Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#142423 03/15/2002 12:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 497
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 497
error at this part in ultimatebb.cgi

[code][/code]works only if i delete this last line. can u help me ?

error:
######

Execution of /homepages/cgi-bin/bd2/ultimatebb.cgi aborted due to compilation errors

#####

Sponsored Links
#142424 03/15/2002 1:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Reinstall mod wordlets.

#142425 03/15/2002 3:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
ZIP/MHK files updated, I added 'Nickname Extension' part to the CP. It adds an extension to the nickname, so nicks shouldn't be 'reserved' anymore if you'll use this optional feature.

For example, if you'll use '-IP' as the extension and 'navaho' as the nickname, the nickname will be 'navaho-IP'. smile

#142426 03/15/2002 7:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 50
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 50
LK,

I had your chat hack on my old 6.05 and Ive just upgraded from 6.2.1

I left all the var files alone, didnt lose a thing. Excellent work.

I am now having the same trouble I had originally with access to the chat page however.

I would like to prevent any guest and/or member without posting privledges from accessing the chat room.

Thanks!
michael

#142427 03/15/2002 7:54 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 122
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 122
I got everything working ok. But whenever I try to connect to a server I always get an error that says USER * not enough parameters. Any ideas what I am doing wrong?


A wise man Confucious once say, "Man who stands on toilet, high on pot!"
Sponsored Links
#142428 03/16/2002 3:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Bizkit73,
I had the same problem.
I removed some of the parameters from ubb_chat.cgi that I wasn't using and it fired right up!
Here's what I took out.








Of course, your list may be different.
Bandit

#142429 03/16/2002 4:04 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Can you tell me if it works when you'll use the code I provided, but with:
Code
[/code]Instead of your:[code]
?

#142430 03/16/2002 4:23 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 34
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 34
LK,
I put the code back in with your correction and it gave me the "not enough parameters" error again.
It would probally work if the question were answered in the cp. I just didn't need them for my chat server. I think. wink
BTW, I took that code from a clean copy of ubb_chat. I didn't change it.
Bandit

#142431 03/18/2002 11:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
It seems to be working fine with one major problem.

All the buttons that affect channel mode act fine until I click the OK button. Then I get the following responce.

*** #%$C You're not on that channel

I checked the code against the board of have working with the old version and it reads.

OLD CODE
Code
[/code]NEW CODE
[code]
Both connect to the same server and channel, so it has to be a variable getting dropped somewhere, but I am not sure where to begin looking.

#142432 03/21/2002 5:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Excellent mod LK; I've always wanted a way to implement a fully-controllable IRC environment for my BB.

Is there a way to connect to the chat server through a proxy on a per-user basis? I work on a Naval Station and can't connect because I don't see a way to connect through our proxy. I can connect from home just fine. I see in the CP that I can input SOCKS4 information, but this would affect everyone's connection, and I don't believe we use SOCKS4 anyway.

Also, what is the field Hostname for in the CP?

Sponsored Links
#142433 03/21/2002 5:50 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LSGOLF, URL? the one in your homepage is 6.05
AKD, 1. Display Config Sock thing, I think; 2. no idea tipsy

#142434 03/21/2002 7:10 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
http:dynamic3.gamespy.com/~links/ubb6211/ultimatebb.cgi is the url to the test board that I am working with. I ended up hardcoding the channel (replacing the #%/$C with the actual channel name in the code.) I will revert it back to the original code if you want to diagnosethe problem, but it works this way, so I am happy.

#142435 03/21/2002 8:23 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Yes, revert back.

And it's , not / wink

#142436 03/21/2002 9:18 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Reverted Back

You can ICQ me (if you have it) at 784268 if you have questions.

#142437 03/21/2002 9:55 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,609
I found the answer to my own question....

I am befind firewall, can I connect to IRC servers outside ?
Currently, jIRC does not support proxy connection. It means that jIRC applet can only connect to IRC servers inside your local network if you are behind company's firewall.

Oh well. Looks like I can't use government time to test my chat room until they add proxy functionality! smile

#142438 03/21/2002 10:05 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LS, can you paste that /topic line from http://dynamic3.gamespy.com/~links/ubb6211/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=chat ? Only admins can see it...

Anyhow, I strongly suggest you to remove this rightclick block - you can always use the menubar and you can always remove javascript support from the browser with 1 click. But it's very annoying.

#142439 03/21/2002 12:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Not sure what you mean by

quote:
LS, can you paste that /topic line from http://dynamic3.gamespy.com/~links/ubb6211/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=chat ? Only admins can see it...
I switched to a different style then the one I was using to get rid of the right click block (we are going to need that because of link theft) for now.

If you want to test it out as an admin, sign up for an account and I will gladdy grant you admin rights.

#142440 03/22/2002 4:22 AM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 1
quote:
You do not have permission to access this area.

» Use your browser's back button to return.


I get this error when I try to enter the chat settings in the control panel. could anyone help me out?

#142441 03/22/2002 10:23 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
How do you add sounds to the chat room ?

#142442 03/23/2002 12:03 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
cupid, rehack cp.cgi
LSGOLF, 1. in the HTML source, find a line with '/topic' in it, and paste it here.
2. in noncgi directory, add sound_X.au to add /sound X.

In the future release I plan on adding a selectbox with all sounds.

#142443 03/23/2002 12:25 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
[code][/code]I add the sounds by the specs but they don't seem to play.

sound_test.au is in there, but it won't play. Is there some special properties like mono 8 bit or something needed

#142444 03/23/2002 12:32 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Make sure you're using AU format.

I meant from the HTML source, not the UBB source - enter ?ubb=chat and paste from there

BTW, (for everybody - not just ls), I fixed something in ubb_lib_files, please rehack it.

#142445 03/23/2002 12:43 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
quote:
Originally posted by LK:
Make sure you're using AU format.

I meant from the HTML source, not the UBB source - enter ?ubb=chat and paste from there

BTW, (for everybody - not just ls), I fixed something in ubb_lib_files, please rehack it.

LK i just redownloaded the files from your hack page but the zip is missing the instruction .txt tipsy

Is ubb_lib_files the only files that need to be update?

thx

Inka

#142446 03/23/2002 12:47 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Oops, try again now tipsy

Yes, only this file.

#142447 03/23/2002 12:56 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
thank you

will this update affect the IM hack ?

Ink-A

#142448 03/23/2002 1:52 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
If you have IM hack, don't hack this file. smile

ZIP file updated. Now it adds sound selectbox (optional). Rehack cp_lib.cgi and re-upload cp_vars_chat.pl, ubb_chat.cgi. Then enter chat settings and enable it.

#142449 03/23/2002 2:30 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 51
Thank you LK

I will do that smile

why i don't have to hack ubb_lib_files with IM hack?

what did you fix on it ?

thank you

Inka

#142450 03/23/2002 3:00 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
I mean don't hack CHAT MOD's ubb_lib_files tipsy

The only difference is that chat mod only reads your FIRST message, while IM can read all of them.

#142451 03/23/2002 3:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 116
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 116
Your not chatting on your own server right, so it doesn't need much data does it? I have a limited data traffic... frown

#142452 03/23/2002 3:20 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Right smile

#142453 03/23/2002 4:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Download again and re-upload ubb_chat.cgi, now the sound stuff uses a capital letter as the first letter smile (like 'Join' instead of 'join')

#142454 03/23/2002 8:02 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
[code][/code]From the html page.

#142455 03/23/2002 8:05 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
FYI, I moved the board into production. The new url is Links Corner

#142456 03/23/2002 8:10 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
As far as the sound stuff goes. They are all au files. I tried playing with case, and the ones that worked before work as lowercase or upper case. The ones that don't work don't seem to care about case, they still won't work.

#142457 03/23/2002 8:16 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Come on, if you don't want us to know you're using a cracked version you can hide the about button wink

Can you do the following in ubb_chat.cgi:
[code][/code]

#142458 03/23/2002 10:37 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
I bought it of a member about a year ago who said he was no longer using it and offered it to me for $ 25.00 He gave me the licence number to fill in and it worked so I thought all was kosher. I had no clue he had pirated it.

THNAK YOU for catching that. I registered it the second I read your post.

Resigtration Confirmation

If you see anything else there that is not licensed, let me know. I work with a number of large software companies as a consultant and don't want any of that **** on my sites.

#142459 03/23/2002 10:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
Just to let everybody know, a license key is special for any domain - nobody that says that stuff can actually do it legally.

#142460 03/23/2002 10:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Updated UBB_CHAT.CGI as per your request

#142461 03/23/2002 10:53 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
LK
Offline
Admin / Code Breaker
Admin / Code Breaker
Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 7,394
The topic thing works fine here smile

BTW, if you want to fix that public name problem, get member file stripper from www.ubbcentral.com

#142462 03/23/2002 11:54 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 51
Awesome, thanks for the fix to that, it is driving me nuts.

Still getting same No Channel Found here.

Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Ruben Rocha
Ruben Rocha
Lutz,FL,USA
Posts: 254
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)