Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rating: 5
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Users at one of my forums... report that the site is faster for them after they use the cookie utility.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 15
F
Newbie
Offline
Newbie
F
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 15
could this problem I am experiencing be related to the custom cookie prefix?
Best Wishes,
Charlie

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
It shouldn't. I have used this with several different cookie prefixes at the same time and it cleared them all. When the cookie names/values are displayed are the names correct? Those are the exact names that get expired. If I could get ftp access to your site I could test a couple ideas I have but honestly I can't see why it's not working at this point...

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
Get Linux... LoL no j/k (well not really but don't want to get into any debates) LoL

Anyhow... If your running your site from a windows machine would you mind installing this cookie script and letting me know if it works? Thanks for any input/help you can give.

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
Didn't I see where somebody put a link into the login screen? Can't seem to find that thread on the hack to place the link. Love this tool.. but want to make it easier for them to find.

Sponsored Links
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I added a link into the generic error message. My "how to" and advice is here.

That helped alot.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
This is a MUST HAVE.

If you want to see a demo... it's installed here at threadsdev.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
I think I found a failure in this hack.

Line:
$ubbt_language = ${$config['cookieprefix']."w3t_language"};
seems to be wrong cause w3t_language is only the tables name if you did not change the preffix.

I am using cf as prefix therefore my table is called: cf_languages.

Check out http://www.clanforums.com/mycookies.php for the (I think wrong) output. Can you please check if I am right and then please correct it?

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
No, it's not an error. That's the way it's supposed to be. Also, your link 404's.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
[]JustDave said:
No, it's not an error. That's the way it's supposed to be. Also, your link 404's. [/]

Sorry the link is:
http://www.clanforums.com/ubbthreads/mycookies.php

Can you take a look again?

Sponsored Links
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
The script is correct. No need to look but I did. I don't have any cookies so there were none displayed.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
The output is for me (for example!)

Cookie Name:
cfw3t_language

Cookie Value:
English

I am wondering why is cfw3t_language cause it should be cf_language. I thought the line I posted here before is the problem. What do you think?

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
This is correct:

cfw3t_language


This is not correct:

cf_language



The line of code you posted is correct. There is no error.

I think there is no problem here.

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
O
Member
Offline
Member
O
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 3,266
I too get no error's when visiting site. I of course have no cookies.

So I signed up and tried it out. It expires my cookie fine and of course I am logged out.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Yeah the cookies always have the prefix of w3t_ the cookie prefix is differen than the database table prefix.

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Then everything is right and working for me

Only wondered about this w3t_

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
E
Newbie
Offline
Newbie
E
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
Is it possible to get this great utillity to work on a 6.1 UBBThreads forum?

When i tested i got
Code
 <br />Fatal error: Call to undefined function: get_input() in /<path to my installation>/ubbthreads/mycookies.php on line 37<br /><br /> 



"Do not meddle in the affairs of sysadmins, for they can make your life miserable by doing nothing." <img src="/threads/php/images/graemlins/wink.gif" alt="" /> Unknown
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I think this will work for you.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I may be wrong but in 6.1 the globals were artificially registered by .threads so you may be able to just comment out the get_input line and have it work.

Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
E
Newbie
Offline
Newbie
E
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
Comment out the whole line?
Code
// $doExpire = get_input("doExpire","post"); 

Or just remove get_input ?

Update..tested, does not seem to work but JoshPet found one that works for me
So it might come to use when we upgrade our forum

Last edited by Erik_Rana; 02/17/2003 7:18 PM.

"Do not meddle in the affairs of sysadmins, for they can make your life miserable by doing nothing." <img src="/threads/php/images/graemlins/wink.gif" alt="" /> Unknown
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
E
Newbie
Offline
Newbie
E
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 15
Yes
Thanks!


"Do not meddle in the affairs of sysadmins, for they can make your life miserable by doing nothing." <img src="/threads/php/images/graemlins/wink.gif" alt="" /> Unknown
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I'm glad Josh found the older version. I wasn't sure if it was around here or not. It's good to hear it's working for you.

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 160
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 160
I have an embarrassingly newbish question to ask here . . . I've installed this mod, and everything seems to function as it should. However, I'm a bit lost (I have NO doubt whatsoever that if/when this is answered, and I see it, I'll go "Oh, duh, of course, it's so obvious" and feel like a heel) as to where a good place to make this file accessible to users/linked would be, and what code in which (template?) file(s) to use for there to be a ready link to it outside of an actual post.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
I placed a link to it in the footer here. (ubbt_footer.tmpl)

You could also place it in the FAQ section or as a link in a sticky post of a "help" forum. It could also be added to the navigation bar (ubbt_registerednav.tmpl, ubbt_unregisterednav.tmpl).

Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 160
Z
Member
Offline
Member
Z
Joined: Jun 2002
Posts: 160
[] I placed a link to it in the footer here. (ubbt_footer.tmpl) [/]
Ahh, that works. Very convenient and almost sneaky, I didn't even notice it down there until my attention was directed to it.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
he he.....
it probable didn't appear until you asked.

But I like it!

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
LoL actually it's been there since Sunday.

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
LOL
Maybe I don't spend enough time here to notice.

Good place to put it.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
If anyone wants it, I created this []http://www.ourfreerein.com/ubbthreads/cookiess.gif[/]

I placed this right above the footer and below the Main Configuration part in the MY HOME section. This is where I noticed my users usually get stuck when their cookies go bad.

I can attach the code with the graphics if wanted.


-peter


(Just noticed my typo in there too!lol!)

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
J
Member
Offline
Member
J
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 218
Yepp this is looking nice. Post the info how you did it here, I am sure that someone might find it useful

sjsaunders #232544 02/28/2003 9:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 338
S
Enthusiast
Offline
Enthusiast
S
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 338
Warning: Unable to access /home/virtual/ubbdev.com/var/www/html/threads/php/languages/english/mycookies.lang.php in /home/virtual/site2/fst/var/www/html/threads/php/mycookies.php on line 30

Dawg_dup1 #232545 02/28/2003 10:23 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Make sure the language file is readable and that it exists.

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
A
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
A
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 362
In myhome.tmpl find

Code
 <br /> <br />UBBTPRINT; <br /> <br />/* UBBTREMARK */ ?> <br /> 



Above that ADD:
Code
 <br><br> <br />$tbopen <br /><td class="lighttable"> <br /><img align="middle" src="{$config['images']}/utilities.gif" alt="!" /> <br />Are you stuck?  Is something not working?  Use this utility! A quick fix for most problems! <br />(You'll have to re-login though.) <br /></td><td class="lighttable" align="center"> <br /> <img align="middle" src="{$config['images']}/utilities.gif" alt="{$ubbt_lang['EDIT_TEXT']}" /> <br /> <a href="{$config['phpurl']}/cookiepal.php"> <br />Fix! <br /></a> <br /></td> <br /></tr> <br />$tbclose 


You should place the utilities.gif file in the images folder, and place the cookie utility file
in your main folder of threads, with ubbthreads.php.

The image I used is attached.


Attached Images
71314-utilities.gif (0 Bytes, 111 downloads)
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 64
J
Power User
Offline
Power User
J
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 64
I installed the My Cookies script and it seems to work fine except this error shows up over the cookie description:

Warning: urldecode() expects parameter 1 to be string, array given in /home/www/thebuzznyc/members/ubbthreads/mycookies.php on line 53

Any ideas?

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
S
Junior Member
Offline
Junior Member
S
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 674
I added the cookies link similar to what is on this site. used the board rules mod as my instructions. I had to change the language file too.

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
In the mycookies.php file there is a line at the bottom of the file that looks like this (or close to it):

header("Location: {$config['phpurl']}/mycookies.php?Cat=$Cat");


Change that line to this:


header("Refresh: 0; URL=/mycookies.php?Cat=$Cat");




This should work on a windows box too now.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
would that require the mycookies.php file to be in the root directory?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
J
That 70's Guy
OP Offline
That 70's Guy
J
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,273
The machine I tested it on wouldn't work if I used

header("Refresh: 0; URL={$config['phpurl']}/mycookies.php?Cat=$Cat");

but that may be because things are sort of "not right" on that machine. (not my doing, btw) lol

I have added this type of redirect to the shoutbox scripts using the {$config['phpurl']} and did not have any problems so I would recommend adding it in. I'm actually not sure if it would work otherwise on a machine that "is right"... lol

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,471
A
Addict
Offline
Addict
A
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,471
header("Location: {$config['phpurl']}/mycookies.php?Cat=$Cat");

should work on all machines if their is no output before that statement.
"Location" is part of the http protocol and should work with all standard browsers. Make sure you use a absolute URI as the target. Relative URI will work on most browsers but the RFC specifies that it has to be an absolute one.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
Offline
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
hmm.. maybe removing the / would work, since the file should be in the same directory? Idda know, just lookin, I need to install it and try it out


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Bill B
Bill B
Issaquah, WA
Posts: 87
Joined: December 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,558
Posts293,857
Members13,848
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,819
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 70
Gizmo 16
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2022 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Snapshot build 20220120)
Responsive Width:

PHP: 7.3.29 Page Time: 0.076s Queries: 97 (0.041s) Memory: 1.0030 MB (Peak: 1.2256 MB) Data Comp: Zlib Server Time: 2022-01-27 05:14:06 UTC
Valid HTML 5 and Valid CSS