Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
Newbie
Newbie
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
I want a different graphic to appear at the top left of each stylesheet used - is this possible - I cant remember where I set the forum logo to start with either?!


--------------
James
Sponsored Links
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
That 70's Guy
That 70's Guy
Offline
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Use images as backgrounds for a table or layer and then you can change them via .css

Also, I haven't tried this but I believe it should work, try putting a transparent gif where you want it and change the background of the gif to the image you want via .css (this may only work for newer browsers though)

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
"Use images as backgrounds for a table or layer"

How can we do this ?

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Examine our css https://www.ubbdev.com/threads/php/stylesheets/infopop.css toward the bottom and you'll see what he means - the background-image url{etc stuff Ask again if that's not clear enough


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
The doctor said not to think very much , its dangerous



I looked the css file but I haven't found where to put the logo.gif in the upper left like here

Sponsored Links
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Give that section of your site it's own class, something like :

.logo {
background-image: url(http://www.urlto.com/images/logo.gif);
padding: 0px;
height: imageheightpx;
width: imagewidthpx;
}


Then the section with the logo would have:

<td class="logo">  </td>


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Then the section with the logo would have:

<td class="logo">  </td>

You mean that I have to input this in a template file ?
Could you be more specific?

Thanks

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
That would go in your header file if you have your logo up top.


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
Journeyman
Journeyman
Offline
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 116
You mean the Generic header or the ubbt_header.tmpl ?

I put what you told me in both files but no logo appeared. Yes I want it in the upper left corner

Thanks

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Hi, I'm trying to do this too. I have everything coded like Allen said, but I'm not seeing the graphic when choosing the style I wrote it for....Interestingly enough, the graphic is being found, cause it's in my cache - I just can't see it loading any where.....
(I'd also like it to be in the top left corner...)

Any ideas??

-peter

Sponsored Links
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
I'm still working with this.....

So far, I've got <td class="logo">  </td> inserted in the top of the generic header.

Then, I have the following in the CSS file.

.logo {
background-image: url(http:URLTOGRAPHIC);
padding: 0px;
height: 300;
width: 56;
}


It's still not showing up, but I am able to see the graphic file in my temporary internet files.....How weird! Anyone have any clues or general direction for this...

-peter


Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
With CSS the only images that you can load into a table cell are background images, and a background image in a table cell will:

1) Tile if the image is smaller than the table cell that it is in.

2) Get cut off if it is larger than the table cell that it is in.

My guess (since you didn't include the html you used for the table your logo is in) is that the cell that contains you logo is getting "crushed" and that's why you can't see it.

What I did for my site was to create a transparent gif file with the same dimensions as my logo, set the transparent gif as the foreground image in the cell, and then use CSS to define a background image for the same cell. The column next to my logo is set to a width of 100% so that the cell that has the transparent gif is no larger than the transparent gif itself. Then I made different logos for each style sheet on my site and added a "logo" class to all of my style sheets to load the appropriate background image.

View source on my site to see what I mean

Edited cause I need a lot more coffee...

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
You're genius! I've got it!

Thank you so much!

-peter

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Not a genius Just been there, done that, messed up my web site, went back to the drawing board

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Haha....Regardless, thank you muchly...

One last question, is there a way I can get the graphic to align with the board and everything else on the page? Right now, it's just a tad to the left of it all....

-peter

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
I got it! I answered my own question! Took a while, but boy does it feel good. lol



-peter

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,268
[]I got it! I answered my own question! Took a while, but boy does it feel good. lol



-peter [/]


Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
Hi
I want to make 3 different logos for 3 stylesheets.I tried to follow the steps you have written but I get no logo at all

Could you tell me what I'm doing wrong? Give me an example of generic header

Thanks

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
If your trying to define a class for a logo there are many options availabe. I would research CSS image variables to option the look and feel you want but you can start with this basic class and define from there.

.logo {
background: ;
color: ;
height: ;
width: ;
background-image: url (http://www.yoursite.com/someimage.png);

They posted this above. so use this in your stylesheets and define all the variables here and the image path

your header would look something like this

<table class="tableborders">
<tr class="tdheaders">
<td class="logo">
Other header stuff here
</td>
</tr>
</table>

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
Thank you very much . At last I did it :-)

One last question
How can I make the logo clickable as it was ,so when I press it ,to go in the main page of the forum?

