Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2
P
POR Offline
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
P
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2
Great hack! Worked on the first attempt...

But I have a problem... I am not allowing Custom Titles for everyone. I want each moderator to have their own custom title, and their own unique stars. Can I manually add/hack this somewhere like in UBB5.x? Can someone help me here? TIA

Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 254
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 254
Quote
quote:
GREAT! because of this malfunction, I have had to delay my grand opening of my forum! frown
well, should be fixed within a month by my estimate!
(sorry feeling really grouchy about this problem, my final hack on the board and its the one that dont work)

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
M
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
M
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 4
When a member replies to a topic that a jr mem started and has a number over the jr member post limit, he only has a jr mem status. Is this similar to the3jams' problem?

eg. billy has 1 post and starts a topic (only 1 star showing. Good.).
jerimiah has 16 posts (1 post over the jr mem limit; therefore, should have 2 stars instead of 1 star showing. Bad.) and replies to billy's topic.

i'm using 6.03. VERSION: 4.53 of the hack.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 20
T
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 20
I think I got it to work. In the CP I made Member = Member Rank 1. Meaning simply gave them the same post value and rank name.

If this is what Dark Templar was refering to, then it wasnt very clear.

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
Quote
quote:
I keep saying this smile. Member status is ONLY for profile disply, it ABSOLUTELY WILL NOT affect post displays. That's it, I'm taking Member status out of that block of entries, putting it in a separate area to enter the info for, and specially labeling it "for profile ONLY".


-DT
Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 63
Y
Member
Offline
Member
Y
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 63
Dark T:
i found a little prob,
when you have the mega(super) mod installed, than it shows the super mods as "Junior Poster"

what do i have to change to fix that?

(btw nice hack)

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
I will be writing an addon to this hack for Mega Moderators as soon as I install mega mods on my forums. It will be a little while.


-DT
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 7
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Jul 2000
Posts: 7
So does this mod effect member ratings option.

I ran the old star hack one on my 5 board and cant wait to use this one.

If this has already been talked about please accept my apology.


Cryptik

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
no, this does not affect member ratings.


-DT
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 61
M
MZ Offline
Member
Offline
Member
M
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 61
Hi!

Nice Hack!!! Installed and worked fine. But 1 Question:

When a Member increases Jr. Member to Member it is not shown in the Threads but when he is reaching the next level (Sr. Member) then he is shown correctly as it.

My Ranks:
Newbie
Jr. Member 20
Member 70
Sr. Member 150
...

Any hints why that occurs?

Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 94
S
Member
Offline
Member
S
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 94
I think the cache is the problem!!!you chould turn it off...

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1
H
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
H
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1
Grizzle gruzzle, so what im getting from reading all of the previous is that you cannot use different more than one star at once (ex. you'd see just one star duplicated 6 times)?

I saw one board doing it wtih all different admin stars...but then again it was a 5.47 board.

-hackr

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 63
Y
Member
Offline
Member
Y
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 63
Yes on 5.4* versions it looked nicer
with the stars2000hack,
maybe it will be possible with this one to in the future!

Time will tell

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
MZ, I have answered that question so many times in this topic. Please, read this topic for the answer!!!


-DT
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 12
K
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
K
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 12
just want to confirm (pls answer me....... just yes or no)

newbie rank 1
jr member 0 title (show in profile only)
member 50 rank 2
member 1 100 rank 3
etc.

am i correct??
thanks a lot!!

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 32
T
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 32
any 1 made a Status hack like EasyWarez have to ubb6 ???? check EW forum COOL STATUS HACK

http://easywarez.com/cgi-bin/Ultimate.cgi?action=intro

laugh laugh laugh

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 38
E
Member
Offline
Member
E
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 38
This hack installed fine on my testboard, so I went and tired to install it on my main board and every thing is fine, the custom status works fine, the cp works fine. Just when somebody posts the stars don't show up. They have the space for them just no stars. I looked in the public_topic_page because I figured that is where my problem would be and everything seems to be fine. I even compared it to the one on my test board. I have uploaded and re-uploaded the stars and everything. Any ideas as to what could be wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Eliza

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
X
Member
Offline
Member
X
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
hey hey

i feel a little stupid, but im having a little problem with this hack

i have the mega moderator hack installed, so i had to edit this hack a little

Quote
quote:
I found what it told me too, and i seen that mine had the "Mega Moderator" part in it...so i replaced the whole segment, but added my "Mega Moderator" part into it...im not for sure if this had any effect on the results or not...

