I agree that it is bad use of this the reason why some people hate them (and so do I when used that way). However I would rather see a small screen popup telling me that the thread was added to favorites (that I can inmediately close and go on with waht I was doing) than a new screen. It's not the new screen actually what I dont like but the fact that the reload takes some time on my connection.