Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#215470 04/24/2002 11:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Okay I don't know if this is the proper forum to ask.

Remember I asked how ya did the changed to your forum that displays the graphics in the categories? You thought about writing up how ya did that. I think its a cool thing and would love to associate graphics in my forums.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Yep I remember. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

I'll see what I can put together for a "how to" instruction block. You will have to use phpmyadmin or just enter the sql commands from the admin section of UBBT to create and fill the field needed. I called it Bo_Topicon. The graphic sizes are not stored (they should be though, at some point) so that's hard coded in the ubbthreads.php script. They must all be the same size or just don't specify one in the image tag.

With some luck I'll put the instructions in a text file tomorrow or maybe friday night. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Cool can't wait to see.

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Why not just name the images after the board keyword and use that to get the image source? Then the only thing needed would be a image tag in the template looking something like this:
code:
<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left">


And just put it in the ubbthreads.tmpl right before the line with the forum description:
code:
{$forum[$c][$f]['Description']}



Then just create the pictures, put them in the image directory and name them after the board keyword and with the correct image extension.

In this way there is no need to change the database, it's just a matter of changing the template.

c0bra #215474 04/26/2002 1:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
LoL I was just thinking this exact same thing a momment ago. But, then I also thought what if a particular forum didn't have an associated image? That wouldn't look to good. One could probably look to see if the file existed or not before adding the image tag. Your idea is a good one though. Less impact on the database too. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Sponsored Links
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
whatever would work I guess cant wait to see the proper instructions for such a hack.

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Seems I didn't think it through. My suggestion was basicly a version of another hack I have where a include file is inserted on the first page of a forum (with some extra forum info) and I thought that since I didn't do a php include I wouldn't need to check if the file existed. But of course there would be a broken link if it isn't there. It is of course possible to have an image of size 1x1 with transparent background as well, but checking for it is probably better.
The following php code might work, though it hasn't been tested:
code:
if (is_readable("{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif")) {
$forumimagesize = getimagesize("$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif");
print "<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left" {$forumimagesize[3]}>";
}



In the template it should be enclosed with html comments like this: <!-- code here //UBBTREMARK -->
Possibly on every line, not sure about that since I haven't done so much template editing yet.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
In the "default" directory of your "templates" directory find the ubbthreads.tmpl file.

Change these lines:

<font class="forumtitle">
<a href="{$config['phpurl']}/postlist.php?Cat=$Cat&Board={$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}">
{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}
</a>
</font>


To this:

<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" />
<font class="forumtitle">
<a href="{$config['phpurl']}/postlist.php?Cat=$Cat&Board={$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}">
{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}
</a>
</font>



And then upload your board related images to your image directory. The board related images need to be named with the board's keyword. If you don't have a specific graphic to use with a board I sugges creating a 1 pixel transparent gif to be used so that there are no blanks displayed. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

This is the easiest way of doing this hack. Hope this makes it easier to understand.

PS I used the .gif extention in this example. You can change that to .jpg or what ever but it will need to remain the same for all boards.

c0bra #215478 04/26/2002 3:05 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Ack... I forgot the align="left"

Is getimagesize() ment for physical size or dimentions(sp?)?

But you have filled in most of the blanks. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
The getimagesize() is just to get the width and the height of the picture, it is not really necessary. But since I don't like how browsers behave when loading pictures that don't have the width and height set I like to have it set.

Sponsored Links
c0bra #215480 04/26/2002 9:32 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Oops, seems I messed up with the paths to the image directory. Here is the working code:
code:
if (is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif")) {
$forumimagesize = getimagesize("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif");
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left" {$forumimagesize[3]}>";
} else {
$forumimage = "";
}


c0bra #215481 04/26/2002 10:02 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I wasn't sure if this returned the entire width="" height="" string. Guess it does. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/] My php book mentions nothing of this function. Maybe it's time I bought a new book. LoL

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
http://www.php.net/documentation is your friend. =] I don't have a PHP book at all, I'm doing fine with the docs on their site.