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
something like this would work

<td class="logo"><a href="http://www.reeftalk.com" class="logo"></a></td>

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
I tried it but nothing happened
Any ideas?

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Go ahead and look at that line again. Lets disect it.

<td class="logo"><a href="http://www.yoursite.com" class="logo"></a></td>

what did you call your logo tag in your CSS file? place that were I have logo in the class call if it is indeed not logo.

Then edit the path you want to click to where the <a href=" is at.

It works!

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45
User
User
Offline
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 45

Sorry for bothering you . It works just fine

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
No bother at all. Is this not why we all post here to get help and learn.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Okay.... Having some technical difficulties! Yes, I got this working eons ago, however, I neglected something....some users with Netscape Nav 4.7 get a blank page. I've checked, and it's clearly what I've added....

Anyone have a solution?

This is what I've added to the generic header:

Code
 <td width="100%"><br /><table width="100%" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><br /><td><br /><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><br /><tr><br /><td width="03%"><td class="logo-left"><br /><img src="http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/clear.gif"><br /></td><br /><br /><td class="logo"><br /><img src="http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/spacer.gif" width="40" height="56"></td><br /> 


And then in the stylesheets:

Code
.logo-left {<br />  padding: 0px;<br />  height: 56px;<br />  width: 300px;<br />background: url('http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/freereinsm.jpg');<br />}  <br />.logo {<br />  height: 56px;<br />  background:  url('http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/spacer.gif');<br /><br />}<br /><br /> 



The new netscape 7.0 works just fine.... Is there something else I need to add/remove to make it work with Nav 4.7?

-peter

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
Member
Member
Offline
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
if this is in the generic header section try this

<table width="100%" align="center" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0"><tr><td><table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%"><tr><td width="03%"><td class="logo-left"><img src="http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/clear.gif"></td><td class="logo"><img src="http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/images/spacer.gif" width="40" height="56"></td>
</tr></table>

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Support for CSS (Stylesheets) in Netscape 4.7x is spotty at best. It just is too old to fully support the latest technologies.

I know that 4.7 doesn't accept the "blockquote" class in threads (which is used for the quote box), and some users complain that the menu bar comes and goes.

The message composition window also doesn't wrap and 4.7 users usually have to hit enter at the end of each line.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Yeah, I knew that Josh.

Omega - it partially worked. The graphic doesn't show up, and it looks crappy - but, the board loads. And that is all I care about! lol. So thank you muchly!

If they want it to look good, they can upgrade their browsers...

Thanks,
peter

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Grrr!! So many damn possibilities. So, it does NOT work on Macs Netscape Navigator 4.79 and lower....

Josh you use Mac, right? Is there anything else I could do?

I'm assuming it's the different image per style sheet that's causing this... I removed the fader, WOL box, and everything else I've added to the main page. This is all that's left.....

I guess I could go back to the one regular image though....Any thoughts from Mac people?

-peter

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I can't think of anything else off hand that would work.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
So, shall I assume that no one else has gotten this to work for NN 4.79 and less, with Mac?

Sad, sad day. Macs should burn! j/k

-peter

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Netscape 4.7x doesn't work on the PC either. This isn't a mac issue.

Netscape 4.7 is basically incompatible with threads because of it's spotty support for CSS... and threads uses CSS heavily.

All of my user issues were with PC Netscape 4.76.

Most websites today note that they require version 5 browsers or higher.

You might go over to Infopop Community forums and do a search for "Netscape 4.7". There have been numerous issues and lots of things suggested along the way. It's a very common issue. Maybe something that Rick or others suggested there might help your issue.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Josh, thanks, I'll go look at this.

Weird though, I grabbed a 4.08 NN for my PC, and the board works perfectly, just without the graphic..... Very weird!

Thanks again

-Peter

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
There were varous suggestions.. mostly removing bits from the stylesheets. Blockquote is the only one I can remember. But ya never know, you migth try some of them and see if somethign fixes it.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
It's working now:) Something fixed it, though I'm not sure what. lol.

Anyway, muchas gracias!

-peter


Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Gizmo
Gizmo
Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 5,833
Joined: January 2000
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20221218)