Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Lurker
Lurker
On my board, we a toying with the idea of a "special group" that would have enhanced permissions. As part of that, I was wondering how hard it would be to have a special little gif a la the "A" for admin and "M" for moderator.

I am not averse to do a little code hackery, but am a PHP n00b (C* and Java mostly)

Sponsored Links
Veteran
Veteran
Would be great.

One item we would like is a club flag for each member next to their name, depending upon which club their support.

So a very similar idea smile

Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Guru
Guru
This is something I'll be looking at for a future version to be in the stock code. The one stumbling block in my thought process on this is how to determine which flag to show if the member belongs to 2 groups and both have an image associated with it.

Say, I'm an admin and I'm also a member of Group A which has a gif associated with it. Do I display the admin gif or the Group A gif? One option is to display both, but that could get messy as some sites have users that belong to a large number of groups.

UBB.threads Developer
Lurker
Lurker
I guess for full support, you would have to have a way to mark a particular member's group as an "image group" and "there can only be one" (Highlander). Would be a PITA to support that DB constraint in code tho.

UBBDev / UBBWiki Owner
Time Lord
UBBDev / UBBWiki Owner
Time Lord
Rick, I have a sugguestion! Apply a weight field to the user groups, then if they overlap it'll take whichever has a higher weight for the icon...

Admin's would always be #1, Mods #2, then the admin could assign weights for 3+ to other fields...

UBB.Dev - Putting Dev into UBB.threads
Company: VNC Web Services - UBB.threads Scripts and Scripting, Install and Upgrade Services, Site and Server Maintenance.