Yes, getimagesize() returns an array with three elements, the first and second contains the width and the heigt, the third is an integer describing what type of image it is and the fourth is a string with width and height that can be used in the img-tag.

c0bra #215483 04/26/2002 11:09 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Thanks for the URL []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

I myself have to have a book sitting next to me when I'm playing. LoL just me. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Dave's code works fine. I did not try your gardner. I simply added the left align and a height and width tag in the img src and things display fine.

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Yeah, that should work just fine as long as all images are the same size and the dummyt gifs are in place.

c0bra #215486 04/27/2002 1:13 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Actually incorrect! []/forum/images/icons/grin.gif[/] The images don't have to be the same size. They do have to be square so as not to be distorted. The image is actually constrained to a size you specify with the height and width tags. Here is the code modified from what Dave posted above with the align and width height tags.

<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.jpg" height="64" width="64" align="left" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" />
<font class="forumtitle">
<a href="{$config['phpurl']}/postlist.php?Cat=$Cat&Board={$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}">
{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}
</a>
</font>

Now what would be really nice since I do not know how to create a transparent image would be that if no gif existed that it would default to board normal.

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Yeah, well, of course it will work with a hard coded width and height, but it won't work fine which was what I commented. IMHO it won't look good having a stretched and distorted image, as well as I don't like having no width and height attributes, but it still works without them.

If you want to have a transparent gif you can download this one.

Making it default to a board normal if no image esits requires some PHP-code, but it is easy to change my code example for that. The only thing you need to do is to insert the img tag for the image in the line:
$forumimage = "";

code:

if(is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif")) {
$forumimagesize = getimagesize("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif");
$forumimage = "<imgsrc="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left" {$forumimagesize[3]}>";
} else {
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/board.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left" width="35" height="35">";
}



In the example above I've named the default board image board.gif.

c0bra #215488 04/27/2002 4:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
where would your code go in place of?

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Just put the PHP code right below the line that looks like this:
code:
<!-- for($f=0;$f<$forumsize[$c];$f++) { //UBBTREMARK -->



so that it looks like this:
code:
<!-- for($f=0;$f<$forumsize[$c];$f++) { //UBBTREMARK -->
if(is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif")){
$forumimagesize =getimagesize("{$config['imagepath']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword
']}.gif");
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif\
"alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left"{$forumimagesize[3]}>";
} else {
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/board.gif" alt="{$forum[$c][$f
]['Title']}" align="left" width="35"height="35">";
}



And then put {$forumimage} where you put the image tag before, before the forum description.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Gardener's code is much better though. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

There is more to it but that's because it is doing what I would want it to do in that it checks to see if the image exists before displaying it. It also adds the correct width/height sizes too.

This eliminates the need for a transparrent .gif for boards with none and the graphic sizes can very.

It's a great hack. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Gardners code might be better if it worked []/forum/images/icons/wink.gif[/]

I get parse errors when doing exactly what he says to do in the template.

Your code works fine []/forum/images/icons/wink.gif[/]

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I'll take a look at the code to see why when I get a chance. Any thoughts Gardener? []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Or at least I hope so. =] Seems that I screwed up the lines in my last post, so here comes a new and improved version that should work.

In ubbthreads.tmpl, after this line:
code:
<!-- for($f=0;$f<$forumsize[$c];$f++) { //UBBTREMARK -->


Add the following:
code:

$fimage = "{$forum[$c][$f]['Keyword']}.gif";
if (!is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/$fimage")) {
if (is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/board.gif")) {
$fimage = "board.gif";
} else {
$fimage = "";
}
}
if ($fimage) {
$forumimagesize = getimagesize ("{$config['imagepath']}/$fimage");
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/{$fimage}" alt="{$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}" align="left" {$forumimagesize[3]} />";
} else {
$forumimage = "";
}



And change this line:
code:
{$forum[$c][$f]['Description']}


to this:
code:
{$forumimage}{$forum[$c][$f]['Description']}



This new version also checks for the size of the default picture board.gif and if neither the forum specific gif or the default one exists, no image tag is printed.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Now this one works well []/forum/images/icons/wink.gif[/]

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Phew, I can't screw it up every time... =] I actually followed my instructions after I had posted it to check that everything went OK and nothing got messed up when posting either.

Too bad I won't be using the hack myself though... There are so many boards on my forum that I think it will be too many pictures on the front page. I'll check with our designer to see what he thinks though.