Quote
quote:
alright, i get confused there

so i skipped that and went to miscellaneous settings, and see that theres nothing to change...

i go ahead and hit "Update Miscellaneous Settings", and i get this huge error:

Quote
quote:
alright, this may seem like a stupid and little problem to most of you, but i just started on UBB's not that long ago, yet ive installed some long hacks...i dont know why im having problems with this one

i been having problems with the "who's online" also, but ill wait till that comes out on final modifications to ask about it

Heres info about my board:

Ultimate Bulletin Board 6.04a
http://tdhdesigns.hypermart.net/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

help is really appreciated, if you can help

thanks

..::|-Peace-|::..

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 335
Troca_King - u can do that with this hack, you just use different images.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
oki when this hack was in beta i asked this question, but nw i forgot how to do it again frown

DT. I want that Moderators stay moderators only in the forum they are moderartors off.

ps. can you include this as FAQ ? for peeps that want this feature?


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
Timothy:
Quote
quote:
No, its:

newbie rank 1
jr member 0 rank 2
member 50 (shows in profile only)
member 1 100 rank 3
etc.
xXDaRoadie- You DO need to change things in misc. settings...perhaps you did not modify and upload cp_vars_misc.pl to your templates directory?

Compboy- yes, I will document that as soon as i can; im in the middle of a big project right now, (may or may not be for ubb ;)), but ill try to get it out soon. most people want mods to show up as mods in all forums (helps to know if you are insulting staff or just members :D) so thats the way I packaged it. its actually quite simple, you just need to change a hash slice to a certain scalar.


-DT
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 11
C
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
C
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 11
Nice hack, i got it to work the first time i put it up.

However, you might want to note that you need to update member stat files and, i believe, also clear the cache before you can work it. I had some troubles with rankings until i did this, now it works great!

PS. Nice hack! smile

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
X
Member
Offline
Member
X
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
yay i got it to work, thanks dude

but when i go to edit the custom registration fields in the registration section...i still get this error:

Quote
quote:
Any ideas???

also, as dumb as this may seem, how do you add different stars in the admin box...

theres 7 different Administrator stars, but i can only enter one...*continues feeling dumb*

sorry for all of the questions, but im sorta lost :-/

(im running 6.04a board, at the url: http://tdhdesigns.hypermart.net/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi )

..::|-Peace-|::..

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
did you make sure the custom status field was custom field #4?

as for the different admin stars; I dont have it set to allow different admin stars yet. I just realized how to do it in a sweet array, so that will be done soon. smile (gotta love foreach loops ;))


-DT
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
X
Member
Offline
Member
X
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
hey hey

yeah, its in the 4th field:

[Linked Image]

then, after i submit it, i get this FYI:

[Linked Image]

*sigh*, maybe i entered the info wrong when i modified the file...but the thing is, i forgot which file it was (it sucks being new and learning how to do stuff)

have any suggestions dude...

but dont rush on the different admin stars...i might just edit the individual stars and make a GIF blinking bar for administrators...

well, if i can think of a good solution for a temp. admin bar, ill make it and post it

but no rush and thanks again

..::|-Peace-|::..

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
Quote
quote:
Thx will be looking into it. if i can't find the "scalar" i'll let you know. laugh


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
X
Member
Offline
Member
X
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 46
hey hey

nevermind, i found a solution...

..::|-Peace-|::..

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
xxdaroadie- allowhighbit is some other hack, or built into the UBB, none of the code in my hack messes with that file, or at least it shouldnt.

compboy- Did that addon you wanted. This addon makes mods show up as mods in ONLY the forums they moderate. I personally dont like this feature, and can't recommend this addon, but I provide it here. http://theultimagamers.hypermart.net/ubb6hacks/nomodsaddon.txt

I have also updated the normal directions to reflect this link, but not include the change. Happy coding!


-DT
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
R
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
R
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 8
I have the following problem when trying to install this hack on my UBB 6.0.

Quote
quote:
I installed the hack, then went to the control panel to modify the misc. But I forgot to add in custom to registration. However, I did that after I received the error message above. It still did no help. Please advice on what my next step should be in fixing this problem. I also have the avatar hack installed. Will that pose a problem?
Thank you in advance for your help.

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
C
Member
Offline
Member
C
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 67
Quote
quote:
Thx.
i forgot to tell you that i found it out by myself hehehe.. but Thanks again smile
it's a little diff. from what i did.
i only changed Userprofile[8] to user_status.


What Would UBB look like with out hacks?
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
ranklists- probably an installation error; redo the cp_lib.cgi modifying is the best I can recommend without knowing more about the problem.

compboy- that will work laugh


-DT
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 38
E
Member
Offline
Member
E
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 38
I'll ask again... Please Help!! Thanks!

