Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
User
User
I get this error when trying to enter the admin section:

Parse error: parse error, expecting `','' or `';'' in /home/sweetle/public_html/wwwthreads/admin/login.php on line 33

line 33:
echo <<<EOF

Is this a PHP version problem? Currently using PHP 3.0.9

Sponsored Links
Guru
Guru
Yes, this seems to be related to the version of PHP. It seems the older 3.x versions of PHP do not support the <<

UBB.threads Developer
User
User
I'm using a virtual server that has the following PHP packages:

PHP 4.0.3pl1 is currently installed as a CGI binary, while PHP 3.0.9 is compiled into Apache. Below are the paths to PHP version 4.0.3pl1:

/usr/bin/php4

I assume the php for apache can be upgraded, so I sent in a request for that. Do not know how long this may take. So in the meantime, is there an easy way to include the php4 path in the config or main?

User
User
I'm new to all this, so if this sounds really whacked just let me know.

My virtual server is running PHP4 as a binary. So, from what I understand I'd have to change php extensions to cgi...

Would it be possible to change the config.inc.php to a cgi and add #!/usr/bin/php4 to the top. Then of course change the references to config in the appropriate files (main)?

I get the feeling from my provider that they are reluctant to upgrade the apache module to PHP4. They haven't said this straight out, but, just seems that way. Does anyone know why?

Journeyman
Journeyman
In the directory you installed the PHP package create a .htaccess file and in it put:

AddType application/x-httpd-cgi .php

Then add

#!/usr/bin/php4

to the top of each script except the include files. This will make the cgi version of PHP run the scripts.

Scream, heredoc is a pain and is only supported in PHP4. You'll probably get a ton of bug reports pertaining to it.