Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Daine #242915 04/28/2003 8:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Possibly it's a bug in his cache, tho maybe the changes he made to the $date can be added to the base code so it's even snappier?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Sponsored Links
Daine #242916 04/28/2003 8:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
How many forums do you have? I have 18 in 5 sections. I get 40 queries just for the page (Threads only).

gailg #242917 04/28/2003 8:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Well, here's what I do (explained somewhere else).

I set all my cache timeouts to 20 minutes. Then in sidebar.php I manually check for 10 minutes to have passed. If it has, then it sets $LastCacheTime to 0 (which forces a rebuild of the cache). At the end of the script (before the UPDATE), if the LastCacheTime is NOT 0 - then I set the Ca_TimeStamp to LastCacheTime. These few lines have the effect of forcing Ca_TimeStamp to only update when the 10 minute timeout has been passed. As, for the PALS, they wont update unless the 10 minute timeout was tripped (by being set to 0) or if the 20 minutes has passed.

gailg #242918 04/28/2003 8:23 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
36 forums when I'm logged in and part of the "group" that sees everything.

I run the who's online on every page, which I know wastes some queries. I run my banner ad mod at the top and bottom, which blows queries. The birthday mod adds several queries as well.
I'm not caching any of it, so my profile etc... updates with every page load. And I'm running the photopost pal box with a random photo in the sidebar.

Generated in 3.868 seconds in which 3.488 seconds were spent on a total of 85 queries. Zlib compression enabled.

A postlist page is much better:
Generated in 1.151 seconds in which 0.818 seconds were spent on a total of 28 queries. Zlib compression enabled.

Although it's a little light right now. Only 42 people online. I've had as many as 100.


Here at thradsdev, we've got 24 forums on the main index:
Generated in 0.168 seconds in which 0.11 seconds were spent on a total of 26 queries. Zlib compression enabled.


gailg #242919 04/28/2003 8:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Well, it became pretty obvious when I opened newuserpal.php - there is no caching for New Users! This box gets done every call; thats whats causing the longer lags....

Sponsored Links
gailg #242920 04/28/2003 8:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Ah.... I'm not using that pal.

gailg #242921 04/28/2003 8:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
I forgot to mention, I have about 40,000 users which probably slows this query down:

SELECT U_Username,U_Registered,U_Picture,U_PicWidth,U_PicHeight,U_Number
FROM {$config['tbprefix']}Users
WHERE U_Approved = 'yes'
ORDER BY U_Number DESC LIMIT 0,1

gailg #242922 04/28/2003 8:30 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Oy... yeah, that would defaintely slow it down.


Daine #242923 04/28/2003 9:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Is this different from the IIP version (that shows up on index pages)?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
No... I think it's all the same stuff.

Sponsored Links
Daine #242925 04/28/2003 9:33 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Its the same, just uses the sidebarpal.php to make them show up in a sidebar.

My w3t_Users table needed optomizing as well. But I think I'll leave the new user off anyways.

gailg #242926 04/28/2003 9:38 PM
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
hmmm.. this would explain IIP's speed drain on bigger sites then... possible to get it written to cache?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Well, IIP by itself has a problem with its cache - unless nobody hits on the page for the period of timeout, the cache never updates (this is because the Ca_TimeStamp is updated on each page load with the current time). If your timeout are 15 minutes - then as long as nobody goes to the page for 15 minutes, it will refresh.

The page load which reloads the cache can be pretty cumbersome; but some of the PALs appear to not cache information (like the New User PAL).

With my setup that one query was taking a long time - maybe optomization would help a little - and resulted in 30+ second load times with more than 100 users on the site.

My "workaround" for the cache seems to work okay for me - might have to increase the times from 10 to 20 minutes to help a little. Otherwise, on busy sites, you have to set your cache to 0 (which forces a new load everytime) to get updated material.

gailg #242928 04/29/2003 4:18 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Keep in mind that sidebars also duplicate some of the calls made in ubbthreads.php - such as "newest user" and "who's online". By having the sidebar on your main index page, you are basically doing each of these queries twice - so I commented out the queries from the ubbthreads.php and then took out the Extra Information lines.

Probably the proper thing to do is check to see if a user has the sidebars turned off; but thats something for another day.


gailg #242929 04/30/2003 7:57 AM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Another thing I noticed about SideBar - it reinits the Globals (already done in ubbthreads.php) and also reautheticates the user - would it be better to make the query directly to avoid the overhead of doing an authentication?

(I noticed that first visit I get a cookie error - on the session cookie - because SideBars cannot create cookies at that time.)

gailg #242930 04/30/2003 8:09 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
The globals issue was mentioned above in this post.

Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Mar 2000
Posts: 21,079
Likes: 3
Would removing that section of code fix the problem? It sounds extraneous anyway, eh?


- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
[]Warning: Cannot add header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/sites/viperalley/web/templates/default/ubbt_header.tmpl:17) in /home/sites/viperalley/web/ubbt.inc.php on line 1871[/]

Anyone else getting this message using the SideBars? Happens like on the first visit, but goes away when I hit refresh.

gailg #242933 05/01/2003 10:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 64
Power User
Power User
Offline
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 64
Yes i have this same

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
Hacker
Hacker
Offline
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 950
I think its because we are calling authenticate a second time; I've been trying to do just a query; but havent been able to get it to work yet.

gailg #242935 05/02/2003 9:14 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Hmmmm....

Haven't seen that.

In theory though we might not need to call authenticate again. The user should already be authenticated if the bar is on the right.

I need to play with adding a call that if the bar is configured on the right, then it skips the authenticate call.


gailg #242936 05/05/2003 2:56 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Thanks, this seems to work properly for both the IIP (index.php) and the IIP sidebar (pals/sidebarpal.php).

For the benefit of others reading this:

The only restriction is that the forced update interval (600 seconds, in extremebikini's post) should not exceed the cache update interval for any individual pal. Otherwise, that pal would update on each page refresh that occurred between its cache update interval and the forced update interval.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
User
User
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
Trying to install this on 6.2.3... Ran into a problem with the instructions for editdisplay.php.

This does not exist:

Code
<br />### Change this:<br /><br />   if (!$Display){<br />      $html -> not_right("{$ubbt_lang['NO_PROF']} '$Username'",$Cat);<br />   }<br />


Paul Fries
Systems Administrator
CWIE LLC
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Well it's a mod written for 6.3 so install it under 6.2 at your own risk. It'll work in 6.2, but the instructions are for 6.3. I just didn't want to retro-write the instructions.

You can try inserting the code from that part of the instructions below the little section that begins:

// Find out if they already have a display preference

I think that'll work.

Daine #242939 05/06/2003 11:28 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
User
User
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
Cool. Thanks Josh!.


Paul Fries
Systems Administrator
CWIE LLC
Daine #242940 05/06/2003 3:36 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
User
User
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 30
Just FYI, that worked great.

Also there is no w3t_Users.U_Banned in 6.2.3, so I just left that out of the SELECT statement in ubbt.inc.php.


Paul Fries
Systems Administrator
CWIE LLC
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Glad it worked for you. Right.. U_Banned is new in 6.3. Thanks for the tip.

Daine #242942 05/06/2003 8:34 PM
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
Addict
Addict
Joined: May 1999
Posts: 1,715
It is? Great, I needed that for a small change I wanted to make. Maybe I should try to get 6.3 installed, but since I haven't installed 6.2.x yet it might take a while. =]

c0bra #242943 05/12/2003 1:57 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 474
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 474
Got it up and running, curious, I can't see it when not logged in. Did I do something wrong? I like how this site allows for log in via the sidebar but ON my site it doesn't show up.

Sugguestions?

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
The setting in the theme file should apply to users who aren't logged in.

Daine #242945 05/15/2003 11:38 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 21
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 21
I made the changes to the files and get the following:

../threads/index.php:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected ';', expecting T_OLD_FUNCTION or T_FUNCTION or T_VAR or '}' in /home/domain/public_html/threads/ubbt.inc.php on line 1967

../threads/ubbthreads.php:
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: getmicrotime() in /home/domain/public_html/threads/main.inc.php on line 16
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/domain/public_html/threads/ubbt.inc.php on line 1760

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: getmicrotime() in /home/domain/public_html/threads/main.inc.php on line 16

Not sure if I missed a step?

Thanks

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I'd double check the steps again - that usually means you're either short a } or { or have an extra one somewhere in ubbt.inc.php file.

Might want to check the copy / paste steps in ubbt.inc.php.

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 21
Junior Member
Junior Member
Offline
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 21
Found the problem in the ubbt.inc.php file.