"This hack installed fine on my testboard, so I went and tired to install it on my main board and every thing is fine, the custom status works fine, the cp works fine. Just when somebody posts the stars don't show up. They have the space for them just no stars. I looked in the public_topic_page because I figured that is where my problem would be and everything seems to be fine. I even compared it to the one on my test board. I have uploaded and re-uploaded the stars and everything. Any ideas as to what could be wrong? Any help is greatly appreciated."

Eliza

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
T
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
Hello all smile
Just tried too install this neat hack on my forum smile

UBB 6.05 Aftershock Edition.

I did all the stuff it said about putting in things in Pl files and one cgi file, I did many errors but after a while I fixed them and the forum loaded like it worked, but when I go into Misc for fixing it...I dont see the star and staus button, I hit update and it sayd I forgotten all the ranks...hmm but I dont see them. Otherwise the forum is ok smile

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
T
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
T
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 3
You did not complete all required fields.
You did not complete: MemberMinimum
You did not complete: AdminTitle
You did not complete: ModeratorTitle
You did not complete: MemberTitle
You did not complete: Member1Title
You did not complete: Member2Title
You did not complete: Member3Title
You did not complete: Member4Title
You did not complete: Member5Title
You did not complete: Member1Posts
You did not complete: Member2Posts
You did not complete: Member3Posts
You did not complete: Member4Posts
You did not complete: Member5Posts
You did not complete: JrMemberTitle
You did not complete: JrMemberPosts
You did not complete: NewbieTitle
You did not complete: NewbieStarNum
You did not complete: JrMemberStarNum
You did not complete: MemberStarNum
You did not complete: Member1StarNum
You did not complete: Member2StarNum
You did not complete: Member3StarNum
You did not complete: Member4StarNum
You did not complete: Member5StarNum
You did not complete: ModeratorStarNum
You did not complete: AdminStarNum
You did not complete: NewbieStarURL
You did not complete: JrMemberStarURL
You did not complete: MemberStarURL
You did not complete: Member1StarURL
You did not complete: Member2StarURL
You did not complete: Member3StarURL
You did not complete: Member4StarURL
You did not complete: Member5StarURL
You did not complete: ModeratorStarURL
You did not complete: AdminStarURL

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
This thing is wierd...i put in the rank 1 status at 20 posts to make the poster a trooper but he remains a civilian(junior member)...the only thing that is changed is the number of stars...plus there is nothig in the custom status...it doesn't apear under the persons name!
Please help me! (maybe sand me a mail ihradu@go.ro )
thank you!

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 180
D
Member
Offline
Member
D
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 180
Hi,

I installed the hack, but whenever I try to change anything in the misc menue, I get the message that I don´t have the permission to do that. What did I do wrong ?

Thanks
Dennis


Regards Dennis Bode
-----------------------------
Webmaster of Hardwareluxx.com
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
B
Member
Offline
Member
B
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 39
check the chmod for your uploaded files...
and then if it still doesn't work...check it again! smile

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 9
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 9
I'm using the stars hqack on my UBB6 board (the one that integrates into your CP). I'm having some kind of problem with it. I specified in the CP that anyone with 31-100 posts is called "Demon Bait." And from 101-500, your title changes to "Sunnydale High Student." For some reason, people are still keeping the demon bait title until they reach 500 posts. I'm looking at the CP, and everything appears right, but for some reason the board's not following what it says in the CP.

BTW, I reuploaded an old members directory (from a version of the board before the stars hack was added) after I added the stars hack. Could this be it?

[Linked Image]

[ May 18, 2001 07:04 PM: Message edited by: Lawless ]

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
D
Member
OP Offline
Member
D
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 793
Lawless...please..read...the...other..posts..in...this...therad...i...have...answered...your...question...before...millions...of...people...have...asked...it...already...


-DT
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 169
I
Member
Offline
Member
I
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 169
Dark Templar I installed this hack long time ago still have not got no errors good job man laugh


Some men live for others and make their presence known
Some men live in seclusion and choose to live alone...
Some men live for justice and walk inside the law
But of these men, the group I'm in
are the men behind the wall...
- Gato Suertudo
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
badfrog
badfrog
somewhere on the coast of Maine
Posts: 94
Joined: March 2007
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,557
Posts293,856
Members13,847
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2021 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20210915)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.031s Queries: 95 (0.010s) Memory: 0.9977 MB (Peak: 1.2003 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2021-12-06 15:13:02 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS