Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Journeyman
Journeyman
Hello, newbie here. I was just wondering if it is possible to have all the other pages on your web site be controlled by the styles that users select in ther preferences. I recently installed Threads and would like to have my site's main home page and several other ancillary pages be changeable according to which stylesheet the user has selected. As it is now, only my forum pages are controlled by the stylesheets, but I'd like to have the rest of my site controlled the same way. I'm guessing it is possible, but is there a good tutorial? Or where would you suggest I begin to learn how to do this?

Thanks,
Basil
British Car Forum

Sponsored Links
Code Monkey
Code Monkey
1. You would first have to make sure your cookies were site-wide (that can be done from your Threads config file).
2. You would need to familiarize yourself with the different stylesheet classes used in Threads. Then start using those stylesheet classes in the rest of your pages.
3. You would need to find the code in the header that links the stylesheet based on the cookie and copy it into the header of your pages. I have no idea where to find that in Threads.

Another suggestion is to use the Generic Threads Page mod. Your pages will look like part of threads, but you can add whatever content you want, concentrating just on the HTML. I even think those generic pages can be used outside the Threads directory. I hope that helps.

Last edited by donJulio; 05/20/2004 6:18 PM.
I type Like navaho
I type Like navaho
Good report dJ, that's how we do it here and how quite a few other sites do it, using the generic threads page. You can also use them outside the threads directory

The newer versions of photopost and reviewpost and even classifiedadspost (or whatever the name is ) also integrates very nicely with threads

- Allen wavey
- What Drives You?
Journeyman
Journeyman