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Veteran
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Does anyone have an example of this?

Ian


Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
yes, an example would be nice []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

This adds an image in the forum title/description area and not the category title area?

And does the image have to be the same for all forums? Can it be different based on keyword? And can it be a background image instead of an icon type image? []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
The image is inserted to the left of the forum description, even though it can be placed anywhere on the row of that forum if you want. It is just a matter of placing the "{$forumimage}" where the picture should go.

You can have a different image for every board, you just have to name them after the boards Keyword. This board would have an image called "integration.gif". If no image for the forum exists a default image "board.gif" is inserted instead, if it exists. This way you can have the same for all boards if you want to, as well.
If you want it to be a background image instead you could use the variable {$fimage} instead and place it in the background attribute of the table where you want it to show up.

I can't show you a working version of the hack right now, since my server has a little too much load at the moment. Maybe in an hour or two. In the meantime you can look at how it could look like at JustDaves test board: http://www.chattersonline.com/test/ubbthreads.php?Cat=
It's not the same hack, but it looks the same. =]

Maybe the default image could be based on the category name, to have a different default for each category? It's a quite easy fix for those who want's it I guess, just add another line setting the name of the default image right below the category loop.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
aaahhh... ok, so it's pretty versatile then, thanks. []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

I have a use for it I believe, works on a limited number of forums, but looks cool when done right []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 54
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 54
This is good hack!!

What needs to be altered in IIP 4.2 to get it to happen there? Like at chattersonline.

also if you put
code:
{$forumimage}
in front of {$forum[$c][$f]['Title']}
instaed of {$forum[$c][$f]['Description']}

the image becomes a link and picks up alt text

Last edited by dRiver; 04/30/2002 4:28 AM.
lanet #215502 04/30/2002 7:30 AM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I'll post the how to on adding this to IIP later today when I get home. Or, perhaps Gardener could get to it before then? []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]


Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Insert the following code at line 177:
code:

$fimage = "{$palKeyword}.gif";
if (!is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/$fimage")) {
if (is_readable("{$config['imagepath']}/board.gif")) {
$fimage = "board.gif";
} else {
$fimage = "";
}
}
if ($fimage) {
$forumimagesize = getimagesize ("{$config['imagepath']}/$fimage");
$forumimage = "<img src="{$config['images']}/{$fimage}" alt="{$palTitle}" align="right" {$forumimagesize[3]}/>";
} else {
$forumimage = "";
}



Then change line 181 to this:
code:
echo "
<TR>
<TD ALIGN=LEFT VALIGN=TOP CLASS="$phclass[$i]" COLSPAN=2>$anchor
<a href="{$config[phpurl]}/postlist.php?Board=$palKeyword">$palTitle</a></TD>
</TR>
<TR>
<TD ALIGN=LEFT VALIGN=TOP CLASS="$ptclass[$i]">
<TABLE WIDTH=100% BORDER=0 CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=2>
<TR>
<TD ALIGN=LEFT VALIGN=TOP WIDTH="100%" CLASS="$ptclass[$i]">{$forumimage}$userPic
<a href="{$config[phpurl]}/showflat.php?Board=$palKeyword&Number=$palNumber"><B>$palSubject</B></A>
$palStar$date$palUsername$attachment
<BR><BR>
$palBody$palPollInform
<P ALIGN=RIGHT>$NumReplies$readMore$makeReply$mailPost$printPost</P>
</TD>
</TR>
</TABLE>
";



It is the same as before, but with the $forumimage variable inserted and some added line breaks so that it won't get messed up in this post.

Last edited by Gardener; 04/30/2002 3:02 PM.
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Thanks for showing how to add it to IIP []/forum/images/icons/smile.gif[/]

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 147
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 147
P.S. Don't forget to mention that the file you are editing is the newspal.php.

Just so no one gets confused []/forum/images/icons/wink.gif[/]

Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Oops, sorry about that, it must have got lost when I edited the post, along with some comments in the beginning.

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Is it easy to implement this mod to IIP 5.3 ?

dlhanso #215508 02/16/2003 5:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
It works. Nothing has changed that much

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Thanks . I'll give it a try

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Bill B
Bill B
Issaquah, WA
Posts: 87
Joined: December 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240430)