Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
This addon will allow admins and moderators to view and move multiple threads from one forum to another. You will need to modify 2 scripts (menu.php and chooseforum.php) and upload them and the additional scripts contained in the attached zip file.

Enjoy.
Attachments
51512-multiplethreadsmove.zip (0 Bytes, 34 downloads)

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
is all I can say... will make an admin's job so much easier... (ok, I could say more )


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 157
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 157
As coolsome as it is (I dont know how you keep on guessing just what I need), I just have one question.

will this be available from the menu available to admin only or will the moderator menu also show this? I need the mods to do this too actually.


Yors Truly

Who? Me? Worry?
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
You can place a link to the script in the moderator menu area of the menu.php script located in your admin directory. The code needing to be added for moderators is almost the same as for the admin. I think I gave both examples in the test file?

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 218
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 218
Yes, you did and it works great Dave! Nice job as always.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Just added this one, thanks. The only thing it might need is a "checkall/uncheckall" box in the threads list


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 305
Allen, there should be a box at the bottom that says "Invert". That will check/uncheck all the boxes.


[:"red"]Lisa[/]
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Also, if you wanted to only keep say 2 out of the list from being checked you could check them and then invert then everything else but them 2 will be checked.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
aah. ok, thanks


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 796
MTO Offline
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Jan 2000
Posts: 796
Very cool, very useful.
One comment, would be nice if it displayed according to your showflat/threaded prefferences instead of forcing you into threaded.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I figured that since it moves threads and not individual posts there would be no reason to show threaded. But to do the showthreaded view it would be more involved as then it would basicly be postlist.php with some checkboxes allowing admins/moderators to move things.

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 157
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 157
For the umpteenth time, thanks dave! Just what I needed Works fine.


Yors Truly

Who? Me? Worry?
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
hehe was my pleasure. I enjoy creating this stuff. LoL

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 91
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 91
Is there any limit to the number of threads/posts that can be moved at once?

In other words, if I pick 5,000 threads, will it break?


-------------
Youuuuuuuuuuu Rang?
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I think I have it set at 50 per page display. Your going to change that to 5,000? sheesh! lol I forget howmany queries it uses but that's at least 5,000 queries shot at your server at once. It's up to you

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 91
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 91
Guess not

My reason for asking was I could see a need to move all threads from one board to another.


-------------
Youuuuuuuuuuu Rang?
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That could be done with this query:

UPDATE w3t_Posts
SET B_Board = 'newboardkeyword'
WHERE B_Board = 'oldboardkeyword'




But once done you wont be able to undo.

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Newbie
Newbie
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 18
Thank you Dave. It works perfectly.

Brent Mayes


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Bill B
Bill B
Issaquah, WA
Posts: 87
Joined: December 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240506)