Admin's would always be #1, Mods #2, then the admin could assign weights for 3+ to other fields...
Originally Posted by Gizmo
Rick, I have a sugguestion! Apply a weight field to the user groups, then if they overlap it'll take whichever has a higher weight for the icon...

Admin's would always be #1, Mods #2, then the admin could assign weights for 3+ to other fields...

Good idea - but why not just show a drop down with images available to the user - therefore he could choose whichever icon he wishes and flick between them as he desired.