Have a question about the instructions for changing the editdisplay.php file. The actual select statement in the original file has the following statement with the U_Username, U-Bio at the beginning:

SELECT U_Username,U_Bio,U_Sort,U_Display,U_View,U_PostsPer,U_TextCols,U_TextRows,U_StyleSheet,U_Preview,U_PictureView,U_PicturePosts,U_Language,U_FlatPosts,U_TimeOffset,U_FrontPage,U_ActiveThread,U_StartPage,U_ShowSigs

The the change to be made listed in the instructions does not have those 2 variables:

### Change this:
SELECT U_Sort,U_Display,U_View,U_PostsPer,U_TextCols,U_TextRows,U_StyleSheet,U_Preview,U_PictureView,U_PicturePosts,U_Language,U_FlatPosts,U_TimeOffset,U_FrontPage,U_ActiveThread,U_StartPage,U_ShowSigs

### to this:

SELECT U_Sort,U_Display,U_View,U_PostsPer,U_TextCols,U_TextRows,U_StyleSheet,U_Preview,U_PictureView,U_PicturePosts,U_Language,U_FlatPosts,U_TimeOffset,U_FrontPage,U_ActiveThread,U_StartPage,U_ShowSigs,U_SideBar


Also the list statment does not have the $CheckUser and $Bio variables:

### Change this:

list($Sort,$Display,$View,$PostsPer,$TextCols,$TextRows,$StyleSheet,$Preview,$PictureView,$PicturePost,$chosenlanguage,$FlatPosts,$TimeOffset,$FrontPage,$activethreads,$startpage,$sigview) = $dbh -> fetch_array($sth);

### to this:

list($Sort,$Display,$View,$PostsPer,$TextCols,$TextRows,$StyleSheet,$Preview,$PictureView,$PicturePost,$chosenlanguage,$FlatPosts,$TimeOffset,$FrontPage,$activethreads,$startpage,$sigview,$showsidebar) = $dbh -> fetch_array($sth);

Should the first 2 variables be used after the change?

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
The objective is to add U_SideBar to the SELECT, and $showsidebar to the list(). The actual position doesn't matter, as long as it's the same corresponding position in the two places.

joeuser #242949 05/17/2003 12:57 AM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 10,369
Yeah - 6.2 had the "U_Bio" field at the front - which wasn't being used.
The instructions here are for 6.3. But Dave's got thr right idea. Add the sidebar stuff to the end.

Even pasting the current code shouldn't break it - as U_Bio isn't used in editdisplay. It was removed to "clean up" stuff in 6.3.


Daine #242950 05/17/2003 12:46 PM
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Veteran
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Just installed this on our test site - and all looks great except in 'my home' the 'post remnders', 'favourite threads', and 'main configuration' boxes are being displayed beneath the sidebar, when it is set to the left.

If the sidebar is set to the right, the page displays fine.

I can't find any errors. I am running 6.3b4, using the stock IP supplied themes.



Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Veteran
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Strange the featured member pal, does not display either - shows up fine in the index page, but not on the side - it is also selected as item 3 in the config. Strange.


Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Veteran
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Okay in sidebar_leftopen.tmpl - it causes ubbthreads.php to be centred from top to bottom in Opera. Displays fine in IE.

Changing <td align="center" valign="top"> to <td valign="top"> eliminates this problem.

Still trying to track down the other issues, which is affecting 6.3b4

Beginning to wonder if it is my header/footer causing the problems....

..... goes off to investigate them


Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
Veteran
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,286
.... comes running back

Wasn't my header or footer

Excuse me whilst I talk to myself here


Fans Focus - Focusing on Fans of Sport

(Okay - mainly football (the British variety wink at the moment - but expanding all the time....)
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Addict
Addict
Offline
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,768
Hmmmm, I'm using the sidebar with 6.3b4, and I don't have that centering problem. But I've only checked it in IE and Mozilla.

Featured (spotlight?) member pal: Is that the same problem mentioned in a couple of other threads, where that box sometimes doesn't display because of a bug in that pal?

Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Link Copied to Clipboard
Donate Today!
Donate via PayPal

Donate to UBBDev today to help aid in Operational, Server and Script Maintenance, and Development costs.

Please also see our parent organization VNC Web Services if you're in the need of a new UBB.threads Install or Upgrade, Site/Server Migrations, or Security and Coding Services.
Recommended Hosts
We have personally worked with and recommend the following Web Hosts:
Stable Host
bluehost
InterServer
Visit us on Facebook
Member Spotlight
Nettomo
Nettomo
Germany, Bremen
Posts: 417
Joined: November 2001
Forum Statistics
Forums63
Topics37,573
Posts293,925
Members13,849
Most Online5,166
Sep 15th, 2019
Today's Statistics
Currently Online
Topics Created
Posts Made
Users Online
Birthdays
Top Posters
AllenAyres 21,079
JoshPet 10,369
LK 7,394
Lord Dexter 6,708
Gizmo 5,833
Greg Hard 4,625
Top Posters(30 Days)
Top Likes Received
isaac 82
Gizmo 20
Brett 7
WebGuy 2
Morgan 2
Top Likes Received (30 Days)
None yet
The UBB.Developers Network (UBB.Dev/Threads.Dev) is ©2000-2024 VNC Web Services

 
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240430)